We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To the beach!”
Review of Ridgevale Beach

Ridgevale Beach
Ranked #10 of 48 things to do in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chatham, MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“To the beach!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What our kids would say as they tumbled out of the car when we finally arrived! It's a perfect
beach for families/friends - inlet on one side for tots and mild surf and gradual depth on the other.
There is a snack bar and very congenial spot for all. Lots of splashing and laughter. Or sit in your beach chair and observe/read.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 3kidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice family beach”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Tidal pools on one side for the little ones, and the ocean for everybody. Clean and accessible, but a small parking lot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim and Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Out of season delight and disappointment”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were surprised that the guardhouse was closed and no fee was charged, but were not too happy at the lack of a restroom. Surely they could leave at least one porta-potty in place until the end of September? There were plenty of cars in the parking area on a hot, early September day. We spent several hours sitting in the sun, reading and overlooking the nice beach. The water was not too rough, and was warm, but the seaweed would have been a problem had we wanted to fully immerse ourselves. It wrapped around our feet and ankles as we paddled. Paddling shoes are essential. Cockle Cove and Hardings Beach restrooms were non-existent too. This is a public relations snafu when most of the out of season visitors are seniors.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Yogaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect beach for families”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The kids loved this beach and did not want to leave! Calm, shallow water for the kids to play in and explore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank clook624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AWESOME Beach for Families or anyone who loves to catch crabs!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

What an awesome beach! I went this past week with a good friend and my 2 boys, ages 4 and 7. It is my new favorite beach in the area. The parking lot is small and seems to fill up early. We went at 10:30 on a Wednesday and it was already half full. Parking was $15. A lot of people seem to leave around noon/1ish for lunch or naps so a new group comes in then. It was pretty packed considering it was mid-week.

From the parking lot you walk over a foot bridge that goes over the little canal where all the kids are crabbing and end up on the inlet side. This is where all the families of little ones seem to hang out. It is perfect as the water is not too deep even at high tide and is a bit warmer than the ocean side. There are TONS of crabs to catch. We caught 8, plus 1 horseshoe crab and one enormous snail:) When the tide is flowing you can ride a floatie or buggie board and just drift. Make sure you have your nets, pails, shovels etc...

At one point we walked down the inlet beach to the 'point' where the water flowed out to the ocean. This was a lot of fun because the slope in the water is quite steep so very fun to jump off and swim - although probably not ideal place for little ones that can't swim. The waves were decent and the kids just jumped those for an hour.

There is a little snack shack that makes 'beach food' to order and it is fairly good. Grilled cheese, hamburger, hot dog etc... plus lots of drinks and ice cream. The shack also sells floaties, pails, nets, shovels if you forget them. I was also told you can rent kayaks and paddle boards at the store. We saw a few people doing that and it looked like a lot of fun.

We were there from 10:30-3pm and had a blast. The kids loved it and were not bored for a second. I can't wait to go back!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank boxerlover3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ridgevale Beach also viewed

 

Been to Ridgevale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing