We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, history, excellent fare!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

...and the location is central to the town shopping and galleries. The restaurant is excellent and our room was light & airy. Our room had a door to open for a fresh air view out toward a golf course.
It was light and comfortable.

Room Tip: We were in an annex building, but it was a short walk to the main building for the dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Thank you Tauck Tour for a marvelous 2 night stay at Chatham Wayside Inn. I love staying where you can walk out the door and be in the shopping and dining area.Highend shopping and Cape Cod type stores were located on Main Street. We had a buffet breakfast with our tour which included hot items, pastries and fruit. Our room was in another building on the parking lot but beautiful gardens outside our window and porch.Room was large with 2 beds and very clean. The Golden Goose Tavern is located next to lobby.They have a great menu and we especially enjoyed the desserts.

Room Tip: We were on bottom level in back building with fitness room nearby.Large space with 2 windows looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbiegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

They have an awful policy and take your money months before you stay there.
Plus they charge a cancellation fee for each room even if you give notice beyond a month.
No hotel does that. Tried to contact the manager but ignores any correspondence.

Most quality hotels provide a two week cancellation policy. Hoping that this saves some else heart ache. Very disappointed with the way the front desk handled this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank 809Winston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for extended weekend to attend a wedding, and were delighted to find it so central to all the places and events we needed to get to. Loved the location for getting out to walk about town. Found our room to be very cozy, especially on a rainy night, with an unusually comfortable bed. The room was on the small side, but very cheerful and bright during the day. The bathroom was also tiny, and a little dated on the decorating side, but very clean. Nice and quiet at night even though located right in the center of town.

Ate at the restaurant on the first floor only once, but found it welcoming to us late in the evening after traveling from the West Coast. Enjoyed one of the best bowls of clam chowder I've ever had!

The Wayside is a good choice for your visit to Chatham and the Cape if you're looking for charm, comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

So glad we chose this hotel on a one-night stay in Chatham. The hotel is right in the heart of the charming town center. We strolled the shopping area, and took a drive around the picturesque town. The front desk staff were just delightful. Our room was huge and immaculate, with wonderful bedding. We had dinner at the Wild Goose Tavern on the premises, and enjoyed that as well. We had a complimentary breakfast in the morning, which was really pleasant. All in all, this was a gracious, quiet and restful stay.

Room Tip: This is not a tall building, but we did enjoy being on the top floor with a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notlostyet36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Was going to book online reservation but decided to call to ask a few questions first. I was put on hold for at least 10 minutes so hung up and tried to make the online reservation for the room I was holding. No longer available. Booked next room down and received confirmation email at 1:15am, almost 12 hours after booking. Went to call the next morning to cancel and was hit with the $75 charge for room I held for less than 8 hours. Yes, I see as I read the policy after the fact that it is in there; however, I had never seen such a steep charge this far out from the actual dates. Called to asked for relief and mentioning was on hold for 10 minutes with no return and fell on deaf ears. Definitely left horrible taste.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
12  Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I chose this inn after a lot of research and comments on the net. It was awesome on every level. The room was spotless and the bed /pillows were so comfortable and fresh. The staff was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. While we didn't plan to eat all our meals at the restaurant, we enjoyed the four nights we ate there. The bartender Bobby was wonderful. He knew his way around the Cape and guided us expertly. He single-handedly made each evening so delightful- what an asset he is to the inn! This is my destination place going forward when I visit the Cape. They get five stars in my book- can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I trusted the person who took my reservation. The room was exactly as she described-wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.3 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
149 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatham Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatham Wayside Inn

Address: 512 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-2239
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chatham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range: £131 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chatham Wayside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the quaint seaside village of Chatham, Cape Cod, the Chatham Wayside Inn offers stylish accommodations, comfortable dining and outstanding service creating the perfect Cape Cod experience year-round. Chatham's strolling Main Street, an exclusive mile of boutique shops, art galleries, and restaurants, is just steps from your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Chatham Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatham Wayside Hotel Chatham
Chatham Wayside Inn
The Chatham Wayside Inn Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing