We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful! Must Go Here! #1Chatham!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pleasant Bay Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful! Must Go Here! #1Chatham!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

I just returned from here and felt compelled to write a review immediately before anyone makes the mistake and books elsewhere in Chatham. This place is really wonderful. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I visited here with my sister and her 10 year old son and we a perfect vacation. Sometimes it's hard to find a place that is kid-friendly without it sometimes being overwhelming for those of us without children. They have managed to make kids feel welcome without it being annoying to those vacationing without children.
You do have to drive into town but we liked that were were tucked away in this peaceful setting as the Cape is sooo crowed in the Summer. We were close enough that we could drive in and have dinner or shop and get there in a few minutes. (We highly recommend Del Mar). We hit Nauset Beach which is a few miles away down 28 in Orleans. It is my new favorite beach. The sand is clean and the water is cool and crystal clear. Plenty of seals bobbing their heads in the surf. Don't miss it!
But back to the Inn... the pool is beautiful and you can have lunch and a glass of wine. Which made me happy! Breakfast was yummy and inexpensive. We had a room that was quite large with 2 queens and a deck overlooking the grounds. So quiet and peaceful. I never heard my neighbors which is really nice as the place was full. My only minor complaint would be that the linens could use a little upgrading. Down pillows would be nice. They may even have them. Didn't ask. Like I said, other than that, clean, roomy and comfortable. With turn-down service to boot.
Must compliment the staff as well. Everyone was friendly, helpful and accommodating, especially Johnny. He makes you feel like he invited you for a visit. He will give you great recommendations for where to dine and what to see. Thanks to him, we ending up watching the fireworks from the croquet lawn at 28 Atlantic down the street. What a memorable experience.
It's too bad that they are not listed as #1 on this site. They deserve to be. Sad thing is the #1 hotel has not much to offer except that it may be slightly less expensive but you get what you pay for. And the other hotel rated above them is not really even in Chatham, but Harwich. All I can say is go, relax, have fun and enjoy!!

Room Tip: Love the room with the deck but it looked like all the rooms had something extra to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginabell1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    133
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
320
185
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

My niece from Illinois was married in the lovely gardens of Pleasant Bay Village. The owner was very gracious in offering her grounds for the event and the manager, Johnny was wonderful in helping to locate local florists,caterers,etc. The breakfast (especially the pancakes) at Pleasant Bay are to die for. Rooms are decorated pleasantly and they are immaculately clean, with a view of their amazing and serene gardens. You'll be pleased as well as relaxed after a stay here. Suzan Bohn

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank companion097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Pleasant Bay Village Resort is the perfect place for a wedding: beautiful & peaceful. It is a wonderland of greenery & flowers, of ponds & waterfalls.
The accomodations and service is impeckable. Judy-the owner-couldn't have been more gracious or generous, and Johnny-one of the employees-couldn't do enough for us.
Since my stay there, as a wedding guest, I have been back two times and I always come away feeling happy & rested.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonna5347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

This was a nice stay for the price in pricey Chatham. There seems to be a variety of lodging, and we stayed in one of the less expensive ones. The room was quiet and pleasant and the sprawling grounds are quite pretty.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joedoe587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle Cumbria
Level Contributor
291 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

This was such a good stay...great room with arty touches...great staff...very friendly and helpful...with good recommendations for local restaurants...don't miss this treat!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

The fascinating thing about tripadvisor is how people's opinions differ. We only stayed one of our planned three nights at this highly-rated hotel and I can only assume that we were either unlucky with the room we were given or that I'm far more precious than I previously believed.
The room we had was very outdated, pretty dingy and had a very oppressive smell - either patchouli or damp. Either way we couldn't sleep and decided to move hotels first thing in the morning. When we told the staff that we were doing this they offered us a better room - which begged the question of why we didn't get one of these in the first place!
The hotel is 3 miles outside of Chatham and a cab is $20 each way apparently... Obviously many people like the place but we most certainly didn't.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swindoneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We enjoyed staying here in Chatham. It was one of the cheaper places we found, and we thought it was a good deal. The rooms are nothing special, but they are clean. The walls are pretty thin and we could hear our neighbors on a couple of occasions.

The grounds are very well manicured and the pool area was beautiful. They also have a hot tub, and neither were very busy, although we did go in September. We enjoyed the hot tub at night.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They were knowledgeable about local places. My boyfriend left 2 shirts in the closet and they FedExed them to him the next day which was very nice.

The location isn't the best. Not especially near any beaches or downtown Chatham. Short drive to both however.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
15.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
14.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
5.5 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Property: Pleasant Bay Village
Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham, Cape Cod, MA
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing