We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of Celestino's Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Celestino's Cafe
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Celestino's Cafe & Bakery in Chatham, MA is Cape Cod's newest French Bistro serving fine European cuisine for breakfast, lunch, & dinner. Opened by Theresa Jordan, Juan Paredes, & Dylan Jordan in May of 2009, Celestino's offers a French menu using only the freshest and finest ingredients prepared by chefs de cuisine Juan & Dylan. We also offer a wonderful selection of award winning wines, beers, and liqueurs. Diners can also enjoy fabulous house made cheesecakes, delicious cupcakes, and fine pastries & desserts.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Delicious omlettes, Coffee and Juice. Greek Yogurt, fresh Fruit and Croissants. Grabbed a table by the window - good for watching the town.
Wish we had gone back for dinner. Friendly staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Delphine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denman Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very nice restaurant right on the main street.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This restaurant was very nice, good service, good food, and nice surroundings. Their three coarse meal seem like a good deal but we choose to eat just a main coarse.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cgdayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Just what you would expect.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Celestine's is a French style bistro in Cape Cod and the food and service is just what you would expect from a French style bistro in Cape Cod - bad.
I ordered a lobster a l'armoricaine, what I got didn't look as any L a l'a that I have ever met. It did contain two chunks of lobster meat, but they were drowning in so much other stuff with strong tastes and wrong textures (like Bacon?! Risotto ?! Mushrooms!?) that it was very difficult to enjoy them. My wife ordered a Bouillabaisse which she claimed was quite tasty - but I can assure you that nobody in Marseille would have recognized it. The list of deserts sounded very unFrench to us so we asked for two espressos and were told that "actually the espresso machine is broken". So we had " normal coffee" (what is normal about brown colored dishwasher water?). Next evening we had fast food. It cost one sixth and was much tastier.

Helpful?
2 Thank Toni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struan, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Prices poor otherwise”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This restaurant is poor by comparison to it's neighbours in Chatham two Crepe Lobster appitisers served on cold plates and not worthy of $18 per portion --- Entree's ok ish but again nothing outstanding. Both would have loved an Expresso but machine u/s got to live with that I guess. Then along comes the check $153 (less wine $33) my wife did not have a full Entree but a Crab cake salad so how come so much ? a 20% service charge has been added which if mentioned on the menu is in very small print. We both know the form in American restaurants and would under normal circumstances be liberal tippers however both service and food were not that great. There is a vast array of restaurants in Chatham most of which from personnel experience are wonderful do not waste your holiday cash on this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A nice fusion food in the hear of Chatham”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We liked the risotto with lobsters and the pan grilled tuna fish - great service and a little French touch

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank paris_traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Celestino's Cafe also viewed

 
North Chatham, Chatham
South Chatham, Chatham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing