We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food, very little room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pisces Restaurant

Pisces Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jamestown, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good food, very little room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I made reservations to eat a Pisces which is a must seeing it is extremely small inside. We ended up eating at the bar (which only has 6 stools) because there just so happened to be 2 stools available. Once we saw how tight the dining area was, we opted for the bar. The food was very good and the bartender had a great personality.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    36
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The food is good, but not great. I think they need to update the menu. It has been the same for many, many years. Change it up, get creative! The place and the food are getting tired. A fresh coat of paint wouldn't hurt. I just can't believe the prices for what you are eating. I ordered the shrimp app and I got 3 small shrimp- I make larger better prepared shrimp at home. The flounder special my husband had was paper thin, he did love it, said it was good.
The prices are way too high for what you get.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank phoebe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairway, Kansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the good ones!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

we were referred to Pisces by our Inn keepers and they did not steer us wrong! They suggested we eat here as it is always great food and service with few complaints......they were right! We had to wait a bit for our reserved table, but once we were seated, it was a very pleasant experience! We noticed that folks walked around and chatted with others so we knew that this was a local favorite and people eating at the bar seemed to know each other. Even though it was our first time there, we truly liked the feel and loved the quality of the food! Our waitress was a bit hurried to begin with but did slow down and converse with us a bit more, eventually. I do not think there was one item on the menu I would not have been happy ordering- it all sounded fabulous!

All in all, it was a delightful place to dine and I would definitely put it on your list while in Chatham or nearby. It is located a bit west of downtown Chatham, and we were staying a bit north of downtown, but like all things on the Cape, you can always find a road cutting through somewhere and it was a breeze making our way back up north!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Portofinokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food and vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My girlfriend and I went here on a Saturday night with a few friends. The place was bustling! We were seated immediately upon arrival (8:30 p.m. reservation) and drinks were ordered and delivered quickly. My girlfriend and I split the "arugula and beet salad," which was tasty. I ordered the "fresh local codfish," which was one of the best codfish meals I have ever had. It was cooked to perfection and the cornmeal crust was not too heavy. The caper aioli is a delicious compliment to the fish. She had the risotto with scallops on top, which was not on the menu, but they happily accommodated. She loved it. It is a small space and when packed (which I'm guessing it generally is during the summer), it can be a little loud. But, what decent restaurant isn't on the Cape during the summers?! The energy was fun. The price tag for the 2 of us was about $160 (including a few drinks), so not too bad. A great meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cramsay1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Cute Little Find!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We dined here over the July 4th long weekend for dinner. It was about a 10 - 15 minute drive out of downtown Chatham (located in South Chatham) Very cute little house, small but busy little front bar, excellent service. We ended up meeting and chatting with both tables beside us (both locals) who were over the top kind. The food was excellent, we shared a bunch of small plates, I really enjoyed the sautéed calamari. Would recommend as one of top 5 restaurants in Chatham alongside Vers, Impundent Oyster and Chatham Bars Inn. Some said tables are really close together and the restaurant was too noisy.....I didn't find either of these things to be true.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelkicks2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pisces Restaurant also viewed

Chatham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Pisces Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing