We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Our hosts, Val and Jim, were awesome and a lot of attention was paid to small details. The breakfasts were delicious, the rooms were impecable and the service was tremendous. Could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Room 6 was wonderful as it is to the side and opens to your own backyard. Gives a lot of privacy.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriendMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Carriage House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Everything about this stay was perfect. The hosts have thought of everything in advance, from the handy CD player on the TVs, to the suggestions, menus and reservations for dinner, to the helpful orientation tour at the beginning with lots of local advice and maps, to the (best of all) yummy home-baked cookies at tea time, filling the house with a warm inviting smell. The breakfast was divine, the company just the right amount of connection. Gorgeous place, friendly hosts. What's not to love?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Chatham is probably the best place to stay on the Cape by a mile, and staying at the Carriage House Inn was a great choice. Very warm (atmosphere), lovely rooms, very comfy beds with fire, great amenities, etc. Jim (owner) gave us brilliant advice on where to go on the Cape (so definitely follow his tour that he'll draw out for you). Val (his wife) cooked fantastic breakfasts too, and even left a little care package for us as we went on our trip to the airport cause we had to leave early. Definitely recommend the Carriage House Inn - close by the seafront, good for walks/scenery, good for couples or families. Also fairly reasonable in price compared to other places on the Cape.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few books the private chalet rooms - they have a 4 poster and fire. Lovely
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristianOMalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast. We have always traveled with our kids and now are empty nesters. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Jim. He made sure we had everything we needed. He showed us the common dining area which had freshly made homemade cookies. The dining area also has a small fridge with pop and bottled water and a coffee area. The main living area – has a large sectional sofa and a game table, gas fireplace and a TV with a huge selection of DVDs. There is a bookcase with books, brochures and board games. We were escorted to the Guest House #4. The room was immaculate, exceptionally clean and had a fireplace that we used every day. The bathroom had soft towels and single size shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, q-tips, and makeup remover pads and a hair dryer. The bathroom was also very clean. The shower head pressure was more than adequate and the water was always hot.
Val made some of the best breakfasts (be there 8:30am for breakfast). We looked forward to the fresh fruit every morning. Val certainly didn’t skimp on the portion sizes. It was enough to get us through to dinner time (LOL!). Jim recommended some great restaurants for us to try and also gave us some ideas of where to sightsee. We took him up on a few of his recommendations. The best was Race Point Beach – we saw whales not far from shore and this really was exciting to see. We also saw one seal at the Chatham Marina. Our only regret is not having one more time to talk with Jim and Val.
All-in-All it was a great stay and they made us feel very much at home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bombays41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at The Carriage house Inn in Chatham, MA on the cape a week or so ago during the off season (First week in March). Luckily, the weather was with us, but we wouldn't have enjoyed it half as much without the wonderful ministrations of Val and Jim, the innkeepers. When we arrived we were greeted warmly. Jim proceeded to show us to places around Chatham and the Cape that we would not have known about. He gave us excellent suggestions and directions, and was a wonderful guide. Val was also terrific and made yummy breakfasts of a frittata and a bread pudding/french toast that was divine. There were hot choc chip cookies and snacks for the taking as well as sodas and water. The rooms were lovely and the beds were really comfy. Restaurant recs were spot on. There isn't a better place to explore the Cape from. Chatham is a beautiful village with great bookstores, and other Cape towns are easily accessible. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I recently celebrated our belated 25th wedding anniversary at The Carriage House Inn. We had a most enjoyable experience and would recommend this inn to everyone! The innkeepers, Jim and Val, were very helpful in letting us know what to visit in Chatham during our stay and which restaurants were the best to try. We followed all of Jim's suggestions and were truly satisfied with all of his recommendations! Our room (#3) was beautiful and very clean and had everything that we needed for our one night stay. Our breakfast was so delicious and very filling too. We loved that the inn was so cozy and intimate, yet was close enough to all the main attractions in Chatham. We hope to come back again for a longer stay sometime! If you are looking for a romantic getaway with very special touches (like warm baked afternoon cookies!), look no further than The Carriage House Inn in Chatham, Massachusetts!!

Room Tip: Room #3 was the biggest upstairs in the Main House. I looked at the Carriage House rooms on the web...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We spent Valentine's day at the Carriage House Inn. Jim and Val were wonderfully accommodating . The warm toll house cookies upon arrival were a welcomed treat after our two hour ride.
We stayed in Room 5. It had a queen canopy bed, gas fireplace and was absulutely spotless! Wonderful bath amenities and the bed couldn't have been more comfortable.
Jim was able to get us a last minute reservation at the Impudent Oyster. The food and atmosphere were fabulous.
We will definitely return in the Summer to enjoy the warmer weather.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunrise0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
718 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.9 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
567 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range: £169 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic year-round bed & breakfast near Chatham Light Beach and downtown Chatham, the Carriage House Inn offers spacious grounds, beautifully appointed guestrooms and gracious hospitality. All rooms have queen size beds, private bathrooms, TV's with DVD players, air conditioning and CD alarm clocks; some feature fireplaces, private entrances, and outdoor sitting areas. A full, gourmet breakfast is served each morning under the crystal chandelier in the dining room or adjacent sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Chatham
Carriage House Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing