We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undercooked and rubbery fried clams”

Kream 'n' Kone of Chatham
Ranked #16 of 68 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Undercooked and rubbery fried clams”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really wish we had chosen another spot for our annual summer fried clam dinner. Overlooking its parking lot and the busy Rt. 28, sitting outdoors at a greasy picnic table with the crumbs from previous diners wasn't so great either. Both the whole belly clams and the clam strips were pale, not crispy or browned. The clam strips particularly were extremely FISHY tasting, tough and rubbery. The water from the fountain seemed to have algae in it (based on the diagnosis of one member of our dinner party) with many unappetizing little floaties in it. The staff member thought it may be remnants of the lemonade that hadn't been cleaned out of the beverage system. Blech.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnKChatham, Owner at Kream 'n' Kone of Chatham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I would like to thank you for dining with us. It sounds like we did a poor job cooking your meal, I am very sorry and there is no excuse for a dirty floor any time of day. We do have high standards in cooking and cleaning and I am disappointed the were not met during your visit. We do clean our soda machine daily and Coca Cola services it monthly for this reason, thank you for bringing this to my attention! I hope you would give us another chance in the future.
Sincerely, Scott Eurenius-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    77
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pinknpretttty
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cape Cod Institution”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Have been coming here for over 15 years. THE BEST clam strips, onion rings and fries. Don't forget to try the clam chowder (doesn't get classier than eating out of a styrofoam bowl and I wouldn't have it any other way)! Couldn't recommend the food more highly!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinknpretttty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnKChatham, Owner at Kream 'n' Kone of Chatham, responded to this review, 15 June 2015
Thank you so much for being such a loyal customer all these years! Hope we keep seeing you for years to come!!
Scott Eurenius-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped in here for lunch while in Cape Cod. Although the food is fried, it's pretty good & the seafood is fresh.

Don't expect 5 star. Its a good fast food place to get some good seafood & beer. They serve ice cream as well which I didn't try, maybe next time.

Helpful?
Thank 4rster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnKChatham, Owner at Kream 'n' Kone of Chatham, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for stopping in for lunch. We are always striving to be the best and hopefully you will give us another chance to earn that 5th star. Maybe the ice cream will put us over the top. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review!
Scott Eurenius-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Ice Cream Around”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

they have been here forever and they are still my favorite spot to grab an ice cream. Great spot for kids and adults

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caroline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnKChatham, Owner at Kream 'n' Kone of Chatham, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for your continued support. Hope to see you in 2015 Caroline!
Scott Eurenius-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“TRADITION”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have been going to this place for over 20 years....Has been our first meal and cold beer on Cape Cod for many a vacation!! So family friendly!! Amazing lobster rolls and onion rings. The young college girls that waited on us this time were so engaging and friendly! I purchased t-shirts for my husband for Father's Day. Just an iconic place for our family! Yum!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DelbartonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnKChatham, Owner at Kream 'n' Kone of Chatham, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for the last 20 years and here's to 20 more!! We greatly appreciate your yearly visits. We will pass the compliments on to our girls as well, they are the backbone of the restaurant! See you in 2015!
Scott Eurenius-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kream 'n' Kone of Chatham also viewed

 

Been to Kream 'n' Kone of Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing