We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“20+ years of memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ridgevale Beach

Ridgevale Beach
Ranked #10 of 48 things to do in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“20+ years of memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Best all around family beach. The gentle waters of Nantucket Sound is great for all ages, the rushing current as the tides change are such fun to ride, the inlet is a treasure of sea discoveries ,the ever changing beach makes each year a surprise and the kids love walking to the beach store for goodies..watched our children summer here and now the grandbabies!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank babs7512016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    20
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great family beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Access to Nantucket Sound or a shallow and very large pool just made for kids. This is our favorite "in town" beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eminana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Family Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you have little ones this is a great beach. Easy on off with parking right there and store with food. If you have little ones this is definitely where you want to go with tidal pools etc. If you want beautiful views and nicer sand etc go to Light House Beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate, NY
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best all around beach yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This has the traditional sandy beach/waves to play in, which was great.... but it had a salt marsh that was less than 2 ft deep, had loads to entertain small children with (snails, minnows, crabs) and was warm water. You have two different types of beaching here, and we loved it. I only recommend you get there early as the town parking fills fast. The plus of paying for the town parking versus the private is your parking pass should be good at any other beaches for the day (or so said the attendant). Speaking of, the gentleman was a wealth of information and very helpful! We did not stay near Chatham, but this beach makes me say -next time, we are staying here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scmacri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kids loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

At the end of the day, my son said he needed to come back tomorrow because "the animals loved him" - he had such a great time splashing around in the tidal pools. There are fiddler crabs along the edge of the salt marsh as you enter the beach area from the parking lot and we found some larger crabs, hermit crabs, and snails in the tidal pool as well. The kids had so much fun we didn't even venture over to the ocean side. This was a great area for our young kids to play (2 and 4) and we would love to go back in the future.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Madisonmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ridgevale Beach also viewed

 

Been to Ridgevale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing