We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night with Friends”
Review of The Old Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, RI
2 reviews
“First Night with Friends”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed at dozens of B&Bs throughout Europe and the continental United States over the past 40 years, and no one comes close to the gracious hospitality of Ray and Judy Braz at the Old Harbor Inn. We are always greeted with a hug and a smile and are treated like family. They are constantly updating and improving an already superior inn--the rooms are luxurious and clean, and the Inn's location--1/2 block from the center of this marvelous seaside village is extremely convenient. Breakfasts are nothing short of spectacular. We can't imagine enjoying Chatham's First Night celebration without a stay at the Old Harbor Inn!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
We can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for The Old Harbor Inn. It is always our great pleasure to have you with us. We're looking forward to having you with us again in the not too distant future and showing you all the renovations at the Inn.

Many thanks and warm regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    26
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
596
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I took a long trip around The US last October partially visiting family, partially just enjoying the autumn views of Massachusetts. We came to The Old Harbor Inn towards the end of our long and rather tiring trip and by that time we had had all kind of experiences, some of them being very good and other not very impressive but even the better hotels we stayed at did not provide that cosy homelike atmosphere which we found at this lovely B&B. From the moment we stepped in we felt welcome and taken care of and were immediately offered some tea and home bakes. In fact the smell of home bakery accompanied us throughout our stay there and there were always at least 3 varieties of homer made bakery available. Both owners Judy and Ray were extremely friendly and very helpful in finding whatever we were looking for: restaurants, galleries or things to do. The rooms were clean and tidy and everything looked newly refurbished and tastefully decorated. It was such a welcome break for us because by the end of the third week of moving from place to place you really want to be able to relax and rest for which purpose "The Old Harbor Inn" was a perfect place. I would highly recommend it to anybody who wants to feel at home being away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusudana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for writing this review for The Old Harbor Inn. We purchased several new recipe books and can't wait to start trying all the new recipes we found! Hopefully, we'll be creating new, wonderful smells. Please come visit us again when you have the opportunity. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I have traveled the world staying at resorts, hotels, inns, and B&Bs from basic to opulent - and everything in between. Never did we expect to find this hidden gem so close to home. No words can describe what we discovered quite by chance.

We were looking for a place to spend New Year's Eve and set our sights on charming Chatham, Massachusetts. As fate would have it, my first choice of a B&B fell through and I was lucky enough to book the last room at the Old Harbor Inn. We did not realize how lucky we were!

From the moment we walked in the door, we felt as though we stumbled upon a festive family reunion. In a way, we had! All of the other inn guests have been returning to the Old Harbor Inn to celebrate New Year's Eve for years - most for over a decade - a few for over twenty years! Even though we were "newbies", we were given a warm welcome. Soon we were swapping stories and sharing laughs.

This beautiful, well-decorated, comfortable inn filled with friendly people would certainly have been enough to keep my husband and I smiling - but there was more. Our package not only included our two-night stay and delicious breakfasts - two homemade dinners were served as well. The inn also provided FIRST NIGHT buttons in our welcome bag. Tasty snacks and a wide range of drinks were always available. The smell of freshly baked goods drifted from the open kitchen to the common rooms.

Inn keepers Ray and Judy - and their devoted assistant, Tanya - are amazing! Kind, friendly, and willing to do anything to make your stay memorable.

The location of the inn is perfect for FIRST NIGHT - or anytime! You are a short stroll from the picturesque downtown - or a longer walk to the beach and the lighthouse.

We have already reserved our three-night stay at the Old Harbor Inn for New Years 2014! We so look forward to returning!

Do not pass up an opportunity to stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oyster Harbor Room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAuLATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
You guys are the bomb! Thanks so much for writing this wonderful review. Ray, Tanya and I are so happy you found us and are looking forward to having you with us next New Years. Don't forget that Oyster Pond will have a new look when you return. Hopefully you will plan a visit during the year to check out all the work we've done over the winter.

With warm regards and thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were very happy that we were close to town which had such cute little shops. Not just a few but a lot. The Inn was so comfortable. Our room was great and the aroma of baked goods added to the cozy homey feeling. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was great. I can't say enough wonderful things about our visit. Ray and Judy were so pleasant to be around. When we had to leave I felt I had truly relaxed and can't wait for our next visit. We also enjoyed walking the beach which was so beautiful. This was the end of December so was worried about it being cold but we bundled up and it was great and when got back to the Inn a nice fire place in the living room area welcomed us.

Room Tip: room in front of house on first floor bright and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Your absolutely right, just bundle up and head for the beach. Walking the beach is perfect any time of the year. Many thanks for taking the time for writing such a wonderful review for The Old Harbor Inn. We're looking forward to your next visit with us. We can't wait.

Kind regards and thanks,
Ray, Judy and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goffstown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Beyond the convenient location, impeccably clean home and cheerful staff happily welcoming you, and beyond the comfortable bed in a cozily decorated room, and beyond the bountiful breakfast, you will find expert marketing folks who do not-so-stealth baking all day long filling the home with aromas so compelling that you will likely be lured into staying an extra night. Be forewarned!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oopboromom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
The all day baking did the trick....we really thank you for this clever and great review for The Old Harbor Inn! Wait til we get our new double oven...the baking will never end. We look forward to your return visit in 2014.

The happiest of holidays,
Ray, Judy and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A comfortable friendly Inn located in the heart of Chatham a few steps off the Main Street. It is a quiet oasis within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. The owners and staff anticipated our needs. A full and tasty breakfast is included.

Green Features: The Inn has added various environmentally friendly aspects including solar panels.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this lovely review for The Old Harbor Inn. We really appreciate it. Come see us again when you have the opportunity.

Happiest of holidays,
Ray, Judy and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Loved the place, all the comforts of home, nice sized rooms, very comfortable, snacks and coffee always available, new exercise room, many rooms with fireplace, excellent breakfast, walk to town. Judy and Ray are wonderful. Coming back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for your great comments and taking the time to write them! "Coming back soon" is high praise and we certainly look forward to your next visit. Wishing you and yours the happiest of holidays.

Kind regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Captain's House Inn
Captain's House Inn
#4 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Harbor Inn

Property: The Old Harbor Inn
Address: 22 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Harbor Inn is ideally located just steps from the center of the historic seaside village of Chatham. Designer appointed rooms with king and queen beds are just the start of a luxurious experience.The most extensive renovations ever were completed in the spring of 2014, making the inn a truly outstanding property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel Chatham
The Old Harbor Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing