We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Accomodation at a Basic Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Springfield - Chicopee
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chicopee
Fairfax, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic Accomodation at a Basic Price”
Reviewed 29 November 2009

The motel is not "across the street from a landfill." There is a landfill about a half mile away and you can't see it from the motel. In front (to the south) of the motel there's a McDonalds and, across the street, a somewhat pricey convenience store. The EconoLodge to the right of the convenience store has a bar in case you're feeling thirsty. If you happen to be without a car (probably not a lot of people without a car even end up here because it's a six-mile, $20 with tip cab ride from the center of Springfield), these are your two food options. The McDonalds is open until 11 p.m., and the drive-thu until midnight. After that you're stuck with the convenience store (there is a restaurant called the 50's Diner attached to the convenience store, as well as a truck stop, but I wouldn't recommend this dining option).

To the west of the motel there's an industrial/back-office park, to the east a parking lot full of FedEx trucks. However, if you want a pleasant walk, Chicopee State Park borders the motel's northern property line. Despite the nearby highway and the industrial neighbors, the predominant mood of the motel's surroundings is rural (or at least it seems so to an urbanite such as myself).

As for the rooms themselves, there's not much to say. My most recent stay here was during a slow period with most of the rooms empty, so maybe they gave me one of the rooms that was in better shape than most. It was a smoking room but I only noticed the odor for about five seconds before I grew used to it and could no longer perceive it. The bed was neatly made, all the bedding perfectly fine. My wife didn't like that the toilet had no cover (a ring, but no cover). I thought it was just one less place for germs to hide. Overall, the toilet was fine and perfectly clean.

One criticism, the shower has some kind of water-saving plumbing. It is not possible to adjust the strength of the water flow. You can make it colder or hotter, but not stronger or weaker. Then again, the room was $56 for two including tax so you can't really fault them for economizing.

There is, of course, no free breakfast at this rate. There is free black coffee, free powdered coffee additive, and free sugar. If you want milk, you have to buy it at the convenience store. Considering that milk at the convenience store costs $2.09 for a gallon (milk is almost always on sale cheap somewhere), I don't see why they can't be at least a tiny bit civilized and offer milk with the coffee.

The coffee is only available until 10 a.m. (didn't find out when it starts). However, when I was there recently at Thanksgiving, when I got to the office at about 10:20 and the coffee was out, the manager went in back and filled my cup from her own coffee maker. That was a nice touch. Don't know if they'd do that at busy times or if all the employees there would do something generous like that, but it was most appreciated.

It is true that at times this motel has housed welfare recipients. Most likely the local government rents these rooms when there's a shortage of available permanent housing for folks who need it. During past visits to the hotel when the welfare recipients were there, I had absolutely no problem with them. In fact, I had no interaction with them. They pretty much kept to themselves.

The TV has basic cable channels plus HBO. The heating unit worked perfectly and was well attached to the wall with no gaps (after having stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years, I have yet to find a heating/cooling unit not firmly attached to the wall). There's free ice so, despite the lack of a refrigerator, you can improvise one from your ice bucket. A microwave is a little tougher to improvise and would be a nice touch. If you want to cook anything in the room bring your own cooker.

Checkout is at noon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank First_Manassas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    14
    7
    17
See reviews for
15
9
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2009

The room was spartan, just beds and a small dresser for the TV. But it was clean. A great value for the money, don't be scared away by the other reviews.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioOxfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We had booked a reservation here, I was hoping it was a newly renovated Motel 6 as the reviews I found were old. Well the hotel rooms are clean they do not smell clean- the first one they gave us reeked of cigarette smoke even though it was non-smoking, so the 2nd one we went to smelled of old wet dog, and on our way to the 2nd room we seen one room with the window smashed out of it and the room completely trashed. There were also some 'shady' characters hanging around the premises. When we checked out the second room we looked in the phone book and phoned a different hotel for the night. we just didn't feel safe here. I would only recommend this hotel if you had no sense of smell and were a big burly person who is up for defending themselves if needed.....

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The location, and smells
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicopee hotels

Detroit
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I have had good experiences with Motel 6 in the past and found them to be reasonably priced and clean. However the opposite was true in Chicopee. My room was filthy with hair in the bed and carpeting that had not been vacuumed in a long time. The desk clerk was surly and definitely not welcoming to a tired traveler. Had I not been so exhausted after a long day on the road, I would have asked for a refund after viewing the room. Avoid this motel!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Filthy room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

Cheap place to sleep. Rooms were recently renovated, but the contractor did a crummy job. It was across the street from a landfill. The outside hadn't been renovated, but with the job the contractor did on the inside, the crummy outside was probably better off than if it was "renovated". The desk clerk was a young teen girl who hadn't been properly trained on working with the public. It wasn't horrible. It wasn't great either. You get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Crummy rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2006

Have stayed in lots of Motel Sixes over the last few years.

This is without any shadow of a doubt not just the worst Motel 6, but the worst hotel ( and that includes the third world ) I have ever seen.
Faeces encrusted toilet, holes in the bed linen, the air conditioner hanging from the wall with insects flying in around it.

Walked out and at least got refund.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Filthy
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid at all costs.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Vannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 September 2005

I have stayed at a few Motel 6's in the past few months and I have been pleasantly surprised with all of them with the exception of the Chicopee Motel 6. The rooms look like they haven't been renovated in quite some time (i.e. cracked paint on the sinks, walls and bathtub). There were cigarette stains on the bed spread and window curtain and the carpet was horribly stained. There was even some sort of fungus growing in the vent in the bathroom. The first night, there was one towel and no bucket for the ice. I complained to the front desk and they were gracious enough to bring those items to me right away. The next night, we got in around 6pm and the bed had been turned down but there were no towels in the room nor were the soap or plastic cups replaced. I went to the front desk and they advised they were in the wash and would bring new towels by shortly. They did bring them by within an hour. The last night, we got in around 3pm and the room had not even been touched. We had hung up the towels from the night before to let them air dry, since we basically expected this to happen. It wasn't worth the time to complain again for a third time, it made more sense to deal with it and never patronize this location again. Nearby Enfield, CT has a much nicer Motel 6 and I would definitely recommend that location. Stay far away from this location!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicopee
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicopee/Springfield
3.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express - Springfield
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield Chicopee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ludlow
4.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
6.3 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Springfield - Chicopee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Springfield - Chicopee

Property: Motel 6 Springfield - Chicopee
Address: 36 Johnny Cake Hollow Rd., Chicopee, MA 01020
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Chicopee
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chicopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Springfield - Chicopee 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Springfield - Chicopee MA welcomes our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable, pet friendly environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Relax and enjoy WiFi available in select modern guest rooms for 2.99 USD per 24 hours. Outdoor seasonal pool is Closed for repairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Springfield - Chicopee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicopee Motel Six
Chicopee Motel 6
Motel 6 Chicopee
Motel Six Chicopee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing