We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay.”
Review of The Old Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here in October 2013. Fantastic inn in a beautiful town. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. Snacks were provided in the room and there was a fridge in the room filled with complementary soft drinks. The communal rooms were beautiful and comfortable. There were hot drinks, cakes and snacks available all day and the breakfast was delicious. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful with lots of information about things to do and see in Cape Cod. Chatham is a lovely place with many good restaurants and shops. We highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Race626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

It was so kind of you to write a very nice review for The Old Harbor Inn. Thank you for taking the time to do so. We hope you'll plan a return visit in the coming year. All the best.

With kind regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed in May 2013 but this has been my first opportunity for an online review. The stay was part of an extended visit to USA with my wife to visit family and get in some tourism at same time. We both loved the Inn, the proprietors and staff did so much to make us welcome and comfortable. Breakfasts were wonderful, the smell of fresh baking in the air, the wide selection of food and great presentation. Nothing was too much trouble and so much information given to maximise the enjoyment of our trip to Chatham and Cape Cod. We may not have the opportunity to visit CC again but if we do then the Old Harbour Inn is where you will find us. A truly enjoyable experience. We stayed in the Yarmouth room which boasts a view to the front garden, a side view to the church [which had a pleasing ring of bells] and for good measure a view over the back garden from behind the window blind in the spacious bathroom. We have already passed the details to family in USA and would recommend this Inn without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voidzboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Perhaps one day you will get to visit again, but in the meantime, thank you for recommending us to your friends. All the best.

With warm regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Old Harbor Inn, and we already have reservations for next year. Everything about the inn is wonderful. Ray and Judy are like family - so nice to come back at the end of the day and talk about what we did and get ideas for the next day. The rooms are spotless and breakfast is great. Can't think of anything remotely negative to say. If you are planning a trip to Cape Cod, this is the place to stay. And the location is perfect also - it's right about in the middle of the Cape, so nothing is more than an hour in either direction. Ray and Judy will help you plan your visit and make reservations for you. They are the best innkeepers of the best B&B we've stayed in over the last 4 years.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geneva18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

We feel really special to be your favorite B&B! Thanks for taking the time to write this fabulous review. It helps us to continually strive to be the best that we can be. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Keep well and again many thanks.

Kind regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed at dozens of B&Bs throughout Europe and the continental United States over the past 40 years, and no one comes close to the gracious hospitality of Ray and Judy Braz at the Old Harbor Inn. We are always greeted with a hug and a smile and are treated like family. They are constantly updating and improving an already superior inn--the rooms are luxurious and clean, and the Inn's location--1/2 block from the center of this marvelous seaside village is extremely convenient. Breakfasts are nothing short of spectacular. We can't imagine enjoying Chatham's First Night celebration without a stay at the Old Harbor Inn!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

We can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for The Old Harbor Inn. It is always our great pleasure to have you with us. We're looking forward to having you with us again in the not too distant future and showing you all the renovations at the Inn.

Many thanks and warm regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I took a long trip around The US last October partially visiting family, partially just enjoying the autumn views of Massachusetts. We came to The Old Harbor Inn towards the end of our long and rather tiring trip and by that time we had had all kind of experiences, some of them being very good and other not very impressive but even the better hotels we stayed at did not provide that cosy homelike atmosphere which we found at this lovely B&B. From the moment we stepped in we felt welcome and taken care of and were immediately offered some tea and home bakes. In fact the smell of home bakery accompanied us throughout our stay there and there were always at least 3 varieties of homer made bakery available. Both owners Judy and Ray were extremely friendly and very helpful in finding whatever we were looking for: restaurants, galleries or things to do. The rooms were clean and tidy and everything looked newly refurbished and tastefully decorated. It was such a welcome break for us because by the end of the third week of moving from place to place you really want to be able to relax and rest for which purpose "The Old Harbor Inn" was a perfect place. I would highly recommend it to anybody who wants to feel at home being away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusudana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for writing this review for The Old Harbor Inn. We purchased several new recipe books and can't wait to start trying all the new recipes we found! Hopefully, we'll be creating new, wonderful smells. Please come visit us again when you have the opportunity. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I have traveled the world staying at resorts, hotels, inns, and B&Bs from basic to opulent - and everything in between. Never did we expect to find this hidden gem so close to home. No words can describe what we discovered quite by chance.

We were looking for a place to spend New Year's Eve and set our sights on charming Chatham, Massachusetts. As fate would have it, my first choice of a B&B fell through and I was lucky enough to book the last room at the Old Harbor Inn. We did not realize how lucky we were!

From the moment we walked in the door, we felt as though we stumbled upon a festive family reunion. In a way, we had! All of the other inn guests have been returning to the Old Harbor Inn to celebrate New Year's Eve for years - most for over a decade - a few for over twenty years! Even though we were "newbies", we were given a warm welcome. Soon we were swapping stories and sharing laughs.

This beautiful, well-decorated, comfortable inn filled with friendly people would certainly have been enough to keep my husband and I smiling - but there was more. Our package not only included our two-night stay and delicious breakfasts - two homemade dinners were served as well. The inn also provided FIRST NIGHT buttons in our welcome bag. Tasty snacks and a wide range of drinks were always available. The smell of freshly baked goods drifted from the open kitchen to the common rooms.

Inn keepers Ray and Judy - and their devoted assistant, Tanya - are amazing! Kind, friendly, and willing to do anything to make your stay memorable.

The location of the inn is perfect for FIRST NIGHT - or anytime! You are a short stroll from the picturesque downtown - or a longer walk to the beach and the lighthouse.

We have already reserved our three-night stay at the Old Harbor Inn for New Years 2014! We so look forward to returning!

Do not pass up an opportunity to stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oyster Harbor Room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEAuLATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

You guys are the bomb! Thanks so much for writing this wonderful review. Ray, Tanya and I are so happy you found us and are looking forward to having you with us next New Years. Don't forget that Oyster Pond will have a new look when you return. Hopefully you will plan a visit during the year to check out all the work we've done over the winter.

With warm regards and thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were very happy that we were close to town which had such cute little shops. Not just a few but a lot. The Inn was so comfortable. Our room was great and the aroma of baked goods added to the cozy homey feeling. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was great. I can't say enough wonderful things about our visit. Ray and Judy were so pleasant to be around. When we had to leave I felt I had truly relaxed and can't wait for our next visit. We also enjoyed walking the beach which was so beautiful. This was the end of December so was worried about it being cold but we bundled up and it was great and when got back to the Inn a nice fire place in the living room area welcomed us.

Room Tip: room in front of house on first floor bright and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Your absolutely right, just bundle up and head for the beach. Walking the beach is perfect any time of the year. Many thanks for taking the time for writing such a wonderful review for The Old Harbor Inn. We're looking forward to your next visit with us. We can't wait.

Kind regards and thanks,
Ray, Judy and Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.5 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.3 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
2.4 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Harbor Inn

Address: 22 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range: £138 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Harbor Inn is ideally located just steps from the center of the historic seaside village of Chatham. Designer appointed rooms with king and queen beds are just the start of a luxurious experience.The most extensive renovations ever were completed in the spring of 2014, making the inn a truly outstanding property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel Chatham
The Old Harbor Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing