We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly home”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Carriage House Inn. Val & Jim Mellett were excellent hosts giving great suggestions on places to visit and eat. Accomodation to a high standard. Plenty of places to visit with a lot of interesting small shops etc to explore.
You will have to drive to most places to eat in the evening.
Large breakfast included kept us going generally until our evening meal.
Very friendly & welcoming. We would visit again if in the area.

Room Tip: Some road noise in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunbeamimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

If you're visiting Cape Cod, stay in Chatham, and if you're staying in Chatham stay at the Carriage House. We had a wonderful 6 days here as part of our 40th wedding anniversary celebrations and couldn't have chosen a better place to spend it. A beautiful cosy inn with a lovely room, clean and comfortable with great breakfasts and home made cookies in the afternoons. Great location too, Chatham is a beautiful place. Jim and val are super hosts and made us very very welcome. Hopefully we will return one day to Cape Cod and visit the Carriage House again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Carriage House celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary. The hosts Val and Jim made us feel at home. Vals excellent meal preparation and Jim's knowledge of the area made for a pleasant stay. Spent our time bicycling and sampling Jim's resaturant suggestions. The Cape is beautiful in September..

Room Tip: we stayed in room #1 in the main house, did not see the rooms in the carriage house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigyellowhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights here celebrating our 30th anniversiary and it was great. We have stayed at B&B's on 3 continents and this is in the top 2 or 3 in all respects. Val is an outstanding cook and Jim is very helpful and knowledgeable. Nice gathering room and great eating area for breakfast. Room was nicely decorated and very clean and well appointed. Location is perfect for touring in any direction. We stayed in room #5. We will visit again !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at the Carriage House and enjoyed our stay immensely. Jim was a very knowledgeable and helpful host and Vals breakfasts were tasty and a nice start to the day.
The place was made to feel like your own and there was a
computer,books,dvds,lounge,gardens,fridge with soft drinks etc which were for all guests to use. We would definitley stay here again if we return to Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Regretably we had to leave the Carriage House Inn after 4 fantastic nights.
On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Jim and a taste of his vast knowledge of the area and restuarants.
Vals breakfasts are excellant and set you up for the days sightseeing.
Room 4 is beautiful and so relaxing with double doors to the gardens.
We came as guests and hopefully we left as friends.
We do hope one day to return to this little corner of heaven in Chatham.

Room Tip: Room 4 ground floor cottage with access to gardens. Also has a fire for colder evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lizcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at the Carriage House Inn back in August. Val & Jim are excellent hosts! They have spot-on restaurant recommendations as well as suggestions on what to see and do in the area. They have achieved the perfect balance of offering-up ideas without being too nosy about what you'll be doing every second of the trip. Val's cooking is exceptionally delicious with a different breakfast option every morning. They have thought of every last detail including beach gear and snacks/beverages during the day. We stayed in Room 6 in the detached building. It offered the perfect amount of privacy. The room was very comfortable and modern. The in-room fridge is a great recent addition. I've been raving about the place ever since we got back. A MUST VISIT for anyone looking for a trip to the Chatham area!

Thanks!!!
Trish & Joe

Room Tip: Room 6 in the detached building is a little more private and has it's own little private yard fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pixeltric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
739 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.9 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
572 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range: £155 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic year-round bed & breakfast near Chatham Light Beach and downtown Chatham, the Carriage House Inn offers spacious grounds, beautifully appointed guestrooms and gracious hospitality. All rooms have queen size beds, private bathrooms, TV's with DVD players, air conditioning and CD alarm clocks; some feature fireplaces, private entrances, and outdoor sitting areas. A full, gourmet breakfast is served each morning under the crystal chandelier in the dining room or adjacent sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Chatham
Carriage House Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing