We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of hevan”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Massachusetts
1 review
“A little piece of hevan”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

In our search for a vacation spot in Chattam we found this wonderful get away close to down town shops, restaurants and the local beaches.
Upon arriving at the Carraige House Inn we received a warm welcome from the Inn Owners, Jim and Val, making us feel right at home. They showed us around the facility and gave us some great suggestions for things to do and visit during our time there. They became very familiar with our likes and needs immediately. All of the suggestions they made fit us to a T. The room was immaculate and very well put together, beautifully done, with all of the comforts of home. This place does not have a hotel feel and is hands down one of the cleanest and most comfortable places I have ever stayed ( I slept like a baby ). Not to mention the price cant be beat !!!We enjoyed a wonderful home cooked breakfast every morning that was out of this world and possibly the best meals we enjoyed during our stay. Not to mention the breakfast was included in the room price. My sister has a food allergy that she mentioned once never even thinking it would be given a thought and sure enough Val prepared a special meal for her both mornings at breakfast. They offered beach chairs, towels and movies to enjoy. The property was well kept and there is a quaint little sitting area in the back for the guest to enjoy. We will be going back. We love you jim and Val and dont change a thing. As they say..... don't mess with perfection!
P.S. Shame on us for not taking any pictures to post.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1885HOUSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    39
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
59
527
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Como
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We just came back from USA and we spent three days at the Carriage House Inn in Chatham. We have great great time at the B&B, the innkeepers are wonderful people, very kind and they make our staying very comfortable, Val is always ready to give useful advice of any kind and took care of us in every possible way! The breakfast was delicious, every morning we had different things always very surprising. In the living room there’s a huge collection of dvds and you can take one and go to see in your room every time you want. Our room (number six) was large, with a super comfortable queen bed, light colors on the wall and with a lovely garden where we spent some time reading a good book in that oasis of peace. The bathroom was lovely too and the shower very large. There’s also a fire for cold nights (anyway ours were quite warm) and a minifridge. You mustn’t worry about anything because in the room there’s everything you need to go to the beach!!! Everything was perfect and we wish had stayed more days, unfortunately we had only few days because of our return flight to Italy from Boston.
Chatham is also a lovely place, great beaches and great sunsets! We had a unique stroll on a beach (I don’t remember the name, but it leads to a lighthouse no more used) and we could see protected areas for rare bird nesting. At the Fish Market Pier, that is pretty close to the B&B you can also see seals swimming and waiting for the boats full of fresh fish to come there. The town is in a perfect position to reach other Cape Cod towns or interesting sites where to do things (as whale watching). Every dinner we had, was great!
I hope to come back soon, is definitely one of the best place I’ve ever been!
Ilaria&Luca

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilaria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrentham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Innkeepers, Jim and Val, were wonderful! They helped make our 15-year wedding anniversary get-away both enjoyable and memorable. The inn is very nice. Our room was clean, nicely decorated, comfortable and romantic. The room was also equipped with a flat screen television and DVD player... allowing us to take advantage of Jim's 100+ DVD collection! The CHI is centrally located... close to everything without being situated in the busy downtown area. Jim and Val were extremely personable, and also very knowledgeable about the area. Growing up on the mid-Cape, we were not familiar with the lower-Cape's offerings. Jim and Val provided some great recommendations for area beaches, attractions, and dining options. For our anniversary, Jim and Val set aside a bottle of wine for us when we returned from dinner... very thoughtful. Jim's homemade chocolate chip cookies were also delicious... and a wonderful late afternoon treat. Both Jim and Val did a great job preparing a delicious breakfast each morning, as well. Phil and I really liked the banana pancakes. We can't say enough good things about our stay... we can't wait to go back!

Amy and Phil
Wrentham, MA

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy and Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

If I am perfectly honest, we were a little disappointed. The Carriage House Inn, although very nice, was not quite what we expected. Our biggest criticism would be the heat in the public areas and think air conditioning would not be a bad idea. The Inn is 0.9 miles from the start of the main street. It is a dark road with the footpath only going half way, and quite a lot of traffic. Not a pleasant walk at night. Chatham itself was extremely busy. Parking would have been a problem and trying to find somewhere to eat (having only just arrived and having no reservation) was like a free for all. We decided to stay clear of the town after the first night.

Val and Jim are really lovely people. They make you feel very welcome and go out of their way to make sure you are happy. Breakfast was very tasty . The seating area had lots of info, books, dvds etc. Jim very kindly booked our whale watching trip,which is not to be missed. He also told us where to visit along the way.

We visited lots of places in New England over our three week stay. We expected a bit too much of this place. Cape Cod is beautiful. Provincetown was probably our most favourite place of the whole trip. We will return, but definitely not in the summer (its too busy) and anywhere on Route 6A is good. Cape Cod has lots to offer (not just Chatham) and the Carriage House Inn is no better or worse than anywhere else we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LizFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
We are so disappointed that our guests seemed so unhappy. We did notice that whenever we saw “Liz” she had a fan with her and was using it! She seemed to have much less of a heat tolerance than anyone else in the room, but it was a particularly hot week. We do have a lovely cross breeze in the dining room, but because of her apparent discomfort, Jim brought out a fan to make her more comfortable. I’m afraid air conditioning in such a large old house is out of the question!

As far as the distance from town – we do not hide the fact that we are 0.7 mile from town and that all of Chatham does not have sidewalks – yet! But we always mark off parking spots in town and, except for rare occasions, I have never had a problem.

We realize we cannot make everyone happy all the time – but we sure do try! We can’t change our location or our lack of sidewalks! And I don’t know anywhere that it isn’t dark in the evening! We do send out a list of restaurants when we confirm reservations and offer to make reservations so that our guests will not be disappointed. So, again, we thank you for your input, we appreciate your comments, and we’ll continue to do our very best for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

If you are looking for a great B & B in a great location that is fairly priced, then this is it. Jim greeted us as soon as we walked in the door. Val make a mean breakfast that would please any king. We even shared a drink with Jim one night when we ran into each other out on the town. You are short drives from all the places you would want to go and Jim is very helpful in guiding you to the places to be seen and not seen. I would recommend this B & B to anyone looking to say in Chatham.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrushCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were impressed! Our room was beautiful and very clean! The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious! Val even had some homemade chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb125_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I booked Carriage House Inn as a surprise for my parents. After speaking with Jim on the phone I knew it would be perfect since his hospitality extended right over the phone. My parents had a wonderful vacation and not only love the Inn itself but also meeting Jim and Val; who were very friendly, helpful and obviously hard at work keeping the Inn up to its high standards. The blueberry french toast was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
687 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.9 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic year-round bed & breakfast near Chatham Light Beach and downtown Chatham, the Carriage House Inn offers spacious grounds, beautifully appointed guestrooms and gracious hospitality. All rooms have queen size beds, private bathrooms, TV's with DVD players, air conditioning and CD alarm clocks; some feature fireplaces, private entrances, and outdoor sitting areas. A full, gourmet breakfast is served each morning under the crystal chandelier in the dining room or adjacent sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Chatham
Carriage House Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing