We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEYOND EXCELLENT.”
Review of Vers - CLOSED

Vers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEYOND EXCELLENT.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

When you find yourself eating the best meal in recent history and you make vague statements like, "not since Paris" or "some of those meals in Canada" and you come back for lunch the next day and the day after and curse the fact that you only discovered it two days before you leave…I don't know where to begin except to say that this food is so innovative and fun and so unbelievably delicious. Tossed greens with citrus infused salmon and smoked (smoked!) almonds and lemon vinaigrette and I ate it so slowly because each bite was fresh and new and exciting. There were fish tacos and a fantastic veggie burger and corn soup that was the essence of corn. At lunch, we sat between two tables and none of us could stop talking about the amazing food. One table from Vancouver and the other table from NYC and both said they make a beeline for Vers when staying on the Cape. Make reservations for dinner as they book, but no problem getting in for lunch...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    22
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lagrange, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great food-smaller portions-pricey”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We ate at the ORPHEUM ALL DAY DINING, while the food was very good; $13 for a tuna sandwich with fries, seems pricey. I was charged $22 for a very small pasta dish. I would go again and try the dining room.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best dinner in recent memory - including NYC and Boston”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We had a drink at the upstairs bar of the restaurant which is in the fancy movie theatre lobby. We had fun trying to figure out who is who on the mural.

The meal was amazing. I think we ate everything in a summer garden. Fresh corn soup, mixed green salad with beet sorbet, almonds, quinoa, burnt honey; porchetta with corn, potatoes and blueberry.

The Truth or Dare dessert is served on the table by the pastry chef. Filled with pear, ricotta cheese, crumbs, apple, jam, sauces, pear sorbet and wine. If you go you MUST get this.

They surprised us with an Anniversary Tower of white chocolate at the end. We are taking it home since we can't get anymore food in our mouths.

Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Patisserie?”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Eh, doesn't feel like much of a patisserie. Did not try the restaurant. The coffee was average but the chocolate croissants were above average. Very minimal selection of patisserie items.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank picklepiepeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
1,067 reviews
700 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Dinner”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Vers is as plain, hard-backed, and unadorned as a Protestant church. But the menu is a genuine adventure, and the dishes on offer are both unusual and a feast of interesting tastes. Everything we had was carefully designed to combine different ingredients, flavors, and textures so as to produce a continuous stream of revelations. The complimentary salad at the start was tiny -- no probably no more than 15 different pieces of tomato and tomatillo. But each and every bite was a sensation unto itself. We ordered Trappist Beer: complex and exciting. The Fluke Cheviche we shared -- replete with pieces of watermelon, assorted foams, cilantro, and passion fruit to complement the delicate Fluke -- was a full palette of pastel color, an array of shapes, and a parade of tastes. We found ourselves eating the tiniest possible bites so as to savor each of the ingredients alone and in combination. Finally, each of us got the Monkfish: delectable! Followed by splitting the Peach | Sheep Milk, Sunflower, Jasmine dessert. Each and every aspect of Vers is wonderful: the plates, the presentation, the waitress, the incredible variety and fresh thinking that went into creating each dish. Bravo!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jaseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vers also viewed

North Chatham, Chatham
 
Chatham, Cape Cod
South Chatham, Chatham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing