We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I read Aimee Leigh's review 1st!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Was going to book online reservation but decided to call to ask a few questions first. I was put on hold for at least 10 minutes so hung up and tried to make the online reservation for the room I was holding. No longer available. Booked next room down and received confirmation email at 1:15am, almost 12 hours after booking. Went to call the next morning to cancel and was hit with the $75 charge for room I held for less than 8 hours. Yes, I see as I read the policy after the fact that it is in there; however, I had never seen such a steep charge this far out from the actual dates. Called to asked for relief and mentioning was on hold for 10 minutes with no return and fell on deaf ears. Definitely left horrible taste.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for The Chatham Wayside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I chose this inn after a lot of research and comments on the net. It was awesome on every level. The room was spotless and the bed /pillows were so comfortable and fresh. The staff was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. While we didn't plan to eat all our meals at the restaurant, we enjoyed the four nights we ate there. The bartender Bobby was wonderful. He knew his way around the Cape and guided us expertly. He single-handedly made each evening so delightful- what an asset he is to the inn! This is my destination place going forward when I visit the Cape. They get five stars in my book- can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I trusted the person who took my reservation. The room was exactly as she described-wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very friendly and accomading staff. Had a charming room in the main building. Located right in the heart of town. Close to everything you love about the cape. Dining was also a very pleasant experience. This was my third stay spread over several years and it just keeps getting better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have been to Chatham many times and have always wanted to try the Wayside Inn but for whatever reason have ended up elsewhere( Bradford, Chatham Bars Inn, Cranberry, etc.) in the past.

I don't want this to sound like a negative review because that's not the intent. It's just there were a couple of issues to note. My sense is that we just had a bit of bad luck more than anything else.

I booked a special they were running that included room, continental breakfast, dinner and a movie. It took three phone calls to finally make the reservation, as I kept getting different prices from different people. I finally booked an upgraded suite that included a fireplace and was very specific about getting the fireplace. Upon checking in we were told we were given an upgrade to an even more spacious suite. The suite was great with a king bed, spacious bathroom and a covered porch that looked out at where the bandstand is. However, the suite came without a fireplace. I spoke to the person at the desk and she was very apologetic but indicated there was nothing she could do about it. She did give us a bottle of wine and a ticket for a couple of drinks in the bar that helped make up for it, however. So for the most part all was forgiven.

The Wayside Inn is in a perfect location in downtown Chatham that made walking everywhere very easy. They have a great bar in the Wild Goose and we had drinks there before dinner. We had dinner in the restaurant which was ok, although there are better places to eat in town.

Overall it was a very nice stay and I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it, despite the glitches.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Jose_Bueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary. We asked for an upgrade and were moved to a gorgeous room with a king size bed and beautiful fireplace. Mark went out of his way to make sure we had a special weekend. We spent some time at the Goose (the Inn's in-house restaurant), specifically at the bar. Bobby and Hopeton were friendly and made us feel like we were regulars. The Inn is a special place. They go out of their way to make you feel like you're the most important guest they have staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Greg2920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This Inn and I specify INN is charming and well appointed. This is not a hotel so there is no room service or other amenities you expect in a hotel. People need to remember the difference between Inn and Hotel! It is lovely inside and the staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. There is a continental breakfast downstairs and the Wild Goose which is attached also will do "to go" orders for Inn guests. They just don't deliver to your room as it is a separate entity. It was the perfect location for the Christmas Stroll and tree lighting in Chatham. It is on Main Street, and literally in the heart of Chatham walking distance almost everything!

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others. Call and ask them about it when booking!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent location for our annual holiday stroll. You can spend some money in their bar and restaurant but there is always Squires Pub across the street if you wanted to have other choices. Rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
8.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatham Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatham Wayside Inn

Address: 512 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-2239
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#6 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range: £152 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chatham Wayside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the quaint seaside village of Chatham, Cape Cod, the Chatham Wayside Inn offers stylish accommodations, comfortable dining and outstanding service creating the perfect Cape Cod experience year-round. Chatham's strolling Main Street, an exclusive mile of boutique shops, art galleries, and restaurants, is just steps from your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chatham Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatham Wayside Hotel Chatham
Chatham Wayside Inn
The Chatham Wayside Inn Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing