We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Tuscaloosa Al
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 26 July 2008

I stayed at the Wayside Inn on a 4 day business trip and could not have been more pleased. On two past visits to Chatham I stayed at the Chatham Bars Inn, which is also a great place, but the location of the Wayside can not be beat. I was traveling with two colleagues and we were so weary each evening when we arrived back we visited the bar in the hotel each night where they were friendly to us slow talking Southerners and the drinks were excellent as well . We also dined in the restaurant 3 nights and it was great as well, enough varied items on the menu to do repeat visits. The staff was friendly in the inn as well as the restaurant...did not see any of the bad ones mentioned in some other reviews. This place is also a bargain dollar wise..my room was $335 a nite as opposed to paying over $900 for the room I usually stay in at Chatham Bars Inn. Overall a great experience!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and great location
  • Disliked — Have no complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CettieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    73
    29
    14
    15
See reviews for
51
122
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2008

After a fabulous stay at the Chatham wayside Inn I wanted to write this review to encourage any one visiting this town to stay at the wayside. from the moment we arrived we were greeted by an exceptioanlly friendly and knowledgable staff. Our room was beautifully decorated, spacious and even had a patio outside and a great view of the park. we had dined at the Wild Goose" and enjoyed every meal we had there! this hotel is located right on Main Street and is convienent to everything. We cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank capesummer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

After the very mixed reviews we were beginning to think a three night stay at this inn would be a disappointment. On arrival in Chatham however, we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the staff were and how lovely our room was. They had great facilities including a lovely pool with towels provided and access to a DVD library. The restaurant served tasty and good value dishes and staff were very polite. We would definitely return!

  • Liked — Nice room!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We booked a room for a Memorial Day weekend wedding. It cost $135 for one night and $185 for the Saturday night of our stay. The room was reserved six months in advance, and of course charged to our credit card at that time.
Arriving, we found our assigned room (now known as the infamous Room #209) to be modest but quite adequate. The weather was mild so both windows were opened (in fact, the hotel air conditioning was not yet on). This created a problem when the restaurant directly below began to run its very loud exhaust fan, which vented out just outside our window. Not just loud, but smelly - old grease, fried food odors, etc., etc. until late at night, when, after a few quiet hours, it started up again at 6:15 am. The morning smells featured a good dose of burnt toast.
We complained and rather than even commiserating, the desk clerk told my husband that "what did we expect? we had the cheapest room in the hotel". The hotel was nominally full, but she did offer to find a "Premium room", at a very much higher price.
We declined the gracious offer, stuck out the two nights, and escaped as early as possible on the second morning.
We also wrote to the Wayside Inn outlining our dissatisfaction, but of course have never heard anything from them.
I most decidedly do NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — attitude of front desk staff; renting a sub-standard room at above-average price;
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cdraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

We have just returned from a three week trip around Cape Cod, and the Chatham Wayside was our second stop on our tour. We were a little concerned before we left the u.k. to read the comments about this hotel. There was no need to worry at all, this was a little Gem. Set on the main Street in Chatham a beautiful little town, the hotel was much more than I had expected. Check in was quick and efficient, the room was lovely, of good size and immaculately presented. We had the surprise that we could go down from 7.00am in the morning to reception and there was set out complimentary tea and coffee, together with a follow-on complimentary breakfast, which we had not expected. Our grateful thanks go to Mark one of the receptionists, he couldn't do enough for us, any questions we had he answered, and was always ready to print off information and Maps from the internet whenever we needed them, he was great. Thanks Mark!

Christine and David Poxon - Nottingham

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — breakfast room needs to be larger
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

We stayed at the Chatham Wayside Inn for the last four days of a three week vacation in New England. It did not compare favourably with the other hotels we stayed at during our visit to the USA. On the plus side the staff were very helpful, especially the desk staff, the room was clean and tidy, and unlike some hotel rooms there was plenty of storage space. However, the bed in the room we stayed in had a very poor quality (and uncomfortable) mattress and an uneccesary bed post which made it difficult to view the TV from one side of the bed. The room was also quite noisy as it faced onto the street and we had to have the windows open because the air conditioning could not be turned to below 70 degrees Fahrenheit. Fortunately this meant we were never late for breakfast!

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank docbrownBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

Some previous reviewers must live in a very strange world - and maybe that is a good thing. The Wayside at Chatham was a haven in a storm. Previous hotels/ motels on our 3 week trip had been a mixed bunch, some being down right dirty and others OK ( and we had not chosen on price). We had 4 faultless nights at Wayside at $120 a night with staff charming, attentive, bright and cheery. OK - so there was'nt a silly small fridge with expensive booze in the room but there was a great big comfortable bed, charming furniture, an external veranda, clean modern bathroom and a very relaxing atmosphere.The hotel has been refurbished well, is in the centre of town, has good car parking, free computer etc etc . Food both at AM and PM was great, friendly and smiley staff and exceptional value. If you must go to the most delightful Cape Cod village at the height of the season then you must expect both lots of people and street cleaners in the morning ( my club in Piccadilly/St James in London is likewise afflicted). Otherwize you would not have anything to complain about - and as regards the bar/pub across the road 'Squires' it is open until 23.59 each day, has a great client base who appreciate life, good beers and Brits. Get a life - go to Chatham and enjoy the Wayside

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MilitaryMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
642 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
90 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
0.3 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatham Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatham Wayside Inn

Property: The Chatham Wayside Inn
Address: 512 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-2239
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#6 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chatham Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the quaint seaside village of Chatham, Cape Cod, the Chatham Wayside Inn offers stylish accommodations, comfortable dining and outstanding service creating the perfect Cape Cod experience year-round. Chatham's strolling Main Street, an exclusive mile of boutique shops, art galleries, and restaurants, is just steps from your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chatham Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatham Wayside Hotel Chatham
Chatham Wayside Inn
The Chatham Wayside Inn Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing