We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARMING AND CARING INN”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our several day stay started off with a warm greeting from Jim and Val (owners) on august 23,2013.
Jim gave us an area map and shared his knowledge about local sights, good restaurants and beaches.
We stayed in the CARRIAGE HOUSE ( No. 4) , which had a sliding door to the garden with 2 sunchairs. We found a refridgerator and a coffeemaker in our room. The bathroom was clean and modern with a strong shower.
A delicious breakfast was served by Jim and Val in a beautiful diningroom on a community table every morning. We met wonderful people from Ireland, Germany and new York City..
All in all a wonderful place, and we plan on staying here next year again.
Thank you Jim & Val for a delightful stay and memories.
Abdel and Almut

Room Tip: Carriage House or Room No. 2 in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almutallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

My first visit was in May and it was such a great experience that I returned with my husband on September 12th! Val and Jim are so warm and welcoming that there is no other place I would choose to stay at the Cape... I plan on making it my home away from home.. The breakfast is always something to look forward to.. The rooms are exquisite.. The location of the inn is ideal... But what makes it special is Val and Jim.. They are always available..always ready to help make your visit one to remember.. And always up for whatever you may want them to do.. I can't wait to return in May.. I have even told them that if they sell the inn.i expect a permanent room in their home!! Way to go Val and Jim.. Thanks for the memories..

Room Tip: I love the Rooms off of the main house because you get a nice little space outside to sit and chill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Carriage House Inn in August for a little get away before our first child arrives this fall. We could not have picked a better inn in a better location. Jim and Val made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Jim made sure we had the perfect plans for each day, and would sit down with us each night or morning to map out our route for the day, make dinner reservations for us or recommend places for us to go to on the cape for some of the best local seafood! Val made us delicious breakfasts every morning which we still talk about! Fresh cookies are put out every afternoon (make sure to have some of Jim's chocolate chip cookies!) to hold you over until dinner. The Inn is within walking distance of the water as well as the center of town. Chatham in our opinion, has the prettiest Main St., so if you want to experience the best the Cape has to offer, stay in Chatham at the Carriage House Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolmesnShizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Innkeeper Jim and his wife Val were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Gluten-free breakfast was provided on request. We had never been to Cape Cod before and Jim's local knowledge was very useful. We hired bikes, spent a day on the beech (umbrella and chairs provided), enjoyed some excellent meals out, the best one being at The Stars Restaurant at the Chatham Bars Inn. The room was clean and comfortable and our 13 year old son slept in a 'cot' which was a full sized single bed and we all slept soundly. We hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We loved every minute of our 2 night stay at the Carriage House! Our room was charming, comfortable & clean. The inn is close to town and to all the local sights. The highlight of this inn & our stay was the friendly & personal attention given to every guest. Upon our arrival Jim gave us an area map & shared his knowledge about local sights, shopping, restaurants & things to do. We have never stayed anywhere where the information was as complete! Val's breakfasts were plentiful & absolutely delicious. And we loved the warm chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon! The restaurant recommendations that Jim gave us were superb. We also spent a relaxing afternoon at one of the local beaches with the chairs, umbrella, & beach towels the the Carriage House provided. This is the perfect place to stay for a Cape Cod vacation! Thank you, Jim & Val!

Helen & Don -- LaGrange, IL

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed in one of the Carriage House rooms for a few days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jim and Val really made us feel very welcome, with great food and good advice on things to do locally. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our Carriage House room was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 7 wonderful days at The Carriage House and loved the welcoming owners Jim and Val. Our room was spotlessly clean, spacious, and tastefully furnished, as were the dining and sitting rooms. Our king size bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious, and the "group" table at which we elected to sit was conducive to good conversation among our fellow guests from many different states and countries.

Room Tip: If available, get the BIG bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.0 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.8 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
580 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range: £155 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished historic and romantic B&B is ideally located in Cape Cod’s premier vacation destination, Chatham, Massachusetts. Our Inn is at the top of the dramatic Shore Road Loop, less than a mile from the vibrant Village center. We are a short stroll to the iconic Chatham Fish Pier and the nearest sandy shore landings. The Carriage House Inn, formerly the Captain Isaac Loveland Homestead (c.1850), has been beautifully transformed blending spacious manicured grounds, period antique furnishings, graceful interiors, well appointed guestrooms with private baths, and personalized concierge services to ensure an exceptional visit to the Cape. Enjoy the wonderfully detailed rooms in the main house with sun decks and easy access to the lovely period furnished dining room and living room, or relax in the large carriage house rooms beside your fireplace and enjoy the classic Adirondack chairs in your private garden. Our signature amenity features rustic gourmet breakfasts and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Chatham
Carriage House Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing