We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Night Away!”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Night Away!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here over St. Patrick's Day weekend and I can not say enough things about this wonderful place. My parents gave us a gift card to this bed and breakfast because they had stayed here years ago and also enjoyed it. My husband and I choose to stay in one of the rooms with a gas fireplace. There are three rooms with fireplaces that are separate from the main house. I believe the room we were in was Room 5.
Upon checking in, we were greeted by Jim, who owes the Inn with his wife Val. Jim was very helpful and sat down with us to tell us about attractions in the area, where to go to eat, and even where to get free samples of fudge He showed us how the main house has a fireplace, a large DVD collection, menus from local restaurants, and a fridge stocked with water and soda. He then brought us to our room. The first thing I notice about a place is how clean it is. This place was spotless! The bathrooms were very clean and had a good supply of toiletries (I loved the make-up remover wipes!)the bed sheets and carpet were also very clean. The room itself was much larger than I thought and it was so welcoming and cute! I loved, loved, loved the fireplace! We did have to shut if off after a while because it got pretty hot in the room but im sure in the winter its great.
The breakfast the next morning was delicious! Jim was very excited about his St. Patrick's Day meal of cornbeef and eggs! We had oatmeal with toppings, cornbeef hash with eggs, juice and tea. Val and Jim remembered I liked tea and had it for me that morning! When it was time to go, Val and Jim both hugged us and welcomed us back for another stay. My husband and I loved it here and felt at home! Val and Jim are great hosts and we would/and have recommended this bed and breakfast to many friends and family. We plan to return next year! Thank you for a great weekend!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a fireplace, you have to book room 4,5,6. Those are the rooms separate from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraSpell8259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    37
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
519
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Warwick, R.I.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Carriage House Inn is at the tail end of a huge construction project/renovation. We can't wait to come back and see the finished product. Jim and Val have managed to maintain their high level of B & B excellence and for the third time in 4 years we were extremely pleased with our getaway long weekend. Jim is always the gracious, helpful host and Val makes breakfast a meal to look forward to. We will never stay anywhere else when in Chatham...it can't get any better than this!!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 1, 2 and 3. All equally lovely. Have never stayed in the carriage house. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Jim and Val are great! My hubby and I stayed one night, WAY off season (February) - we're preparing to move to Cape Cod, and took a night away from the kids to get "chores" done for the move.
Jim was waiting at the door as we drove in. If you want to just settle in to your room, he'll let you. But, if you want a ten minute map tour of the Chatham area, complete with shopping, excursion, and restaurant suggestions, he'll do that too! (I recommend the map tour. Jim knows everything!)
Fresh cookies, drinks, snacks waiting. A huge selection of DVDs to borrow if you feel like relaxing in your room with a movie (it was winter, after all).
The room was absolutely lovely. Well appointed, smartly decorated, clean, cozy, and private. Attention to detail is obvious.
Val's breakfast was delicious. Home cooked goodness meets novel presentation.
If a Cape Cod B&B is that great in the cold cold winter, I can only imagine how great it is in warmer times!
I will tell my family and friends to stay at the Carriage House Inn - it's perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My boyfriend and I went for a winter getaway, and Val and Jim made us feel like family. Jim gave us ideas on how to spend our day, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Val is a wonderful cook, and it was nice to have someone make me breakfast. We highly recommend this romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charm6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Carriage House Inn is the perfect place to enjoy a romantic weekend!! My husband and I chose to stay here after reading lots of great reviews on TA.... We were VERY happy with our choice!! The Inn is located very close to Main Street, lots of great shops, restaurants and beaches within a 5 minute drive. The Inn was very clean, well maintained and most importantly warm and inviting. The innkeepers, Val & Jim, are the perfect hosts....Upon our arrival, Jim welcomed us and spent some time mapping out all the best places to visit in Chatham - restaurants, beaches, shops, scenic roads. Val is a great chef, we had two delicious breakfasts, Fruit & Yogurt, Frittatas, Lemon Ricotta Pancakes and homemade breakfast breads. Breakfast is more than enough to keep you going into the afternoon while you explore the Cape! Overall, this Inn is great, unpretentious and a solid Cape Cod experience. We will definitely be staying with Val & Jim again!!!

Room Tip: We chose Room #5, located in the Carriage House. The room was so peaceful. The colors and decor inv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alonna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Jim and Val are the best! From the amazing choc. chip cookies in the afternoon, to the fantastic gourmet breakfast Val cooked the next morning, it was the perfect overnight romantic escape. I highly recommend Room No. 6 in the carriage house portion of the inn- beautiful gas fireplace included! I've been visiting Chatham since I was a kid and I've always been in love with town. I can't wait to go back and stay another weekend at the Carriage House Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Friendship, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is the place to stay!!! My husband and I had never been to Cape Cod before and 'took a chance' on staying at a bed and breakfast, which we had also never done. Staying at the Carriage House Inn turned out to be the perfect way to be introduced to all the wonderful food and sights on the Cape. We arrived to warm chocolate chip cookies and even warmer Inn hosts--Jim and Val are the consummate B & B hosts! Jim helped us navigate what to see, where to eat (the most incredible clam chowder in Chatham) and the best way to get there--walking or driving. Val's breakfast meals were amazing--still think about that wonderful stuffed french toast :-) We had an incredible 3 days on Cape Cod and we are so thankful that we took a chance and stayed at the Carriage House Inn!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the main house, so we just had to walk down the stairs to breakfast! Plus, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Captain's House Inn
Captain's House Inn
#4 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic year-round bed & breakfast near Chatham Light Beach and downtown Chatham, the Carriage House Inn offers spacious grounds, beautifully appointed guestrooms and gracious hospitality. All rooms have queen size beds, private bathrooms, TV's with DVD players, air conditioning and CD alarm clocks; some feature fireplaces, private entrances, and outdoor sitting areas. A full, gourmet breakfast is served each morning under the crystal chandelier in the dining room or adjacent sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Chatham
Carriage House Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing