We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a Cape Cod vacation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pleasant Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pleasant Bay Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for a Cape Cod vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We just spent five days on the Cape and were very pleased that we chose Pleasant Bay Village as our base camp. My husband and I had a "deluxe" room (queen bed, private deck with two lounge chairs) and we found the room clean, comfortable, and very tastefully appointed. The bathroom had all that is expected these days -- a shower head that can pulse, hair dryer, and so on -- but as a woman of a certain age, I was very happy to discover an electric/lighted magnified mirror in the bathroom. The pool is also a very well-done feature -- it is heated and, like Goldilocks, it was not too hot, not too cold, but just right! The grounds are absolutely lovely and help you to feel relaxed just by looking at all the little waterfalls and birdbaths and rock gardens. We will return to Pleasant Bay Village and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junhjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    133
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
320
185
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Chatham is one of the best towns in Cape Cod and all my friends seem to get married here. I always choose to stay here and will continue to as long as they keep the hidden ping pong table in the back.I have yet to loose to anyone on that table. I have challenged many guests and strangers from all over the world who i ended meeting at the cool pool and walking around the scenic wak ways.
I have yet to meet an unhappy or unprofessional employee working here. Daniel at the front desk exceeded our expectations when he noticed my friends height and upgraded us to queen beds. He stated that my friend would probably be more comfortable in a queen bed rather than a double that we originally booked. My previous stay I had the pleasure of meeting John and Bear (The dog) and they were the reason for this return trip.

See you next wedding season!

Room Tip: make an effort to walk around the property even if you stay for one night. Beautiful property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbizzozero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I can't say enough about the genuine hospitality of everyone who works here. This was my first stay, it was receommended by my Aunt who llives in the area and had heard good things about it. The grounds are exceptionally beautiful and well kept. We had to move rooms 3 times based on the number of people in my group changing due to comings and goings, and everyone at the motel was happy to help accomodate our needs and always with a pleasant attitude and a smile.
I highly recommend Pleasant Bay for it's customer service an lovely property.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vcat245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I really want to thank you for a fantastic experience.

The place was absolutely perfect. Great relaxing atmosphere, easy going, kid friendly without being "babyish" - Loved every minute of it and we will definitely be back

Room Tip: Stayed in the efficiencies in the back - really nice with bar b que and deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janiedelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I just returned from a 3 night stay at Pleasant Bay Village. We enjoyed our stay for sure--no real complaints. But since I rely on TA so heavily as do others, I wanted to provide an accurate picture of this property and tone down what seems to be a cult-like following here. As an initial matter, we made our 3 night reservation less than one week in advance of our stay, so to even find a decent place on the Cape in the middle of the summer on short notice for $300 a night was a relief. But I always review in the context of what has been paid and for $300 a night, the bar is set high, even for Cape Cod in July. And I want to be clear--but for the people running this place who are exceptionally gracious, this would be an average rating. Our room was booked as an "extra deluxe" room with 2 queen beds @ $275 per night ($300 including taxes). While the room was certainly comfortable for my wife and our two children under 10 years old, it did not meet my expectations of what a $300 nightly room should be. We had no outdoor seating area other than two small chairs at the doorway (reviews here led me to believe we would have some sort of outdoor seating area--definitely confirm that if it's important to you as it was to me). The bathroom was as small as I've ever seen in a hotel/motel--barely enough room for one person to get around--fortunately the sink was outside of the room with the toilet and bath. Instead of a deluxe bathroom, there was a form-fitted replacement (e.g. "refinish your bathroom in one day") shower/bath combo. The small refrigerator was nice but barely large enough to hold a six pack and a bottle of wine. No extra blankets and dated furnishings. Definite thin walls. On the plus side, the room was spacious, well-maintained by housekeeping and had a nice flat screen that was wall-mounted. The selling point here for sure is a great mid-Cape location (easy drive into beautiful Chatham center, all the great beaches like Nauset and Skacet) and Provincetown). The pool is beautiful and totally family friendly with readily available pool towels. Property grounds are fantastic. Nice coffee service in the lobby. We did not eat at PBV so I cannot comment on food there. Most importantly, everyone working here was very friendly and helpful in securing things like boogie boards for the kids, dinner recommendations and other tourist advice. I would return here but with more realistic expectations for the price being paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickshrimpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

No matter what other activities we enjoy in any given summer, we make it a point to spend a week at Pleasant Bay Village. For us, it continues to be the perfect Cape Cod summer experience. We started coming to this exceptional resort in 1991 when the two of us spent four nights there. As the summers passed, we lengthened our stay and added family members. We've just concluded a week's stay, joined by our children and grandchildren; nine of us, three generations strong. As always, we all had a splendid time!

The variety of accommodations perfectly suits the needs of each group of us -- lovely, well-equipped motel rooms, with refrigerator, modern bath and private deck; beautiful efficiencies with state-of-the-art kitchens and baths, and spacious, well-equipped one- and two-bedroom suites with modern kitchens and baths. Daily maid service is provided, as well as 'turn-down' service in mid-evening (with a Godiva chocolate goody on your pillow). Each unit has its own outdoor area with grill. A small playground area is popular with the young ones.

Pleasant Bay Village hosts a range of guests including couples of any age, families with children (of every age), guests from abroad, and groups attending a wedding in the area.

The grounds are breathtakingly beautiful with koi pond, gardens and waterfalls, the service is excellent and the management and staff helpful, efficient, and friendly. For us, the centerpiece of each summer's stay is the large, heated swimming pool. Our group spends hours here, swimming and enjoying poolside food service and the adjoining hot tub.



Pleasant Bay Village never stops adding improvements and each year, we find wonderful surprises, sometimes relating to the physical plant, such as the popular hot tub and expanded dining room; sometimes creative/artistic additions, such as new art work and small, unobtrusive, whimsical 'creatures' which one comes upon, both indoors and out. Everything about the place reflects quiet good taste. Pleasant Bay Village has moved with the times, with solar panels which provide significant energy to this 'green' establishment, and wi-fi throughout.



Pleasant Bay Village is in a central position on the Cape and our group has enjoyed, neighboring beaches, shopping, fine dining, museums, summer theater and concerts and some memorable whale watches.

Perhaps our son said it best: "We spend the six months following our stay at Pleasant Bay Village looking back on wonderful times there and the next six months looking forward to our next stay."

Room Tip: Because of our differing needs, our group of three families always enjoys a rear efficiency, a one-b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuckSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a great place. The landscaping is beautiful. Everything is very nice and comfortable. Sitting outside on the patio with the beautiful landscaping was really a highlight of the trip.

There is a Stop & Shop down the road and there are good size refrigerators and facilities in the room at Pleasant Bay Village. It is delightful to prepare some meals and sit outside on the lovely patio with the beautiful landscaping. We were there in July when there was near record heat in NYC and Boston however it was almost borderline chilly after dark in Chatham.

We considered staying in Sandwich but chose to go up to Chatham and are really pleased with our decision. The heated pool is very nice and everything is very well done.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreFFmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.9 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
15.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
2.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Property: Pleasant Bay Village
Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham, Cape Cod, MA
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing