We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay at Pleasant Bay Village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pleasant Bay Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brookline, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay at Pleasant Bay Village”
Reviewed 8 August 2009

No matter what other activities we enjoy in any given summer, we make it a point to spend a week at Pleasant Bay Village. For us, it continues to be the perfect Cape Cod summer experience. We started our association with this little resort in 1991 when the two of us spent four nights there. As the summers passed, we lengthened our stay and added family members. We've just concluded a week's stay, joined by our children, grandchildren, and in-laws.

The variety of accommodations perfectly suits the needs of each group of us -- lovely, well-equipped motel rooms, with refrigerator, modern bath and private deck; spacious efficiencies with state-of-the-art kitchens and baths; and large, and large, two-bedroom suites, beautifully furnished, complete with modern kitchen, dining room, private deck, and two modern baths.

The grounds are breathtakingly beautiful, the service is excellent and the management and staff helpful, efficient, and friendly. For us, the centerpiece of each summer's stay is the large, heated swimming pool. Our group spends hours here, swimming and enjoying poolside food service and the adjoining hot tub.

Pleasant Bay Village never stops adding improvements and each year, we find wonderful surprises, sometimes relating to the physical plant, such as the popular hot tub and expanded dining room; sometimes creative/artistic additions, such as new art work and small, whimsical sculpted 'creatures' which one comes upon, both indoors and out. Everything about the place reflects quiet good taste.

Pleasant Bay Village is in a central position on the Cape and our group, three generations strong, has enjoyed, neighboring beaches, shopping, fine dining, museums, summer theater and concerts and some memorable whale watches.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuckSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    138
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
328
189
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at PVB. As regular visitors to the Cape, we have been burned now and again with accommodations but not this time around. Before I review the place itself, I'd like to acknowledge of course my fellow travelers on Trip Advisor as their reviews were with pinpoint accuracy and The Little Inn At Pleasant Bay who actually referred me to PVB when they could not meet our needs.

As for PVB, it is mostly all good. The staff is friendly and accommodating, and the newfie, the himalayan and the bird make for a nice welcoming committee! The grounds are much nicer than the average facililty with all of the wonderful horticulture on display.

As for the rooms, we stayed in an extra deluxe room that was finely appointed and extremely clean for a room on the Cape in midseason. The bed was comfortable with clean linens that were of reasonably quality. The shower was hot and had nice water pressure and the towels were heavy guage.

There are only two things I can find criticism with. The first being the room lighting which I found to be inconveniencing only because I like a well lit room and had to turn on all the lamps/lights to get it there. Not a big deal and one of personal preference. The other is what has been mentioned by some already, in that the room was a bit damp and requires the A/C to run regularly to keep the moisture to a minimum. I believe this cannot be helped as the location is across the street from Pleasant Bay and of course the ocean, but also because all of the wonderful landscaping probably contributes as well.

As for breakfast, I found it to be outstanding one day and better than average on the other day I ate there. The pool was nice but a little crowded due to the less than stellar whether that has plagued the Northeast this summer.

All in all, I would (and have already) recommended PVB to someone else and we will use their facilities again in the future. Congrats to all of the staff at PVB who obviously realize that in the age of the internet, travelers can and will easily communicate their experiences amongst themselves.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3chorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Just returned from 5 nights at this lovely peaceful hotel in very verdant gardens. Loved the decor in the lobby/lounge and dining room. All very clean and the breakfast was very good quality food - especially the fresh fruit and juice. The pool was lovely although due to poor weather we couldn't take full advantage of it. Our extra- deluxe room was very spacious and well furnished as was the bathroom. The complimentary coffee in the lobby was a nice touch as was the chocolate with the turn down service. Pity about the musty smell in the bedroom. The location is nice and quiet but a car is needed to get anywhere at all which is a shame. Chatham is gorgeous!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This is our third time at PVB and it is just as lovely, if not better than the first! For the second year in a row we have stayed in the two bedroom which is ideal for our family. It costs a bit more than the efficiency suites (where we stayed our first year) but for a family staying for a full week it offers much appreciated space. The staff is excellent, warm, accommodating and friendly. The grounds are beautifully cared for and the location is ideal. In the past we have stayed mostly in Chatham but this year we ventured all around the cape and loved it, PBV is ideally located if you want to go and do some exploring, Our children call this place our vacation home and they never want to leave...sadly today it is time to go but we will return for sure!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, Middlesex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Just returned from a smashing week in Chatham, Cape Cod. We were made very welcome at the Pleasant Bay Village resort and thoroughy enjoyed our stay there. We booked a front efficiency which was just what we wanted - spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable, with it's own deck and outside table/umbrella. The weather wasn't great but we still used the pool/hot tub and even managed a couple of barbeques!
This was a perfect base to tour the Cape and we will go again - I'd thoroughy recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed at Pleasant Bay Village for 3 nights this June. The first two nights we were in a 2 bedroom efficiency suite and the 3rd night we were in two regular rooms because the suite was booked. For a family of 6 the 2 bedroom suite was wonderful and very comfortable. The kitchen was modern and well stocked. The regular rooms were fine but more expensive and less comfortable since we did not have a communal seating area. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccermomwestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Our five days in Cape Cod kept us indoors for three as it rained most of the day. Here though, the rooms are big enough to not go stir crazy, yet cozy and warm on a cold wet day.The BEST part about PBV by far,is the unique ambience lent by mature oriental-themed landscaping punctuated throughout the vast grounds by whimsical objects and wonderful waterfalls. Would have liked a microwave but was accomodated with use of kitchen one.
We were in a std double 3 nts, dlx 1 nt. Double was pefectly fine.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
5.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,079 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
2.6 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
2.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Property: Pleasant Bay Village
Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham, Cape Cod, MA
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing