We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than "Home away from home"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goffstown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than "Home away from home"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Beyond the convenient location, impeccably clean home and cheerful staff happily welcoming you, and beyond the comfortable bed in a cozily decorated room, and beyond the bountiful breakfast, you will find expert marketing folks who do not-so-stealth baking all day long filling the home with aromas so compelling that you will likely be lured into staying an extra night. Be forewarned!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oopboromom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
There is a method to our "madness" of baking constantly! What a great review, we just can't thank you enough. And as I told you, we remove all the calories. Keep well and hoping to have you with us again soon.

Warm regards and thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    25
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
89
582
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Old Harbor Inn in Chatham, Cape Cod, for four nights in October 2013. Our accommodation was comfortable with all you would expect in the way of facilities (hair dryer, ironing board and iron), including a gym in the basement for those so inclined! The B&B is a member of the 'Select Registry' group of B&B/hotels. Home baking is a feature of breakfasts, and complementary beverages and home baked goodies are available throughout the day. However, the best thing about Old Harbor In (apart from its very central location in Cape Cod and in Chatham itself), is the friendliness of the owners and staff. They make your plans happen, if they are possible ... for us they booked day return flights to Nantucket, explained in detail how to get there and back, and offered help and advice with the other trips we wanted to make. We felt among friends, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyandPaul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Its great to share the things we like about Chatham and Cape Cod in general. We're so pleased you enjoyed all that we recommend. Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review for The Old Harbor Inn. Good to know you are home again safely and hopefully planning a return trip!

With all good wishes,
Ray, Judy and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a wonderful time in Chatham. Thanks for the help of Tanya and Judy for showing us the places of interest. They were also helpful in reserving restaurants for us.
Their place is small and cozy. Judy and Ray own and manage the place for 18 years already but they kept it so well one would not think it is old. It is absolutely a charming place.
They always have baked goodies around. We just helped ourselves In the kitchen and get beverages and pastries.
The place is very well located. It is just right around the corner of Main Street where all the restaurants, stores and churches are.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you, thank you so much for such a great review for The Old Harbor. We are so fortunate to be so close to the Main Street. We hope you'll come visit again. It would be our pleasure to have you with us once again.

Kind regards and thanks,
Judy, Tanya and Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alden, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed for a weekend in October after a business conference in Boston. Ray and Judy and staff were fantastic!!! Gave great recommendations on dinner and activities. Probably the best B and B we have stayed at (and we have stayed at a bunch!). They give you just enough attention and just enough "space". Fantastic food and snacks and drinks left out-made you feel right at home! The Inn is large enough where you do not feel "on top of each other" but small enough to feel like a B and B/Inn and not a chain motel.

Room Tip: Room by driveway-could hear cars on the driveway but we had a private entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnelson_tuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed our recommendations. The fun part for us is going to all the places so we can tell all our guests about what to do and see! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review for The Old Harbor Inn. We can't wait for your return visit.

Warm regards and thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel was our final destination in a "New England in the Fall" vacation. While all the hotels we stayed in were excellent this particular one simply oozed warmth and friendliness. Furthermore, Judy's cooking is as good as home made cooking can get. Should we return from the UK to this region of the US, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: While all the rooms are different, they all appear to be very good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Best practice in all areas with staff clearly knowledgeabe and informative.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Glad you are safely at home. We can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a nice review for The Old Harbor Inn. If you come to the states again, we hope you will include The Old Harbor Inn in your plans.

Kind regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

After spending 2 enjoyable weeks in N.E. USA staying in international hotels it was a great pleasure to discover a B&B which felt like a "Home from Home" and served warmth and, friendliness, good food and excellent accommodation.

The Old Harbour Inn is a B&B that has charm, character, very good accommodation and good internet access and is hosted by caring owners that make it feel like staying with family who are attentive but not obtrusive.

Recommend both The Old Harbour Inn and Chatham town for those visiting Cape Cod as a central location that has it all in my view.

Room Tip: Very good selection of rooms make decision difficult as all are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
You are too kind! Hope you were able to go all the places you wanted to go before leaving for home and trust that your flight was smooth. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review for The Old Harbor Inn. We look forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Ray, Judy and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We don't typically stay in B & B's but we sure are glad we did this time! Location, location, location! The Old Harbor Inn has a great location. It is a very short & pleasant walk into charming Chatham on beautiful Cape Cod.

Ray and Judy's warm welcome made us feel like old friends. Judy walked us to our nicely appointed and clean room, pointing out little niceties, such as a Keurig coffee maker, right outside our door. A workout room, computer access area and a lovely porch above a garden were all a part of the tour. We instantly felt "right at home!"

Breakfasts for our three day visit were tasty, well presented and filling. The staff is so friendly and professional. After our first breakfast, Ray sat down with us for probably a good 10-15 minutes, showing us maps of various must see spots, walks to take and recommendations for restaurants and shopping. We were amazed that he took so much time to ensure that we had all the information we needed to have a great visit in Chatham!

Thanks to everyone at the Old Harbor Inn for their hospitality and attention to detail. We really hope to see you again! Oh, and check out their website for special deals! We got an extra night because of it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We couldn't have asked for a better review. You have been most generous with your great comments. Many thanks for taking the time to write such a fabulous review. Hoping you will be able to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards and thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
0.5 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
2.4 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Captain's House Inn
Captain's House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#4 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Harbor Inn

Property: The Old Harbor Inn
Address: 22 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Harbor Inn is ideally located just steps from the center of the historic seaside village of Chatham. Designer appointed rooms with king and queen beds are just the start of a luxurious experience.The most extensive renovations ever were completed in the spring of 2014, making the inn a truly outstanding property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel Chatham
The Old Harbor Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing