We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Russian Icons

Museum of Russian Icons
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Russian Icons was founded in 2006 as a nonprofit educational institution by Massachusetts art collector and industrialist Gordon B. Lankton. With more than 700 Russian icons and artifacts, the collection is the largest of its kind in North America, and one of the largest private collections outside Russia. Spanning six centuries, the collection includes important historical paintings dating from the earliest periods of icon "writing" to the present. The Museum facility is 16,000 square feet and comprises several galleries, research library, archive storage, conservation studio, an auditorium accommodating programs, lectures and concerts, the Russian Tea Room, terrace, and green roof.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I visited this museum in May of 2014 and loved it. Located just off the Clinton Mass downtown area, the museum contains more than three hundred Russian icons some dating back as far as the 1500's. Like many others, we were able to meet the museum's owner and founder and later learned from a very well informed docent about some of his more challenging acquisition efforts and dealings with the Russian authorities. Unless you are expert in this area, a docent is really a must, There is no extra charge for their tours and you will learn an incredible amount about the icons in general as well as certain specific pieces and of course the museum itself. This is really a hidden gem of a place well worth the visit. We plan to return in the Fall It's a wonderfully unique place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We're so pleased to hear that both you and your wife enjoyed your visit! We can't stress enough how lucky we are to have such a wonderful group of docents and it's great to hear you had the chance to enjoy a tour. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you this fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    22
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Been twice - always worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Oddly enough, I am not interested in the icons which make up the permanent collection, but the temporary exhibits here are very good. I came to see an exhibit of matryoshkas (nesting dolls) a year or so ago; then today my husband and I saw an exhibit of Communist propaganda posters -- both attractive and historically fascinating! The tearoom is charming, too, with a collection of samovars.
The museum faces a lovely town green with a gorgeous old fountain -- it's like The Town That Time Forgot. "Thai Time" restaurant, about 2 min. drive or 10 min. walk from the museum, was very nice. We also discovered the Wachusett Dam at the edge of the Wachusett Reservoir, which has a lovely sunken park with a fountain and great walking trails. It's only about 5 min. drive from the museum, and an absolute must if weather is nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffsdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We're glad we're able to highlight aspects of Russian culture that do interest you and are equally thrilled about your repeat visit. We do hope you'll be back in the fall/winter for "Siberia: Imagined and Reimagined" which will explore Siberian life through stunning photographs. We really got a kick out of your comment "The Town That Time Forgot" because in the most positive way it does feel like that, especially during the warmer months. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
191 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Way off the beaten track but worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This place is located in Clinton, MA...My first reaction was why a Russian Icon museum in Clinton and where is Clinton. Well you have to visit to find out. I've been there three times. The first time, I had the opportunity for a tour conducted by the owner and learned a tremendous amount about how this museum came to be.

Another time they had a special exhibit of Rublev Icons including The Trinity. It was a rare moment because the exhibit was only there a short time. If you have ANY interest in Icons, don't miss this place. It's a nice day trip from the Boston area. There are several nice, affordable eating places in Clinton. They will tell you where they are at the museum. Really...Don'd miss this place!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hildegard2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We're happy to hear you've enjoyed your visits and thank you for the review! We're grateful for the opportunity to show several temporary exhibits throughout the year. The exhibition of icons from the Andrei Rublev Museum was special and we're glad you had the chance to see it. We're currently showing "Darker Shades of Red: Soviet Propaganda Art from the Cold War Era" and we'll be hosting an exhibition this fall/winter titled "Siberia: Imagined and Re-imagined." We hope you'll have the chance to visit again soon. Until then, have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Big Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

In preparation for our upcoming trip to Russia, we decided to go to the Museum of Russian Icons. I expected a tiny museum and a visit of about a half hour. We stayed more than two hours and had two excellent docents. The museum is well lit and displays several hundred works of art. I learned more in the two hours than I had learned from visiting Orthodox churches in several Eastern European countries. I hope to make a return visit to this museum. We even met the person who started the museum and made most or all of the purchases.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
It was great to have you visit and we're so happy you learned as much as you did before your trip. Wishing you safe travels (wish we could come along) and we hope you'll visit when you get back to tell us all about it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracys Landing, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Who would have thought?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This little museum is quite a gem. The building is beautiful. The staff / docents helpful. The audio tour that is included is informative. I wish I'd been able to spend more time there. I'm sure I'll return sometime.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dgb-vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for the review and we hope you will visit again! Have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Russian Icons also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Russian Icons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing