We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Weddings!”

The Red Lion Inn Resort 1704
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cohasset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn Resort 1704
Ranked #1 of 2 Cohasset B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for Weddings!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This town is so cute and quaint... and the Red Lion Inn fits in perfectly. We had a whole wedding party stay in the hotel so I couldn't speak to how noisy it is regularly but we had a blast here. The inn keepers were very helpful with every request I had. They even let us check in at 9:30am that morning because our room was already ready. Checkout time is at 10am -but they are pretty relaxed about it, especially if there was a wedding

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different with their own charm. If you want a jacuzzi tub then ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessik67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    21
    8
    11
    23
See reviews for
30
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion Inn last weekend for a wedding. The wedding and reception were very well done. The food and service were great. The hotel was good. It was clean, comfortable and historic. The surrounding area is beautiful. Two small negatives, there is no morning coffee on the premises and the bar is very loud some nights.

Room Tip: Stay as far from the bar as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnville, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Weddings are fine and they bring in lots of people. Sometimes a venue loses touch with itself. Not at the bar of The Red Lion Inn in Cohasset last night. Constantine, the barman, welcomed us skeptics with low pressure and nice wine. We looked around. History and restoration buffs, we doubted anything would be left from 1704. Glass of wine in hand we slinked around sniffing for ancient, dusty, smoky beams. We found them and more, rich paneling, old fireplaces with original bake ovens, wide board floors. That which was not old was well worn and fitted in. Back to the bar - Dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine -$29!? Impossible. No, fantastic. Steak frittes et pomme de terre frite avec arugula (thats french) and haddock wiht creamed turnips and potatoes. Great presentation, great food. I mean really good. We will be back wth friends soon. We will also be giving a gift certificate for dinner and an overnight to our children, too.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the original, old rooms if you appreciate history more than comfort. Otherwise, go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The Red Lion Inn really has a perfect setup for a wedding with a historic New England feel. They run receptions like clock work and they have a great setup for an after party. We did not stay at the Inn, so I can't comment on that aspect of it. Obviously, I didn't swim in the pool but it did look very beautiful although it is sort of positioned right in the middle of things. If their was a wedding going on people would be walking past.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karson962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The Inn is beautiful as is the town. seems like it would be a great place to stay in spring or summer has an outdoor pool and outdoor area. If you want to get sleep after the wedding reception please pick a room on the second floor. The bar stays open until 2am (not sure if this is only after weddings there) and plays "thumping loud" dance music. Room 3 hears everything..music and people up and down stairs from bar and people in the hall.
The bar is nice and rustic so it seems it should play a different type of music..jazz maybe? no one is dancing and its a mix of ages..so the dance music doesn't fit.
Also there was NO hot water at all to shower after wedding at about 11:30pm. Check out is 10am and there is no breakfast or coffee available. Cute places on the street for breakfast.

Room Tip: pick a second floor room or room one for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, MA
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

When the Red Lion Inn was chosen as the venue for a family wedding, we of course went to Tripadvisor and read the reviews. A sense of dread crept over us, as the people writing the reviews had almost unanimously suffered very negative experiences. (Remember that I’m referring to the reviews of the Inn as a place to stay, not as a wedding venue.) So we went into the experience with low expectations and the resolve to make the best of it.
We fortunately didn’t have any of the problems with paying the bill that many of the reviewers mentioned, or with security, but I still can’t recommend the Inn as a place to stay. As a resort, it is sorely lacking in amenities. The building dates back to 1704, which is part of its charm, but it’s really being allowed to show its age. Our room had lamps that did not work (not simply a blown bulb) as well as broken window and door fixtures. Simple repairs were just not kept up. The wifi connection was spotty at best, and most guests could not get a cell phone signal in most areas of the property. There was no refrigerator or microwave.
There are some nice features about the Inn. The back of the property is beautifully landscaped, and there is a small outdoor pool that looked lovely, although I never saw anyone using it despite the seasonally high temperatures.
The food was excellent, both for the rehearsal dinner and for the wedding itself. However, you would think that a property that contains several kitchens would be able to supply its guests with some sort of breakfast. Not so with the Red Lion. There are a few places in the town which serve breakfast and are within walking distance, but they proved to be crowded and provided very slow service, since they are popular with the local residents as well.
But the worst part of staying at the Inn is the noise factor. There are always loud parties going on, and the music and general racket has no problem making its way up to the guest rooms loud and clear. Beginning with the first night of our stay, we realized there was no chance of us getting any sleep until the parties ended, at midnight or after. It would make no sense for anyone to consider staying at the Inn if they were not part of a wedding party using the venue.
I do agree that the Inn is a great place to hold a wedding reception. The food was great, and everything went off without a hitch. But the Inn as a wedding venue should be the topic of a different review; the purpose of this one is to rate the Inn as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the ends of the building; the noise is worst in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eagle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I had my wedding here in October and everything ended up being beautiful. The wedding coordinator Elena was amazing, helped with every detail along the way. The food was excellent, the rooms, while old fashioned were very clean and the pool was nice. The staff was kind enough to allow us to get ready in the Salon. The air conditioning in the cave for the after party stopped working and to make it up to us they have promised us a free weekend and free dinner at the Red Lion. Steve "the captain" of the room did an exceptional job making everything go smoothly. We hadn't met him until the night of our wedding but he couldnt have been more accomodating, always making sure we had a drink, helping us take care of our 2 year old, keeping us updated on everything throughout the night, couldnt have asked for a better team to make my wedding perfect. The town is quaint and pretty, the drive along the beach was breathtaking. We found it to be a very nice place to get married or stay for a romantic weekend away.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mosky211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cohasset
3.6 mi away
Nantasket Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Scituate Harbor
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Rockland
Best Western Rockland
#1 of 3 in Rockland
484 reviews
11.0 mi away
Boston Marriott Quincy
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Rockland
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn Resort 1704? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn Resort 1704

Property: The Red Lion Inn Resort 1704
Address: 71 Main Street, Cohasset, MA 02025
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cohasset
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cohasset
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Resort 1704 Hotel Cohasset
Red Lion Cohasset
Cohasset Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing