We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Orgasms - No 2 bites were the same!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vers - CLOSED

Vers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food Orgasms - No 2 bites were the same!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We're locals but we just tried Vers for the first time tonight and can say it is easily the best food we've had on Cape in 15 years.
We had a fascinating "garden salad" - Lettuces, Edible flowers, Quinoa, Cucumber, Shaved carrots, Radishes, Smoked almonds, Olive oil gel and powdered, Elderflower gel, Beet sorbet, Golden beet powder, & probably some other ingredients I forget.
The steak tartar was equally inventive, with Egg yolk, Pickled mustard seed, Rye toasts, Belgium ale, Chocolate, & other tastes.
For entrees, we had the lobster corn risotto (the only entree we felt was overpriced) and surf & turf, with Wheat berries, Rhubarb (foam, pickled, poached, & jam), poached Peaches, Roasted tomatoes, Green beans, summer squash, & Watercress.
Every ingredient was placed carefully in different areas of the plate so you could customize your bites. Truly no 2 bites were the same with these dishes!
But the coup de grace was the dessert. We were feeling adventurous, so we chose the Truth or Dare (either choose truth and choose a flavor or opt for dare and let the chef surprise you). We dared, and the chef came to our table, where he spread out a table-sized silicone mat and proceeded to explain each ingredient and why he chose it while laying it out in front of us. This week, grapes were the featured ingredient: 3 kinds of grapes sautéed in grape vinegar,
Frozen champagne grapes, Sunflower butter, candied oats and sunflower seeds candied, Rosemary infused goat cheese cubes, Rosemary foam, Lemon curd custard, Wine reduced to jelly, Kinako cake (soybean) with almond powder, & Mint leaves. Wow!
And the best part is that the menu is quite reasonably priced! In NYC or another big city, you'd be paying $1000 for this feast. Server knew her stuff - intimately familiar with plates and ingredients. Small place - only seats 20 - and yet we had no trouble getting a reservation a few days in advance. I kindof hate to be sharing this gem, because we'll probably have a harder time getting a table once word gets out about Vers!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    22
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and Delightful”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My son and I visited Vers Patisserie for lunch on a beautiful Tuesday in August. We originally entered from the street through the Orpheum Theatre but were directed outside and around the building to the lower level for the patisserie. The menu wasn't extensive but it was mouth watering. In addition there were specials on the wall to further whet your appetite. The patisserie was very small as one would expect and there was only one server but no need for more. She was attentive to the parties and quick to recognize guests' needs.
We shared corn soup which came topped with popcorn and also shared tuna tartar. The soup was simple, flavorful and delicious and the tuna tartar came with beautiful chunks of tuna and a small dollop of caviar. Both appetizers were nicely portioned.
My son ordered tuna tacos with mango salsa and chipotle mayo and I had the chicken BLT with avocado served on focaccia. Not a crumb remained from either plate.
Vers takes special care to maintain clean and simple lines in the decor, appearance of servers and in plating; each serving was plated beautifully. The food was served directly from the kitchen by a man who clearly took pride in the food he set before us.
A special treat for us was the homemade root beer and ginger beer. Both delicious.
Although we ate inside it appeared there was some outside seating available.

What a delightful find to come upon Vers and enjoy such a special meal. It's not often that a lunch is something to write home about but this was an exception. Well done.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not to Be Missed!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It fronts on a parking lot behind a movie theater. The upstairs of the place is attached to the theater and smells of popcorn. BUT the downstairs, which holds no more than 20 at a time, including the bar seating, has world class gourmet offerings presented and served with flair and and graciousness. My wife had the tasting menu--home made charcuterie served with cucumber ice, and olives, lobster risotto, and a non-dairy dessert that was superb. I had corn chowder, scallops served on a bed of spinach, and a sinfully delicious chocolate mocha dessert. All courses were served in manageable amounts and explained by the server on presentation to you. You NEVER felt rushed and their pride in what they do makes the meal even more enjoyable. If you are anywhere on Cape Cod and like food prepared and served with finesse and understated pride, go to this restaurant. Reservations a must. We sat at the bar and consider ourselves lucky to do so. Another point...its an easy place to strike up a conversation with others at the bar. Its a very friendly place...friendly without being invasive. We were lucky to get in

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BBS-FGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tiered Chocolate Wedding Cake, Mousse Filling”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Pastry Chef Stephen Jones and Sarah of Vers Patisserie in Chatham made a lovely tiered wedding cake for 200 guests for our family wedding.

We found them very pleasant to work with. They prepared, decorated and set up the cake exactly as specified in the order. We brought our own topper, as agreed, because the bride and groom wanted certain decorations they chose. Their mousse filling was much better than others we had tasted several months earlier at nearby bakeries, when we ordered the cake. The cake was elegant, and the couple were very pleased.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Famished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only been once but it was memorable!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We popped in at about 11:00 Am as Sandi's Diner was intolerably packed. Even though they were transitioning to the lunch menu we were allowed to order the breakfast sandwiches which were excellent - thick bacon, egg not over cooked, and a bit of some sauce that added to to the flavor, all served on scrumptious bread. My daughter had a bowl of pasta which she deemed excellent.

The coffee was HOT and STRONG - just the way I like it! There were a variety of sweeteners available, including Stevia, which I have never seen in a restaurant before.

Because all the walls and floors are hard material, it can be a little noisy, even if there are only a few people in the place.

We'll be back next Summer!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abledotbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vers also viewed

North Chatham, Chatham
South Chatham, Chatham
 
Chatham, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing