We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, charming, great value and even better breakfast”
Review of Olde Cary House

Olde Cary House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colrain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olde Cary House
Ranked #1 of 1 Colrain B&B and Inns
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful, charming, great value and even better breakfast”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We wanted to do a weekend getaway from the Boston area that wasn't too far away but yet felt like you were in a different place all together. Staying at the Olde Cary house fullfilled those requirements since it's a quick ride to lovely Shelburne falls and the Bridge of Flowers and also very close to Greenfield.

We stayed in the Rose room which is the largest of the four rooms available with a shared bathroom. There was no TV in the rooms or in the house which was perfect for a quiet getaway. Anneliese (the hostess) is a lovely woman who makes the best breakfast around. Friday we had apple pancakes with eggs and ham. Sat. we had an omelette with chicken sausage and pumkin cake. Delicious!

While you're in the area you have to check out People's Pint and Hope and Olive in Greenfield and Mike and Tony's Pizza in Colrain.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtkappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

My wife, daughter and I have stayed at the Olde Cary House on 7 or 8 occasions now and never get tired of the pace. The house is beautiful and situated in lovely grounds surrounded by fabulous foliage and scenery. Anneliese is an adorable hostess and when we need to escape from the city for a weekend, this is the first place we think of. Cannot recommend it highly enough - very children-friendly and laid back. Whether it's a stroll over the Bridge of Flowers in Shelburne Falls, a visit to Tregelly's Fibre Fram or one of the many hikes nearby, this region is ideally suited to relaxing and taking it easy. For the more adventurous, there's whitewater rafting and zip lining nearby. For dinner, the People's Pint (excellent hand pulled cask conditioned beers) and Hope & Olive in nearby Greenfield are highly recommended and also kid-friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luscna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

If you are looking for a wonderful, relaxing, step-back-in-time place to stay - this it!

The proprietor, Anneliese, is a lovely innkeeper and is just one of the friendliest hostesses I've met.

The inn is a restored (combined) Victorian family house and she rents out one portion of it. it includes a full kitchen, living room and dining room. The rooms are decorated in the period and are beautifully painted and decorated - mostly by the hostess.

The inn is a few minutes drive from Shelburne Falls and the famous Bridge of Flowers. There is much to do and see in this area including shopping, entertainment and great restaurants - not to mention the incredible scenery.

Anneliese prepared the most sumptuous breakfast we'd had in years and the presentation was the best part. Everything was fresh and home cooked, including the bread!

If you are looking for a getaway for yourself, with your spouse or with a group of friends (PERFECT for clubs or organizations) be sure to stay here!

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manoowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

My friends and I did a women's getaway to Shelburne Falls. The Olde Cary House is located about 5 minutes from downtown Shelburne Falls. Our host Anneliese was just wonderful. The house is lovingly decorated with great attention to detail. Anneliese made us feel very welcome and at home. She catered our breakfast to our specific request. The guest rooms are very unique. I stayed in the Rose room, which had hand painted designs on the wall. The property borders some nice hiking trails, and just exemplifies peace and quiet. if you go, make sure you take some time to relax on the front porch and listen to the birds. I plan on going back with my bookclub for some R&R.

  • Liked — peace and quiet, close to a wonderful little town
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ann01069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Olde Cary House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Cary House

Property: Olde Cary House
Address: 7 York Rd, Colrain, MA
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Colrain
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Colrain
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing