We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Article of clothing never retrieved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Article of clothing never retrieved”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I have stayed here before and been pleased but the last time i stayed here I realized about a half hour after I left that I had left a very nice pair of slacks in my room. The article of clothing was never turned in by the help involved in room service. The desk reseptionist(one of them) was understanding and said they had a strict policy regarding turning in belongings left behind. After dining out I returned for another try and the last 2 people I spoke with basically inferred I may have left them in my car and to look in my car again! Check your room before you leave and try not to check out in a hurry to make the deadline checkout time. It's not worth it.

Room Tip: Nice rooms but check your room thoroughly before you take off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muff2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    74
    29
    14
    15
See reviews for
52
123
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My wife and I recently enjoyed a two night stay at this beautiful inn. We are so glad we chose the Wayside Inn as everything was just wonderful. The lovely young woman at check in was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was very pleasant and spotless. We tried dinner one night at their restaurant and enjoyed it thoroughly. For convenience it doesn't seem like there could be a better location in Chatham. The shops in the area are great fun to browse through and it was a nice walk down to the lighthouse. This was our first trip to Chatham but it won't be our last. Chatham and the Wayside Inn have become a new favorite destination.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vtmtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Over priced rooms. Staff at the hotel were unfriendly and knew little about what Chatham had to offer. Clearly they feel that since they are located in town, in a good location, that they do not need to provide any meaningful service.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RosieSlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Nothing was "wrong" with this hotel or its staff, however we came away from the experience not feeling like it was money well-spent. So I would have to say that the thing that was wrong was the cost. I know that the decent hotels on Cape Cod have to make their money in a short season and that one should expect to pay a premium for a good room on the Cape in the summer. In this case it was a $300 per night room, with a $5 per night "energy surcharge". At check in I was not made to feel especially welcome. It was a large, clean room with a king bed. There was no desk or place to sit and work or watch TV without re-arranging the two chairs. There was little attention to detail or to making us feel like our business was appreciated. Breakfast is not included. My review s that the Wayside is a good $150 a night hotel but a so-so $300 a night hotel. Next time I'd find a clean motel or make the leap to the Chatham Bars.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We rolled into Chatham and looked at another hotel a bit further from town - they hadn't opened for the season. We called and they were very polite and happy to help. Not wanting to spend $300 for one night, I expressed my concern. They gave me the options and we got a great room.

Staff was very polite, Bartender funny, Appetizers and Breakfast (however breakfast was free so no real complaints) - not so great, but given the location it easy to find other options. We will definitely visit Chatham again and make sure we check in at the Wayside.

Room Tip: Ask for the range of availablility
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edgewater5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I stayed at the Chatham Wayside Inn for one night when I was in town on business. The location of the inn is great - right on Main St. Check-in was fast but not particularly warm. I stayed in a basic queen room (#208). It had floral decor, quaint furniture (2 armchairs, a TV cabinet, and a small dresser. There was no desk and little space to put things. The bathroom was small but clean.
The continental breakfast was decent, offering bagels, toast, pastries, muffins, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal bars, coffee/tea, and juices.
Overall, a clean, quiet place in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsktsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night. We thought we had booked a room at a charming Cape Cod inn. Wrong. Our room was the antithesis of charm. The restaurant was closed as was the bar. We should have been informed of that fact when we initially booked months in advance. We might as well have stayed in a motel for all of the "personal service" we received. We won't be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0rgiL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
685 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
124 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatham Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatham Wayside Inn

Property: The Chatham Wayside Inn
Address: 512 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-2239
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#6 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chatham Wayside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the quaint seaside village of Chatham, Cape Cod, the Chatham Wayside Inn offers stylish accommodations, comfortable dining and outstanding service creating the perfect Cape Cod experience year-round. Chatham's strolling Main Street, an exclusive mile of boutique shops, art galleries, and restaurants, is just steps from your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and TravelClick so you can book your The Chatham Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatham Wayside Hotel Chatham
Chatham Wayside Inn
The Chatham Wayside Inn Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing