We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly relaxing”
Review of The Old Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was the last stay on a 4 location tour of New England, and our first visit to Cape Cod and with out doubt, the most welcoming and relaxing. Ray and Judy are charming hosts who couldn't be faulted for the effort they put into making our stay just perfect - including the effort to meet my wife's dietary needs.
Our room was very comfortable and well equipped with its own refrigerator, supply of snacks, TV/DVD and WiFi. Unlike many B&Bs, the breakfast area has home-made snacks and refreshments available all day which was great when popping back after a walk into the town just 5 minutes away. Although called the Old Harbor Inn, it is just off Main Street and over 1/2 mile from the shore, but this isn't a problem - Main Street has great shops and restaurants which Ray & Judy can advise upon.

It was a shame we were only able to stay for 2 nights - we would recommend this Inn without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GloucestershireJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We're sorry you weren't able to stay longer as well. Many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for The Old Harbor Inn. We really appreciate it. Good to see you are home safely as well. Wishing you a joyous holiday season and a wish for the best in 2014. Come see us again one day.

Warm regards and thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I have never stayed in Cape Cod and picked the old harbor inn based on walking distance to shops, seashore, etc. WOW! What a lucky pick. 2 minutes and you feel like you are right at home, only better. The Inn keepers and their staff are excellent, clean is an understatement, with quiet rooms. Staff gave us the 411 on Chatham so we were off exploring in minutes. They keep the coffee hot with great home baked goods. In your room you have a small fridge stocked with water and soft drinks and a snack basket. If that is not enough help yourself to snacks in the main dining area. Can not say enough god things about the Inn and the fine people that operate it!

Room Tip: We oringally called about the Ryder room but after speaking with the inn keeper she recommended the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thanks for all the great feedback. It was our pleasure to have you with us. Many thank you's for taking the time to write such a lovely review for The Old Harbor Inn. We appreciate it! Hoping you'll be able to plan a return visit in 2014. Wishing you holiday happiness and a joyous New Year.

Kind regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our stay at the Old Harbor Inn was literally the icing on the cake to our great holiday in the USA. The warm welcome and hospitality of Ray and Judy and staff was amazing. We were greeted by Tanya and the wonderful aroma of freshly baked cookies (a different treat baked every day for guests) who recommended several excellent restaurants that we managed to try on our 4 night stay. Breakfasts were a treat and Ray and Judy gave us lots of ideas for days out. Cape Cod was a wonderful place to wind down after a busy holiday and we definitely want to return when the weather is a bit warmer. The Inn's location in the beautiful old Chatham is ideal. Loved everything about our stay except saying goodbye!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Your home safe and sound! Great to hear. Can't thank you enough for such a fantastic review for The Old Harbor Inn. We really enjoyed meeting you both and certainly look forward to your return visit. September, in our opinion, is the best month to visit Chatham. But just come when you have the opportunity.

Kindest regards and thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It was our first experience with a B&B and most delightful. The owner's Ray & Judy were so friendly and nice. The breakfast was excellent. Snack in your room and refrigerator with drinks. Tanya and Silvia were very helpful and their bake goods were delicious. The area is so beautiful, many place to see. The room was clean and nicely decorated. So many great restaurants to have dinner in close walking distance. Will return soon. Great getaway.

Room Tip: The Yarmouth Room was nice and large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oconnell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

It was great meeting you both and so interesting to find that we had so much in common. We're glad that The Old Harbor Inn was your first B&B experience. Can't wait for you to come visit us again! We look forward to it.

Warm regards and thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I had never stayed at a B&B prior to this past weekend, but after our time at the Old Harbor Inn, I'm not sure I ever want to stay at a hotel again! From the second we walked in, we felt at home. We were offered great recommendations on what to do and see, and everything that was recommended to us was exceptional. We got a great rate on a room the first weekend of November and were treated to a beautiful room, with the ability to park our car right outside of it! The room had a DVD player and they had a fantastic DVD collection upstairs, so we watched a few flicks and enjoying numerous trips into town, which is right around the corner. This Inn is the PERFECT location. When we weren't shopping or eating, we were exploring the shoreline via rented bikes, which is just a short car ride away.

Overall, our stay was amazing and I don't have a single complaint. Judy and Ray couldn't have been nicer and we loved having breakfast with the other guests. We had some great conversations with people from all around the world! Also, the breakfasts were AMAZING. So delicious.

If you're planning to stay in Chatham, be sure to stay here. You won't be disappointed. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ryder's Cove room, which on the bottom floor, right next to the fitness room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allyson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

What a great review! We're so pleased that The Old Harbor Inn was your first experience at a B&B. It's always wonderful when our guests who have never experienced a B&B express the same reaction that you have. We hope that you are able to return to The Old Harbor Inn in the not too distant future.

Warm regards and thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived late to Old Harbor Inn after getting stuck in traffic from Boston, but Judy (half of the ownership team of Judy and Ray) was exceptionally welcoming, and helped us settle in and then orient us on how to get around and to dinner. The next morning we were amazed at the absolutely delicious breakfast they prepared, and loved the conversation with fellow guests at the Inn. A wonderful place to stay and recharge. Our only regret is not staying longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barca2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Many thanks for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review for The Old Harbor Inn. We hope the next time you visit, you'll be able to stay longer!

All the best,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Beautifully decorated, fastidiously clean, best breakfast of any inn by far with a hot entree, fresh baked cookies, drawers and drawers of DVDs, personalized service and so much more. The owners were a wealth of knowledge and so genuinely friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rustalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

We'd love to have you with us for a month! We appreciate very much your wonderful review. Thanks for taking the time to write it. Come see us again. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.5 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
2.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Harbor Inn

Address: 22 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range: £162 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Harbor Inn is ideally located just steps from the center of the historic seaside village of Chatham. Designer appointed rooms with king and queen beds are just the start of a luxurious experience.The most extensive renovations ever were completed in the spring of 2014, making the inn a truly outstanding property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel Chatham
The Old Harbor Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing