We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wild Goose Tavern

Wild Goose Tavern
Ranked #12 of 67 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charles City, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a large group for dinner...about 20. Staff did an excellent job attending to our needs. Food was excellent. Nice venue for couples or adult group.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    244
    115
    53
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Seating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were a family of 6 and 1 small child (high chair) ~ We were seated in the front area (I wont call it a room) as soon as you walk into restaurant there's a round table. That area would be a great place to let people sit and have a cocktail while waiting for a table. It did get a bit noisy when patrons waiting in line to be seated - took away from our dining as a family. I was reassured by Stephanie Linda would return my phone call ~ hmm still waiting. Poor customer sevice!!
Yes, we did have a reservation!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chatham14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not a Well Run Operation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our party of five arrived at 5:15p before the rush on a Saturday night. Given we were staying at the Wayside Inn, this tavern seemed convenient, but that is the only positive thing we can offer about our experience. The food is priced like an elite restaurant, but it is average at best. The major disappointment was the service. We had what appeared to be a mature and seasoned waitress, but it was clear that she was assigned too many tables to properly serve. Either someone didn't show up to work or they were simply too short on staff or the kitchen was training new staff on the cooking row. Regardless, it took and hour and 15 minutes to receive our food even though the restaurant was less than half full when we arrived and we promptly put in our orders. At one point, the waitress had clearly forgotten to refill our beverages so I had to go to the bat to request them. Most tables received bread and butter but ours was forgotten. Wen the food came it was OK but by then our family had run out of patience and our five year old was nearly asleep on my lap. Very disappointing service, and especially for the elite pricing charged. We have five more days to stay in Chatham, and we will clearly look elsewhere to dine. Wish I had seen a manager around to fill he or she in, but there was no such person visible at the tavern. Avoid this place until the coast guard steps in to bail out the sinking ship.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonFoodieTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Chatham Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Wild Goose Tavern was a good stop for our large family outing. We were placed by the door which cause this review to be placed at the bottom. While the service was attentive and friendly, the food selection was average. The proportions were adequate and the price unnecessarily high. Still it is a worth a visit if you are looking for something to do before the Chatham bandstand .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theSUPdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
285 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“One of our best meals on the Cape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This place is attached to a hotel. We got there around 5 and walked right in but on our way out, it was packed! Our server, Lorna, was excellent. I had a Caesar salad and Atlantic Halibut with oranges, olives and fennel which was good but I would not order it again. My son had pizza and mac and cheese, which he liked. My husband had Atlantic cod with Ritz crackers that was delicious! His came with mashed potatoes and asparagus. All was yummy on his plate! The butter on the table has honey and sea salt in it and that was good too. The AC was cranked in there so my husband had to go get our sweatshirts out of the car. This is a great choice for dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Goose Tavern also viewed

Chatham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Wild Goose Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing