We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must stop here,!!! This is a premium, good value, high quality B&B'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You must stop here,!!! This is a premium, good value, high quality B&B'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed at the Carriage House for 2 nights in July and we so wished we had stayed longer as the other places we stayed in Falmouth & Plymouth did not come anywhere near to the high quality accommodation at this very special place. I honestly thought that some of the other reviews were too good to be true, how can you help yourself to biscuits & complimentary drinks without feeling cheeky when stopping in somebody else's home? But you can! Honestly, we were overwhelmed. The fridge is fully stocked with diet coke, mineral water and other soft drinks, (as many as you liked, although we didn't take advantage, it was a nice comfort stop at the end of the day), homemade biscuits were there on the tray, other nibbles (crisps, nuts, etc) which just filled the gap after being out and about. The fridge also had room for your any of your own drinks (wine, beer) they even provided stickers with your room number to identify your own goodies in the fridge! There is also a ice makee, wine glasses and tumblers. Then the Room......we were in the Carriage House, Room 5, so so clean, quaint and lo behold even more surprises! We were supplied with Beach Towels, Umbrella, Decent hairdryer, make up cloth, fluffy towels, cotton wool pads, cotton wool buds, Large Double Shower, Coffee Maker, LCD TV, DVD player (good DVD library in the main house!), mints, air con, Paula and Tim had thought of everything for a most pleasant stay. The breakfasts were scrumptious! They had both double checked our dietary requirements when we got there. Lovely fresh fruit to start followed by a cooked dish. Endless juice and coffee. You could either sit at the main table with others or tables of two in the sun room, entirely upto you.
The lounge area had folders full of places to see and menus of places to eat, the latter being a great idea is you want to see the food fayre and also the prices. Tim was really helpful with advice on local places and what to do. We went to Provincetown for the day and both Tim and Paula told us where to park for a cheaper rate etc. We recommend this as a day out and the whale watching was absolutely breathtaking..
The walk to the beach was around 20 minutes, but a very pretty walk and do not be put off by this, you can always park nearby so you would be there in a few mins. We dined at Squires on the Main Street and Pisces around 3 miles away. Both were amazing in their own right. Squires is more of a bar but good food with a great atmosphere. Lively and great service if you sit at the bar to eat! Very attentive/ Pisces is more fine dining but still a relaxed atmosphere.
Do not stay anywhere else! The inn is totally charming, you will enjoy it and it's good value for money !!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMSLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    37
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
514
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

My husband and I have traveled all over the world, and stayed at many B&B's and other hotels and inns. The Carriage House Inn in Chatham ranks as one of the best. Paula and Tim are the consummate hosts - they can direct you to whatever activity you want to pursue, and the are armed with all the information to help you make a decsion if you need assistance. They have even thought of things you might not - like beach towels, coolers, portable chairs - so that you can fully enjoy the area. The Inn is within walking distance or a short drive to most shops, restaurants, and beaches. Finally, the breakfasts are fantastic and always served with a smile. In short, why would you stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lillyroseBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

We have stayed in numerous B & B's, and the Carriage House Inn was our best accomodation ever! Our room was beautifully appointed and impecably clean. The house and grounds were gorgeous! Paula and Tim were gracious hosts and we felt like guests in their home. They were very helpful with offering suggestions on where to dine and sight-see. The hot breakfasts each morning were fabulous! They are conveniently located in Chatham and very close to beaches, restaurants and shopping. We can't wait to visit again!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FuninthesunFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

This is such a wonderful inn, we would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. Paula and Tim go out of their way to make you feel at home and are the best hosts you could hope to meet. From the moment of arrival nothing was too much bother. Paula gave us great advice on where to go/what to do and helped us plan our stay to perfection. She is a mine of information on the Cape. The Inn itself is just perfect, from the beautiful reception room to the wonderful breakfast area and a glorious bedroom. Tim's breakfasts were DIVINE and would keep you going until dinner!! Aside from the hosts themselves, it is their little touches that make all the difference....as much bottled water & sodas as you like in the fridge, cookies&snacks available at any hour, a wealth of dvds/cds/books for you to borrow whenever you like, use of the fridge to store your own items....this really is a gem of a place. We were only sorry we couldn't stay longer. We would return to the cape just to spend more time here. Stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMCCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

Once again Paula and Tim, thank you for a wonderful holiday. This is our third year at the Carriage House Inn and hopefully next year will be our fourth! The breakfasts are sensational (compliments of Tim) and the standard of the accommodation is outstanding; we teased Paula and Tim that in our opinion they are both perfectionists! We would unreservedly recommend this Inn to anyone thinking of staying in Chatham.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

What a wonderful Inn. Paula and Tim are the most superb and generous hosts and made our stay perfect (even down to ordering us perfect weather!). Little touches like chocolates on arrival, delicious breakfasts cold beverages whenever you wanted them. A total home from home.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HethEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

I cannot say enough good things about this Inn.

The accommodation was idyllic and the breakfasts tantalisingly good!

Tim & Paula were the perfect hosts and were always on hand to help with restaurant recommendations and bookings.

I hope that I will be lucky enough to go back!

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TracyHarris3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.0 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Captain's House Inn
Captain's House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic year-round bed & breakfast near Chatham Light Beach and downtown Chatham, the Carriage House Inn offers spacious grounds, beautifully appointed guestrooms and gracious hospitality. All rooms have queen size beds, private bathrooms, TV's with DVD players, air conditioning and CD alarm clocks; some feature fireplaces, private entrances, and outdoor sitting areas. A full, gourmet breakfast is served each morning under the crystal chandelier in the dining room or adjacent sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Chatham
Carriage House Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing