We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Local Cape Experience”

Chatham Squire Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Chatham
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome Local Cape Experience”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Chowder and steamers were very good. My burger was OK, but my dad said his chili was excellent. The beers were fresh and the service was great. It was very busy around lunch time on the day I was there. Depending on your group's preferences, you might consider putting your name in for the dining room but then scouting the tavern area for seats that open up. One way or another you'll probably have to wait, but I think it's worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worldfamousjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    493
    175
    51
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superior in every way”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Long a staple on Main Street the Squire continues to amaze with a variety of excellent specials, a very friendly bar staff, and of course that legendary Squire ambiance (which has to be seen to be believed).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
505 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“An Institution in Chatham. Must visit. ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The Squire is an institution in this town, and you should go for that reason. Local stores sell plaques reading "Meet me at the Squire."

We sat in the dining room years ago on our first visit and wondered what the hype was about.

We've learned it's much more fun to sit in the bar area. There are tables in back and a few video games. My kids (9 & 11) like sitting at the tall tables and counting all the different license plates and memorabilia that lines the walls.

It's loud and chaotic and the food is slightly above average, but it's the heart of Chatham.

Out friend's 23-year-old son from Munich is with us on the Cape, and he and my husband went last night for a beer. Our German visitor loved the friendly American atmosphere and thought it was hilarious that there was a long line to get in.

Try the back door if there's a long line into the bar.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheSecretVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go to the Squire”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Always an experience. Great service once you are seated. Great seafood, ribs and chowder. Fun, local atmosphere!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CT_Traveler1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, NH
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Chowdah!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Fun place and worth the wait. Come back again and again for the chowder. Wait staff and hostesses are amazing. Nice casual spot in a sea of upscale and pretentious bistros and foodie hangouts. Not that those aren't good choices, just feel that the Squire retains a charm that isn't a bit pretentious, as some of the summer crowd in Chatham can be!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cbhnewhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chatham Squire Restaurant also viewed

Chatham, Cape Cod
 
South Chatham, Chatham
 

Been to Chatham Squire Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing