We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of old memorabilia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatham Railroad Museum

Chatham Railroad Museum
Ranked #15 of 48 things to do in Chatham
Attraction details
CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lots of old memorabilia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We took our 2.5yr old son here thinking he would love it since he loves trains.Well turns out there really isn't anything all that interesting for a young boy.My 60yr old father on the other hand enjoyed this visit.It's a small museum with a caboose in the back.The caboose was fun to walk in but our son rather be on the playground across the street.I wouldn't make a special trip here if you are looking to entertain a toddler.Just go to the playground and fish pier

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jmestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great quick stop for the "Thomas" fan in your family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Took our 4yr, 2yr, 1month old after the Fish Pier this year. Great small space for everything trains. Model, books, mock old style train office, memorabilia, and an old out of service caboose to explore out back. There's a playground right across the street, I'll be attaching a far view picture of, to hit before or after your visit. This is a nice 1hr stop (playground included) for before or after the Chatham Fish Pier.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazztrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Train lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

It is in an old train station. There is a caboose on the property that can be toured. There is a lot of memorabilia inside. It is small and quick. My grandson is into trains so it was a must for him. We spend at least an hour going in and out. It is a free attraction but you can leave a donation if you like.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A great free activity for the kids & parents too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was a nice free stop for us. It's very small and can be done quickly or you can take your time. My kids enjoyed playing with the morse code and trying to guess letters. The caboose is nice to visit too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cunparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place is great...and FREE. Very small but a lot of things packed in there. Kids loved it. I wish I had more time to look at all of the exhibits. There is an old caboose that that kids can go in.
Also right across the street from a playground which is convenient to entertain little ones.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wideawake7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chatham Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Chatham Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing