We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Do I Begin?”
Review of The Old Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I have traveled the world staying at resorts, hotels, inns, and B&Bs from basic to opulent - and everything in between. Never did we expect to find this hidden gem so close to home. No words can describe what we discovered quite by chance.

We were looking for a place to spend New Year's Eve and set our sights on charming Chatham, Massachusetts. As fate would have it, my first choice of a B&B fell through and I was lucky enough to book the last room at the Old Harbor Inn. We did not realize how lucky we were!

From the moment we walked in the door, we felt as though we stumbled upon a festive family reunion. In a way, we had! All of the other inn guests have been returning to the Old Harbor Inn to celebrate New Year's Eve for years - most for over a decade - a few for over twenty years! Even though we were "newbies", we were given a warm welcome. Soon we were swapping stories and sharing laughs.

This beautiful, well-decorated, comfortable inn filled with friendly people would certainly have been enough to keep my husband and I smiling - but there was more. Our package not only included our two-night stay and delicious breakfasts - two homemade dinners were served as well. The inn also provided FIRST NIGHT buttons in our welcome bag. Tasty snacks and a wide range of drinks were always available. The smell of freshly baked goods drifted from the open kitchen to the common rooms.

Inn keepers Ray and Judy - and their devoted assistant, Tanya - are amazing! Kind, friendly, and willing to do anything to make your stay memorable.

The location of the inn is perfect for FIRST NIGHT - or anytime! You are a short stroll from the picturesque downtown - or a longer walk to the beach and the lighthouse.

We have already reserved our three-night stay at the Old Harbor Inn for New Years 2014! We so look forward to returning!

Do not pass up an opportunity to stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oyster Harbor Room on the ground floor!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEAuLATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

You guys are the bomb! Thanks so much for writing this wonderful review. Ray, Tanya and I are so happy you found us and are looking forward to having you with us next New Years. Don't forget that Oyster Pond will have a new look when you return. Hopefully you will plan a visit during the year to check out all the work we've done over the winter.

With warm regards and thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for The Old Harbor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were very happy that we were close to town which had such cute little shops. Not just a few but a lot. The Inn was so comfortable. Our room was great and the aroma of baked goods added to the cozy homey feeling. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was great. I can't say enough wonderful things about our visit. Ray and Judy were so pleasant to be around. When we had to leave I felt I had truly relaxed and can't wait for our next visit. We also enjoyed walking the beach which was so beautiful. This was the end of December so was worried about it being cold but we bundled up and it was great and when got back to the Inn a nice fire place in the living room area welcomed us.

Room Tip: room in front of house on first floor bright and sunny
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Your absolutely right, just bundle up and head for the beach. Walking the beach is perfect any time of the year. Many thanks for taking the time for writing such a wonderful review for The Old Harbor Inn. We're looking forward to your next visit with us. We can't wait.

Kind regards and thanks,
Ray, Judy and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Beyond the convenient location, impeccably clean home and cheerful staff happily welcoming you, and beyond the comfortable bed in a cozily decorated room, and beyond the bountiful breakfast, you will find expert marketing folks who do not-so-stealth baking all day long filling the home with aromas so compelling that you will likely be lured into staying an extra night. Be forewarned!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oopboromom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

The all day baking did the trick....we really thank you for this clever and great review for The Old Harbor Inn! Wait til we get our new double oven...the baking will never end. We look forward to your return visit in 2014.

The happiest of holidays,
Ray, Judy and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A comfortable friendly Inn located in the heart of Chatham a few steps off the Main Street. It is a quiet oasis within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. The owners and staff anticipated our needs. A full and tasty breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this lovely review for The Old Harbor Inn. We really appreciate it. Come see us again when you have the opportunity.

Happiest of holidays,
Ray, Judy and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Loved the place, all the comforts of home, nice sized rooms, very comfortable, snacks and coffee always available, new exercise room, many rooms with fireplace, excellent breakfast, walk to town. Judy and Ray are wonderful. Coming back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks for your great comments and taking the time to write them! "Coming back soon" is high praise and we certainly look forward to your next visit. Wishing you and yours the happiest of holidays.

Kind regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We arrived around noon time not expecting to get to our room, however, our room was ready. After showing us around the dining area, explaining about the coffee area and never ending treats. showing us the beautiful living room with fireplace (which became a favorite spot of mine), Ray took us to our room. We were very happy. The room was lovely, the bed perfect; Couldn't have asked for a better place. If we needed something, they were more than willing to help. They had a map of the area and suggested restaurants and good places to walk and drive to. Perfect place for our weekend getaway. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review for The Old Harbor Inn. We really enjoy showing our guests all the great places for visit while in Chatham and Cape Cod. Winter, Spring Summer and Fall, Chatham has it all. Come see us again!

Happiest of holidays,
Ray, Tanya and Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

What a weekend. The owners are wonderful and care about your comfort. The food was wonderful as were the rooms. Thanks so much for a memorable weekend. From start to finish, we felt we were part of the family. We desired to change our room to a larger one. With out asking, they upgraded us the next day and did not charge any extra money. We were stunned and delighted. If your in Chatham MA, make this Bed and Breakfast your lodging of choice. You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We're so please we helped make your weekend amazing. Thanks for the wonderful praise and great review of The Old Harbor Inn. Ray, Tanya and I hope you will get to plan a visit again in the not too distant future.

Sincere thanks,
Ray, Tanya and Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.3 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Harbor Inn

Address: 22 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range: £160 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Harbor Inn is ideally located just steps from the center of the historic seaside village of Chatham. Designer appointed rooms with king and queen beds are just the start of a luxurious experience.The most extensive renovations ever were completed in the spring of 2014, making the inn a truly outstanding property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel Chatham
The Old Harbor Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing