We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chatham Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This place is right in the heart of Chatham negating the need for a car. Pleasant and and exceptionally clean. Restaurant is very nice with a great continental breakfast.

Room Tip: There are separate buildings and if you don't want to walk outside to get to the dining room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aineb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    72
    29
    13
    14
See reviews for
50
121
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I called a month in advance to make a reservation for a trip over spring break. They had plenty of options available. I booked the room and asked about the cancellation policy. I was told that if I cancelled 14 days in advance there would only be a $10 credit card fee; within 14 days I would be charged $75 and a no show you, obviously pays the full charge. No problem. I received my email confirmation and checked to make sure the date and room rate were correct. I made a HUGE mistake in not reading the fine print of the cancellation policy because the person gave me incorrect information. Our plans changed and I did have to cancel 15 days in advance. I was told that I would be charged $75. When I explained my conversation with the reservation person (I booked directly with the Inn) the woman said, "There is no such thing as a $10 fee. If you read your email confirmation you will see our policy clearly states that any cancellation results in a $75 fee." There was no negotiating....she was quite rude. She also made the comment, "Even if you make a reservation and cancel 5 minutes later, you would have to pay $75!" That's it, period. I told her that I would not be calling the Inn again.....she could not have cared less. My advice is to make sure your plans are definite because there are no options if they change. I know that they will not be getting another dime from me.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Visited the Wayside Inn late last summer. Was nice, but very stuffy! The hotel staff didn't seem to go out of their way to show you where things were - had to guess on where the pool was and what the strict "beach" vs. "pool" towel rule was. Had to find the pool bathrooms on our own (a.k.a. the directions from the front desk were very vague). Went to dinner at the restaurant on their premises one night. Were seated right away but then waited about an hour and a half (no joke) for our entrees. My daughter actually cried b/c she was so hungry. Other tables were seated, given their meals and left in the time we waited. Not much of an apology about that either. I would say that it may be a nicer place to stay without kids b/c it wasn't very family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CEO5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I wouldn't say that the wayside is a bad hotel, it is just a letdown. The other hotels in the area have so much more character and reflect the charm of Chatham. The rooms at the wayside could be in any lower end Hilton in the US. Our room smelled bad and was adequate but not worth the price we paid. Stay at the Cranberry inn down the street for a true Chatham experience.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oscar503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland Center, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Chatham Wayside Inn several times: This year they went out of their way to be pleasant and cordial: They were very successful. Great surprise Christmas gift on the morning of 12/25: Hot breakfast ( no extra charge) and a wonderful box lunch ( no extra charge) for 12/25/2011. The staff were great, very polite and ready to help in any way possible.The room was warm with a very comfortable Bed: The bathroom was well equipped and the shower was hot with lots of water. Crisp towels and bathrobes.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jebcolpitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Over the years, we have stayed at this hotel, as well as its sister hotel, The Bradford Inn, countless times. It would be fair to say we were "regulars", We put up with the uncomfortable beds, and paper-thin walls because the charm of Chatham made it worthwhile. This past week, while driving from our home to the Cape, we received an emergency call to return home due to family illness. As anyone who has elderly parents can attest, things can change on a moments notice. We pulled over, called the hotel, and explained our dilemma. We had paid for three nights. Of course we knew the first night was gone as it would be impossible for them to fill our room at this late hour. However, we thought it would be perfectly resonable to receive a voucher to return for the other two nights. Any time of year would have been fine with us. Instead of being the least bit understanding, especially with repeat customers, we were greeted with a stern rebuke of "No Exceptions Can Be Made". The manager on the phone, Sheila, obviously well versed in the vernacular of a Dale Carnegie instructor, droned on about hotel policy and the costs of doing business. We were treated with callous disregard to our situation. My advise to anyone going to either one of these hotels is make your plans at the very last minute of your intended arrival. The cancellation policy is basically this: No refunds, no store credit, no exceptions. From now on, I will be doing my business with the Chatham Bars Inn.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We had a lovely room in the main house with a small private balcony which had the morning sun. The room was clean and smart with lots of space. The staff were helpful and friendly. The lacation is ideal with a large car park in the centre of the village.
In the morning there was a complimentary hot breakfast.
We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and were a little disappointed in the service. The food was average.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.3 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Captain's House Inn
Captain's House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatham Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatham Wayside Inn

Property: The Chatham Wayside Inn
Address: 512 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-2239
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chatham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chatham Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the quaint seaside village of Chatham, Cape Cod, the Chatham Wayside Inn offers stylish accommodations, comfortable dining and outstanding service creating the perfect Cape Cod experience year-round. Chatham's strolling Main Street, an exclusive mile of boutique shops, art galleries, and restaurants, is just steps from your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and TravelClick so you can book your The Chatham Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatham Wayside Hotel Chatham
Chatham Wayside Inn
The Chatham Wayside Inn Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing