We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our stay at this bed and breakfast. To be fair, the innkeepers seem to have a loyal following. However, when we pay premium prices we expect something in return, such as luxury linens, a super clean room, premium coffee and tea, amazing views, and/or soaps that make you want linger in the shower a little longer. If you don't care about being pampered on vacation and are willing to pay a premium for Folgers and premixed cookies, this would be fine, but we expected more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SummerattheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks so much for your review. I’m sorry you were not pleased with our inn because we always do our best to make sure all of our guests are happy and comfortable. I don’t know why it took you so long to let us know you were not happy – maybe we could have made changes. To reply to your particular points – our sheets are not crisp as they are 1200 count Egyptian cotton (about as good as you can get), our coffee in the rooms is Folgers because that is what our guests have told us they prefer, and our shampoo, soaps and lotion are Terra Green because we are a “green” inn and this line of products was highly recommended by our amenities company. You neglected to mention that you received a discount (unrequested) because you booked early. I realize there are some people we can never make happy, no matter how hard we try. The sad part is 99% of our guests appreciate our efforts and totally enjoy themselves, but it is the 1% that we spend all our time wondering what we could have done to make them happier. We will work on that 1%. It is an ongoing process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at the Carriage House Inn for one night a few weeks ago. We wished we had booked it for a longer stay after seeing the beautiful area and our lovely room! The hosts were very welcoming, helped us find a great restaurant for dinner, and gave us tips on things to see on Cape Cod. The breakfast was homemade and delicious! It is obvious that Jim and Val love welcoming guests to Cape Cod and making their visits special. And, they went above and beyond when my husband discovered that he had left his kindle in our room. Val immediately found and mailed it back to us within a couple of days! We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at the Carriage House Inn on a quick overnight trip to the Cape while honeymooning in the US from Australia. As a couple in our late 20s we had never stayed at an Inn before but it was just wonderful! Jim and Val were so kind and fabulous hosts - it was really lovely sitting down for a chat with them over Val's amazing home-cooked breakfast and Jim was full of suggestions of what, as first time Cape visitors, we should see. We found Chatham to be the most charming of the Cape towns and although our trip was too short (just two days and one night) it was a wonderful place to visit. We stayed in room six which was away from the main house, and means guests can have privacy if they wish. The room was clean, had free wi-fi and was the charming and character filled Cape experience we were looking for. Thanks so much for having us Jim and Val....hopefully one day we will be back again!
Jane & Adam

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is our 3rd time staying with Val & Jim at The Carriage House, we can not say enough.
The accommodations are wonderful and the breakfasts are fantastic!
We are already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We decided on a quick night away on the Cape to get out of the city and found the Carriage House Inn. It's a lovely inn with great rooms and a quaint main house. Jim and Val were incredibly kind and welcoming.
We're a bit particular about where we stay, but definitely recommend the Carriage House Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Carraige House this past summer. Jim and Val were so kind. The room was lovely and comfortable. The bed had soft sheets. The matress was excellent and the bathroom was spacious and clean! We could not have been more pleased with Jim's advice about where to go and what to see. Each day we had somethinng new for breakfast. Each breakfast was delicious! We also loved the location of the Carriage House. It was asy to get to all the activities!
Paul and Jennifer

Room Tip: We loved our room! It had a fireplace. A little more money - but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We have stayed in many B and B's. None were as memorable as our visit with Jim and Val at the Carriage House Inn for our 25th anniversary. Accommodations were wonderful and only surpassed by the graciousness and friendliness of the hosts. This was our first visit to the Cape and we enjoyed every moment. We had a last minute change in plans and Jim and Val went out of their way to help us. Overall, just first class all the way.

Room Tip: Go with the carriage house. Book early as these fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
739 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.9 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
572 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range: £155 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic year-round bed & breakfast near Chatham Light Beach and downtown Chatham, the Carriage House Inn offers spacious grounds, beautifully appointed guestrooms and gracious hospitality. All rooms have queen size beds, private bathrooms, TV's with DVD players, air conditioning and CD alarm clocks; some feature fireplaces, private entrances, and outdoor sitting areas. A full, gourmet breakfast is served each morning under the crystal chandelier in the dining room or adjacent sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Chatham
Carriage House Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing