We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cape Cod experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatham Squire Restaurant

Chatham Squire Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 68 Restaurants in Chatham
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cape Cod experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The food was really good and not too expensive. The place was quite lively. The waitresses were nice and courteous.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nyazeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    484
    173
    50
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome Local Cape Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Chowder and steamers were very good. My burger was OK, but my dad said his chili was excellent. The beers were fresh and the service was great. It was very busy around lunch time on the day I was there. Depending on your group's preferences, you might consider putting your name in for the dining room but then scouting the tavern area for seats that open up. One way or another you'll probably have to wait, but I think it's worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worldfamousjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superior in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Long a staple on Main Street the Squire continues to amaze with a variety of excellent specials, a very friendly bar staff, and of course that legendary Squire ambiance (which has to be seen to be believed).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
447 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“An Institution in Chatham. Must visit. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The Squire is an institution in this town, and you should go for that reason. Local stores sell plaques reading "Meet me at the Squire."

We sat in the dining room years ago on our first visit and wondered what the hype was about.

We've learned it's much more fun to sit in the bar area. There are tables in back and a few video games. My kids (9 & 11) like sitting at the tall tables and counting all the different license plates and memorabilia that lines the walls.

It's loud and chaotic and the food is slightly above average, but it's the heart of Chatham.

Out friend's 23-year-old son from Munich is with us on the Cape, and he and my husband went last night for a beer. Our German visitor loved the friendly American atmosphere and thought it was hilarious that there was a long line to get in.

Try the back door if there's a long line into the bar.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheSecretVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go to the Squire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Always an experience. Great service once you are seated. Great seafood, ribs and chowder. Fun, local atmosphere!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CT_Traveler1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chatham Squire Restaurant also viewed

Chatham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Chatham Squire Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing