We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This January a group stayed in the Beach Side cottage at CBI. The cottage, only one of its kind, was a private 2 bedroom house with a kitchenette and washer and dryer and living room with pull out sofa. It was a little tight for 6 people, but defiantly better than other options. The room was right on the beach which was very nice, but also a little far from the main hotel. Sharon, one of the housekeepers was one of the nicest people we met at the resort, and did an amazing job cleaning the room and providing turn down service. She was very personable and nice and did a great job. The room service food was good, but the food at the Tavern was not up to par. We also called in the late morning to make a reservation for a cup of tea, and were told that they could not take us because we did not call 24hrs in advance. A little annoying, considering all we wanted was tea and not the food. The hotel was great when our washing machine broke, they let us give housekeeping a few items to wash, free of charge. Overall, a very nice hotel and nice quality rooms. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: If you want a private house for your group, make sure you ask for the "Beachside Cottage"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycman97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortmanagercbi, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback. I was happy to read your comments on the unique comforts of our Beach side Cottage, it is the only free standing building that can sleep upwards of 8 guests in addition to its newly renovated galley kitchen area. I also look forward to letting Sharon in housekeeping know of you review, she will be thrilled as are we with your praise! I was sorry to learn that the in room washing machine malfunctioned, however it sounds housekeeping recovered for the inconvenience by offering to launder your items.

I will also share your comments regarding The Sacred Cod Tavern food and Tea policies with our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage Director, so that they too can review with their respective teams.

In all I am pleased that your overall experience with us was enjoyable. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your candid feedback.

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
mbriggs@chathambarsinn.com
508.945.6710

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My husband surprised me and booked the CBI spa suite we stayed in for our anniversary. The rooms are beautiful, the bed comfortable and we love the sauna and steam shower. Unfortunately, there was a problem with the hot water tanks in the spa building and we had no hot water. The front desk was extremely apologetic, wanted to change our room to a king delux ocean view (which I secretly wanted because I love the ocean - but since he went to so much trouble to book the same room we had before I had to take one for the team). The hotel then comped our stay which was appreciated but unnecessary as water tanks break unexpectedly all the time!! Despite the initial lack of hot water we had a fabulous time and can't wait to return! They do it right here and we love it! Thank you for helping to make the big 30 and 120 months so special!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shesfromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Spent a few days after Christmas at this first class resort, One of the most comfortable beds I have slept, Stayed in one of the cottages. Spacious room with a fireplace. Easy walk to the village that has a few nice restaurants. HD TV stations were very limited & picture quality on non HD poor

Room Tip: Only warning is the gas fireplace is not tied into the room heat, Even if you set the Thermostat at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotboy3088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I have visited Cape Cod in Oct. before but we stayed at a smaller place. I was so excited to stay at this gorgeous resort. It is gorgeous but I guess I expected too much. The room (271) was nice, but smaller than I anticipated. I've attached photos of the building we were in. We enjoyed the refrigerator and the table & chairs in our room. The views are great & the grounds are lovely. The front desk staff was polite but didn't seem really interested in me. As a Southerner, I expect a more friendly greeting & a volunteering of information about the area, the resort, etc. . After all, I am YOUR GUEST. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the serving staff was wonderful. Very attentive and informative about the area. Handicapped parking was available right by our building and we are very grateful for that convenience. I appreciate the free morning coffee in the lobby, as in the in-room cappaciano machine left much to be desired. The bathrooms and slippers are a lovely touch. The shower and bath products are wonderful. I could have taken two showers each day! Thank you. My biggest disappointment was the bar. After a cold night of out and about-we ordered some hot adult beverages. My Irish coffee was a huge disappointment. For $12.00, I should never have had to ask for whipped cream on top.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 271 and it was nice, but smaller than I expected. Handicapped parking and other p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cajuncass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This was the perfect setting for a quiet, romantic getaway. Our spa suite was the utmost in relaxation and my girlfriend and I felt truly "away" for the weekend. The turndown service was impeccable and we enjoyed great meals in the main inn. Room service was delivered promptly for breakfast each day and check in and check out were a breeze. Can't recommend this place highly enough. Quiet, upscale and caters well to high expectations.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I was very surprised about the Chatham Bars Inn. It has a very beautiful view but our room had stains on the carpet and it looked like it need to be vacuumed. Also, no indoor pool. Too bad,I was looking foreword to one.

Room Tip: Ask if it really does have a sea view. I may be just the name of the building your in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortmanagercbi, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for your brief review of Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback. I was sorry to learn that your cottage guestroom’s carpet showed signs of staining or lack of cleanliness from a housekeeping standpoint. Rest assured that I will make a point to discuss this with our housekeeping team immediately. Regarding our pools, both are in fact operated seasonally from May through October, my apologies for your disappointment.

We hope to have an opportunity to better serve you in the future. Please don’t hesitate contacting my office directly if I can be of further assistance.

Regards,

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
mbriggs@chathambarinn.com
508.945.6710

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

In need of a quick but relaxing trip without the kids, my husband and I booked a 2 night stay in CBI's spa suites. What a luxurious getaway! With its roaring fireplace, jacuzzi tub, steam shower and sauna, our roomy spa suite was first class in comfort and coziness. We enjoyed a lovely couples massage at the spa and had a wonderful dinner at The Sacred Cod Tavern in the main inn. The food and service were first-rate. After dinner, we retired to the beautifully decorated (for the holidays) South Lounge and enjoyed drinks in front of the huge fireplace. Out trip happened to occur during the Chatham Stroll and the CBI staff was so helpful in dropping us off and picking us up to and from Main Street in a Land Rover, incredibly promptly with just an easy phone call. This place knows how to make you feel like a priority and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.5 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.4 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
16.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,147 reviews
15.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633-2358
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#4 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range: £161 - £672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod
Chatham Bars Inn Resort And Spa Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing