We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 9 January 2009

I don't think it is possible to give the Carriage House Inn a bad review. The Inn itself is beautiful and kept very pristine. From the moment we entered the house we felt the warmth and hospitality of the owners. We were there over Thanksgiving (when most things were closed) so we spent a fair amount of time in the inn. We loved the fact that we could take up DVDs from the library upstairs to watch in our room. We also enjoyed munchies of chocolate chip cookies and great apple cider. The owners were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and made with care. A perfect place for the perfect holiday. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank j5309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    39
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
525
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Carriage House Inn for 2 nights to celebrate the New Year and could not have had a better time. Paula and Tim were absolutely wonderful hosts and we felt like treasured guests in their house even though we had never met either one before. Every detail was taken care of and just as advertised.

We were greeted by Paula upon arrival and she immediately gave us a tour of the main areas of the house and showed us on the map where everything in town was in relation to the inn (it's very close to everything). We were staying in Room 2 of the Main House so she then showed us our room in detail. I had ordered roses for the room and they were there waiting, beautifully arranged (and still alive almost two weeks later I might add). Then she explained how we could reach her at any time during the day or night for anything. Then she gave us a key to the front door so we could come and go as we pleased without bothering anyone.

After that we were free to use whatever we wanted in the house, whether it be the PC at the bottom of the stairs, the very updated DVD collection in the living room (it was snowy after all) or some hot cider, cookies or snacks from the dining room. It felt like we were at home without someone watching us every minute. Unlike some of the reviews I've read from other inns, we were free to use whatever we wanted whenever we wanted without being told they were closing down or wanted to go home.

In the morning, we were treated to two ridiculously good breakfasts prepared by Tim, who is a true gourmet. The creme brulee french toast was one of the best things I've ever tasted. We ate both mornings in the nice sun porch which is just off the main dining room and it was really nice to watch the snow falling while being waited on hand over foot by Paula.

We plan on returning in the summer to see a Chatham A's game (Cape Cod Baseball League) and we'll definitely be staying with Paula and Tim again. The field is only a short walk from the inn, as is almost everything else. And we've discussed making this great B&B our annual New Year's Eve location.

If you want to be treated well and feel completely at home and comfortable in a small Cape B&B, there is absolutely no better place than the Carriage House Inn in Chatham.

  • Liked — Friendly treatment and great food and comfortable room and.....
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Amory67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroNYC
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2008

One doesn't normally associate Cape Cod with the winter months. No swimming or surfing and the days are short. But what better time to be thrifty with your money and enjoy a romantic time away from the stresses of everyday life - especially pre-Christmas holiday preparations.

It was a snowy day when we arrived. We were greeted by the innkeeper Paula who made us feel right at home - even before we had seen the room.

Seems most of the rooms have fireplaces. Ours was a gas fire which turned on with a wall switch. Much better than having to keep a fire going when we were interested in other amusments.

Paula had recommended a restaurant to us (Baca's) and after a few hours of exploring the Chatham area and other recommended dining possibilities, we made a reservation so that we could keep exploring and return later.

The evening went well and the next morning we awoke to the prospect of a breakfast as good as the dinner the evening before. Innkeeper Tim takes over in the morning. He prepares a delightful French toast which must be tasted to be appreciated. I have eaten at alot of B&B's in the US and in Europe and I can say that this was one of the best. While Tim was cooking Paula was waiting on the tables and making sure that the guests were enjoying themselves.

We did enjoy ourselves and look forward to a return engagement when the weather is warmer

  • Liked — Location in Chatham - Cape Caod
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetroNYCTravelingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philly
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2008

our stay at the inn was wonderful. we stayed in room 6 for two nights and from the moment we arrived until the day we left, paula and tim made sure we had the best stay possible. they are great hosts who cater to your every need, give you recommendations where to eat and go (impudent oyster was incredible), and when your just in the mood to relax in your room they have so much more to offer, like a wide variety of DVDs, board games, fresh cookies/brownies/coffee in the afternoon. they also have a binder with menus from all of the local restaurants so choosing your meals is pretty easy. the breakfast was out of this world, and if you have any special dietary restrictions, they will fully accomodate you. all in all it was a memorable first trip to the cape, one we will never forget!!

  • Liked — the innkeepers and clean room
  • Disliked — the long drive!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hud1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2008

My fiancée and I planned a weekend getaway to Cape Cod for my birthday, and were so lucky to have found The Carriage House Inn. After reading the other reviews here on Trip Advisor, we felt we had to book our stay with Paula and Tim! They not only opened their lovely home but made us feel so welcome. Although the weather in late November can be a bit cold on Cape Code, the warmth of this inn and of its hosts made for a truly special weekend! Our room (#6) was so inviting. I think we had two of the best nights sleep in the most comfortable bed we have had in our travels. The fireplace took the chill off the late night air and made for a romantic setting. The breakfast was just amazing. I would truly recommend this inn to anyone and are actually planning a return trip to also enjoy Cape Cod in the spring. We will definitely plan to book another stay with Paula and Tim at the Carriage House Inn

  • Liked — Room and Hosts
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheEdRolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Paula and Tim are the perfect hosts of the wonderful Carriage House Inn - which is located just near the village and central to the shops and eateries. The Inn itself is very comfortable and the rooms are beautifully maintained; there is a cosy and welcoming communal sitting room with books, DVDs, magazines, games, etc. The owners could not do more for their guests - they are exceptional hosts. Thoroughly recommend !

  • Liked — The hospitality of the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike !
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelbugsGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, MA
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2008

I just booked a fall shopping weekend and can hardly wait to stay at the Carriage House Inn. We have stayed for a summer weekend several times and have so enjoyed the relaxed, charming atmospere of the Inn itself and the solicitous inn keepers. Tim is a fabulous chef and Paula always makes us feel like old friends! The beaches in Chatham rival any vacation destination and the shopping is my absolute favorite. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the cape!

  • Liked — delicious breakfast
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank puako3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
682 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
1.0 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.3 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic year-round bed & breakfast near Chatham Light Beach and downtown Chatham, the Carriage House Inn offers spacious grounds, beautifully appointed guestrooms and gracious hospitality. All rooms have queen size beds, private bathrooms, TV's with DVD players, air conditioning and CD alarm clocks; some feature fireplaces, private entrances, and outdoor sitting areas. A full, gourmet breakfast is served each morning under the crystal chandelier in the dining room or adjacent sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Chatham
Carriage House Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing