We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
fall river, United States
1 review
“great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

hotel was very nice. staff was good. all was good except for unvacuumed hallways, room furniture was clearly dirty and not wiped clean, also found numerous candy throughout the room which was kinda scary that my kids are small and i was very fearful of them finding and eating it. other than that it was a good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Jamie, thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that your family enjoyed your stay and our staff. I share your concern regarding cleanliness and, as a parent, understand this would be upsetting. We would urge any of our guests to call our front desk and we'll certainly send our housekeeping staff up to vacuum! It is our goal to provide a clean, comfortable stay for all. We hope to see your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    311
    196
    116
    96
See reviews for
568
158
30
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Took the kids to DT which has a Coco Key waterpark attached and offers packages. The 3 kids and 2 parents tried to book one room but DT would not allow and tried to sell two rooms for three kids (8, 11, 13 ) and two adults. Thus we booked one room with two doubles and brought a sleeping bag; odd that they cannot adapt to 1 extra kid with a cot for 10/night but they won't. We find the 5 person family to hard to book many places. Anyway, we checked in, were offered cookies which were tasty and a nice treat, changed, went to the waterpark, got four passes with room and purchased 1 extra pass for $30/2 days which was okay. Room and package for 4 was $308/night including taxes. Coco Key was great, fairly clean, water was 84 F which was nice but the air temp was in the low 70's thus movement between pools was chilly. Lots of lifeguards and management about, no food or drink is allow from outside but management was relaxed, food in the park is outrageously expensive (burgers $9, salads $8, pizzas (14"?) $16, draft beer $6.5, etc), chlorine is minimal and the crowds were managable. Room was nice, clean, beds were comfy, bathroom was nice but on the smaller side, two cups of coffee offered in room but no complimentary coffee or hot chocolate in the hotel. Hotel is a bit stark and deserted, no lounging chairs where we could sit for a snack ouside the park (on purpose?), hotel pool is part of an atheletic club where you need to sign in and out of and again, no food allowed do to a proclaimed ant problem in the pool area. There is a "Starbucks" in the hotel where I offered to buy the kids a hot chocolate but, even though the sign says Starbucks, the cups, shirts, motif, and prices are starbuck size, BUT the kiosk does not accept Starbuck gift cards where they stated they are not a "real" startbucks but are sold the materials and they sell as a convenience to their patrons. We passed on the fake starbucks where we were left with a feeling of being gouged by the hotel and hoodwinked. This is a piece that leaves a bad taste in one's mouth and could turn customers away. It is not far fetched to say that I will not go back to this hotel even though it was very nice and comfortable; too many things did not add up.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fixerupper02472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We appreciate that you selected CoCo Key for your recent family getaway, and thank you for your feedback. I can understand your challenge in finding accommodations for 5. Let me assure you that our reservations recommendations were not made to try to "gouge" you or upsell you, but instead were intended to ensure that you all would have the most comfortable stay possible (and it is actually against fire code for us to add a cot for use with 5 people in a room). We're glad you enjoyed our signature DoubleTree cookies at check-in! To clarify on our coffee shop, we do proudly brew Starbucks for our guests, however we are not an official licensed store. As for the temperature issues in the water park, we are sorry you experienced that. Our team is aware and has fixed the issue. We hope you will give us another opportunity. It would be our pleasure to welcome your family back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmont, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The room was sold as a 'family' room with 2 twin beds and a king. The room was very small with a king bed and 2 todler beds - too small for our kids. The hotel food was of poor quailty food. The water park is now independantly owned and was dirty, cold, and too expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank Marci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Marci, thank you for staying with us again, though we are sorry to hear you feel this way. Our website does clearly state that our family rooms have two toddler beds (66.75" x 31.5") - so we would not recommend these rooms unless your children are small. It is our aim to provide a fun family getaway, with our overnight packages offering additional value. Regarding your comment on food quality, I am surprised to hear this, as we have been garnering positive reviews following the recent launch of our new menu in our Tradewinds restaurant. Allow me to clarify that the water park is in fact owned & operated by our hotel. We did have a recent temperature issue in the park, which it sounds like unfortunately you experienced. For that we do apologize. Rest assured, the park is now back to a balmy 84 degrees, and we do hope to welcome your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Crane, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived on a Weekday. The first 2 days it was not so hot, water cold and dishes left outside some rooms greater than 24 hours. As we got towards the holiday an weekend they water was warmer and cleaning was done better as the census went up.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Judy, thank you for selecting our property for your recent visit. We appreciate your feedback. We did resolve the hot water issue, as you noted, but do apologize that you experienced this during part of your stay. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The staff here is excellent and the food is extremely high quality. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds are amazing. I highly recommend in room dining as it is reasonable especially for kids. Excellent menu.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I never rate anything , but my stay at the Doubletree was so surprisingly exceptional, I had to share. The rooms were comfortable, the bedding amazing. The bar and food quality rivalled any place in NYC - have the hamburger. The staff were incredibly accommodating, friendly and kind. You absolutely cannot beat it for the price. Full disclosure: I had to find a hotel in that are due to a family function. I expected the place to be mediocre at best, but it was VERY GOOD and I've stayed at nice hotels. It was simply value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Rebecca, thank you for sharing your very positive comments! We appreciate your feedback regarding the comfort, quality and value of our accommodations, and our staff. And so glad to hear you enjoyed one of our brand new menu items - our chef's house burger on a brioche bun with cheddar, smoked bacon, sauteed onions and house fries. Mmm. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
416 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here earlier this month as part of a tour group. The front desk was nice & had warm cookies at check in, and newspapers in the morning. Good coffee in the rooms; rooms were clean, roomy & good water pressure in the bathroom, plus free wifi in the room. No free breakfast. It is quite a ways away from downtown Boston, so I wouldn't necessarily recommend to those who are in the Boston area for sightseeing, but if you need to visit Danvers or this side of the Boston Metro area, I think it's just fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heywood417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danvers
1.9 mi away
North Shore Hotel
North Shore Hotel
#2 of 9 in Danvers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore
Address: 50 Ferncroft Rd, Danvers, MA 01923-4017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore is just 19 miles from downtown Boston and Logan International Airport (BOS), and a short drive from historic Salem. Ideally located for meetings, weddings, business travel and families, our Danvers, MA hotel offers 363 spacious guest rooms & suites (newly renovated in 2013) featuring contemporary decor and excellent amenities. Savor a warm, freshly baked DoubleTree cookie and make the most of our comforting amenities, including our business center, lobby coffee shop where we proudly serve Starbucks(R), full service restaurant and lounge, and on-site Atlantis Sports Club & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Ferncroft Hotel
Sheraton Danvers
Danvers Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing