We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal treatment from the "living" staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Royal treatment from the "living" staff...”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Amazing experience from the living and breathing staff! Right from the moment we drove up, we were treated like they were actually glad we arrived (hopefully, it was not only because we were visiting the Cape in the middle of Winter). It was extremely convenient that the staff was willing and able to drive us to our dinner reservation downtown (in a Range Rover)--highly recommend the Impudent Oyster, btw. The brunch is also special, and the water views help with that. However, beginning around 2am we were woken and subsequently TORTURED. First knocking, which woke us up, then clicking, swishing, swoosh sounds, culminating with the smoke alarm sounding after I decided I needed to turn on the light or else jump out the window (as it left the room, I suspect). This is not a joke--no doubt about it. This place is majorly HAUNTED!

Room Tip: NOT 518 unless you are a ghost chaser
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawOffices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortmanagercbi, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Law Offices,

Thank you for your recent review of Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor, we value your feedback. We are thrilled to learn that our staff made such positive impression on your overall visit. I am truly sorry however for the noise disturbance caused during the overnight hours of your stay in room 518 - at Sea Breeze Cottage.

Rest assured that to our knowledge, we do not have any guests from another lifetime hanging around nor have there been any other reports of such activity in the near 8 years I have worked for CBI. It is quite possible that the sounds may have come from a stairwell that is adjacent to your room, perhaps some guests returning late night. As for the smoke alarm sounding, this could also be pure coincidence. I do not want to discount what you are reporting, however my thoughts tend to side with some of the occasional reports we have received of noise, from time to time, from other guests of the resort sharing the space of our cottage buildings.

I do hope that despite your concerns, you will consider coming back to see us in the future. Please don’t hesitate contacting me directly if I can be of further assistance to you.
Again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
mbriggs@chathambarsinn.com
508.945.6710
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    310
    146
    89
    38
See reviews for
512
874
38
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a wonderful experience at the Chatham Bars Inn. This was our first stay and it certainly won't be our last. Every detail was covered. The staff and facilities exceeded our expectations. We were greeted with chocolate covered strawberries in our room <in honor of our anniversary> a fact that was casually mentioned when the reservation was made. (This was not ordered ahead of time - such a nice touch!)

Winter is the perfect time to experience the Chatham Bars Inn...it's quiet and peaceful. We actually took a walk on the beach. The view from our room gave us a beautiful sunset and a spectacular sunrise. Priceless.

Dinner at the Sacred Cod Tavern was wonderful. We had the option of a price-fix menu (included in our package) or ordering anything we wanted off the menu. Attire was casual and comfortable. (No need to pack fancy clothes...we could be ourselves.) The service was great. Our food was prepared perfectly. We even got a card delivered to our table that congratulated us on our anniversary. Very nice touch.

Breakfast the following morning was in the STARS restaurant. The buffet (also included in our package) was amazing. There is something for everyone. Granolas, yogurts, fresh fruit, traditional "American" breakfast fare and (as someone who has traveled internationally) a beautiful presentation of cheeses and assorted fishes and meats that would satisfy any international guest.

Simply stated...wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We just spent the most delightful Valentine's weekend at this lovely resort. This is not our first time and we continue to go because of the service we receive and the spectacular location. Any time of year is great. There is the most incredible vista at this inn! We had wonderful attention the entire weekend. "Stars Restaurant" surpassed all our expectations and our waiter, "Orlando," went out of his way to make our experience top notch. He expertly guided us to select the great wine and his personality shines. We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: The cottages on the ocean are really special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Been here several times and can't say enough about how much we love it here. The staff are fantastic and will do anything they can to make your stay perfect. We finally had dinner for the first time at STARS while we were there and it was an incredible experience . The food and service were fantastic and well worth the splurge. Shared the chateaubriand for two with my wife and it was fantastic, melted in your mouth and great presentation. The apps and desert were great too, overall a fantastic dining experience. I want to mention that our waiter (name was Orlando) did a fantastic job and the service was top notch. We had a large party and everyone loved him.
We had one of the cottage suites with fireplace overlooking the water and it was cool to be there during a snowstorm. Ended weekend with a massage at the spa, overall a great weekend in a magical place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were looking forward to a stress-free and romantic getaway--much needed in our busy lives. Our room was spacious and well-appointed but there were little problems--the TV froze up (and repairmen were prompt in fixing it though it again went out during the storm), the coffeemaker took ten tries to work (both of us tried it and it appeared as if others had dealt with this also since there was still water in the reservoir), and our room was directly under a room with children who ran and jumped loudly (we called and they did handle it--but they were up by 6:30 on Sunday running around). It would be good to place children on the first floor which we suggested when we checked. Unfortunately the noise awakened us earlier than we would have liked--which put an end to our weekend sooner that we wanted.

It is still a world class hotel but we expected better after reading so many reviews prior to booking. We were impressed with the level of attention--from doormen to courteous desk personnel. We loved the robes and the plush duvet. The bed was very comfortable.

We would give it another try. The location and facilities are stellar. It was good fun watching the snow pile up though it was challenging getting out.

Room Tip: I would have preferred ocean view. I can't imagine a bad room here--the rooms are beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamingbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortmanagercbi, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor, we value your feedback. I appreciated your kind comments regarding our staff and their level of attention, in addition to some of our in room comforts. I was sorry however to learn that your television and coffeemaker malfunctioned, coupled with noise from a room above creating, at times, a less than relaxing and stress free getaway. We also appreciated your understanding the challenges faced last weekend regarding blizzard conditions in Chatham causing power outages throughout the property. Fortunately it was a fast moving storm that caused minimal disruption for our guests.

Next time please doesn’t hesitate giving my office a call directly at the time of booking, so that I can personally oversee your reservations in effort to secure a quiet location.

Best Regards,

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
mbriggs@chathambarsinn.com
508.945.6710
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

It was our first stay at the hotel and we were pleased from start to finish! We stayed in the Hunting Lodge and were very happy with how spacious the room was and the Cape Cod decor. I spoke to Jennifer at the front desk on the phone to inquire about the Valentine's Day Gala at the restaurant on site, Stars, and she was more than helpful. When my husband and I checked in, she remembered our conversation. Jennifer was very friendly and personable. The Valentine's Day Gala in Stars was worth the price! Lenny was very attentive during cocktail hour, the dinner was top notch and the chocolate lounge added a perfect finishing touch! Our waiter (O. Burch) made us feel like we were his only table. We enjoyed dancing to the music from the band. We already have it on our calendar to book for Valentine's Day 2015 and have told friends to do the same!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsbrttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A physically stunning hotel with first rate accommodations. Staff is friendly and helpful. Our room in the Seabreeze cottage was exceptional and quiet. Could not ask for better accommodations in a world class resort area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennisrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
8.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
685 reviews
13.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
600 reviews
16.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,090 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633-2358
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#4 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod
Chatham Bars Inn Resort And Spa Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing