We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Friendly Service, Lovely Atmosphere”
Review of Bistro on Main

Bistro on Main
Ranked #15 of 67 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Friendly Service, Lovely Atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I walked into this place knowing nothing about it. We decided to eat outside on the patio. What a pleasant surprise this place is. Our dinner was terrific! The service was attentive and friendly, the food was wonderful -- really wonderful -- very fresh. It's clear that the kitchen takes pride in what they serve. It's not often you walk in off the street, absolutely starving, and find such a gem. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b0nnieb00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    62
    22
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was a little confused as to the name of this restaurant...seems that there was another place listed on trip advisor as Vining's Bistro....Hope I'm reviewing the right place! It's tucked back from the main street which is a plus....less traffic and hubbub....there is dining outside, but we chose the comfort of the ac inside. It's not a huge restaurant...very nicely decorated. Our server was very prompt and attentive, but it wasn't that crowded on a Sunday night. Good wine selection, but I was hoping for a non-California chardonnay, but that seems hard to get. One person in my party had the hearts of romaine salad and it's large...could definitely share. My cioppino was excellent! Usually there's too much pasta in the dish, but this was loaded with mussels, little necks, shrimp, fish. Other dishes we tried and loved were the chicken with mashed pots, and green beans, and the sea bass. Desserts were $8 ea and large enough to share. Dinner for 4 with 3 drinks, 1 app and 2 desserts ran about $200 pre tip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jwilkins23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Relaxing Atmosphere but Average Food”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I ate outside in a very roomy patio area. Nice quiet location back from the hustle of main st.

Service was excellent but my Asian salad was bland and had no spark to it. The chicken tasted like it came out of a package vs being cooked on site.

Can't recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank jack_b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants, UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I ate here with my partner on our first night in Chatham. We were eating early so no problem to get a table. The food was excellent. Very good smoked salmon starter which we both enjoyed. Good wine list and possible to have many by the glass. My partner had an excellent steak and I enjoyed a lovely chicken breast. Prompt and professional service. Well recommended

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrieradiostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, upscale atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Bistro on Main isn't a "new" restaurant here in Chatham, it is now located in a different building on the same property a year ago, for those who recall Vining's Bistro on the second floor and their excellent cuisine. We decided to go out for dinner and loved the atmosphere, the food was excellent. We had the double pork chop and the Portuguese cod. The chop was juicy, flavorful and huge, served with grilled polenta and crisp-tender vegetables. The cod was served caldera style in a sauce with peppers, tomatoes and onions - very flavorful. Prices are consistent with other Chatham restaurants. The Bistro offers Prix Fix dinners which include 3 courses, or one can substitute a glass of wine for one of the courses, for $30. A good value for great food. We were happy and took home leftovers; the portions are generous, Try the Bistro, whether you are on vacation in Chatham or a year round resident!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodders919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro on Main also viewed

Chatham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Bistro on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing