We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avoid this Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had (5) people in a (2) bedroom suite with kitchenette for (3) nights.
ºAccess to the hotel from the main road is VERY VERY difficult and on a blind curve where people are typically going 45-50mph
ºOne bed had no bedding
ºThe rooms were very cramped
ºPulled out the hide-away bed from the couch at night only to find used bedding (gross)
ºThe bathroom door would not latch shut
ºThe coffee maker was defective
ºNo hair dryer
ºComplimentary breakfast consisted of waffles, bagels, cereal, yogurt, some fruit, and drinks. Seating area could handle maybe (15) people.
ºParking spaces were so narrow, it reminded me of sitting in the coach seats on a plane.
ºThin Walls. One in our party had to stay in the Hotel room all day to rest. Unfortunately the guests in the room next door left their yapping dog in their room while gone. The dog barked at every noise it heard.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
Green Features: Seems OK. The place is clean outside, the air conditioners appear to be relatively new. The outdoor pool appeared clean.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is our goal for every guest to have a great stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for any issues you encountered during your stay. We do thank you for taking the time to share your experience the feed back we receive is very important to us as we are always looking for opportunites to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    69
    32
    15
    8
See reviews for
79
44
11
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the TownePlace Suites in Danvers for one night awhile back while starting a tour through New England. We flew in to Boston and were looking for somewhere cheap to crash before heading out the next morning.

This hotel is what you would expect for the price, no major problems or issues but not up to par with most Marriott properties. Location was a bonus, as it was outside the city and a great starting point for our trip.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We were pleased that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your brief stay.
We are in a great location to launch a vacation. We hope the rest of your trip was wonderful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Little disappointed in the decoration of the hotel. The corridors and room were a little tired , but hotel very clean. We had a. 2 bedroom suite which was compact but quite functional . The hotel was very busy but always got a seat at breakfast and the pool.

The pool didn't get sun until lunchtime but lots of seats around the car park to enjoy the sun.

Lots of shops and restaurants near by , within 2 miles of lots of options to shop . Short trip to salem and the other coastal gowns.

Also near to Boston airport 35 mins. Lovely staff always very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not appear to have any recycling for paper or bottles
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank your for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to hear you had an opportunity to take advantage of the sights in our area. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was a very typical TownePlace Suites location and I was amused that it was EXACTLY like the TPSuites I stayed at in January of this year outside of Detroit.

The rooms / decor still say, "Hello, 1990's" but for a quick stay it was fine. If there for a few nights, the kitchen would be a plus for prepping your own breakfast or snacks since the free on-site breakfast is only carb-based (no proteins! Thanks for not helping the collective USA waistline!).

Also, this facility is touted as a smoke-free facility but I could tell that my room stank like cigarettes were smoked in there recently. I noted my disappointment on Twitter that night on arrival and to their credit, Marriott jumped on the issue and I received an apology from Marriott, the on-site manager and some bonus points by the next morning. Thanks for the response!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MashuMashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. I was very sorry to hear that you experienced issues with the previous guest smoking in your room. Please again except our sincere apologies. We hope if your travels bring you back to our area you will allow us the opporunity to give you the experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family stayed in a two bedroom suite last week and had a great visit to the Boston area. From the front desk to the breakfast area to the maid service every aspect of our interaction with the staff at this location was wonderful! I had forgotten my phone charger and the girl at the front desk, Marleny, let me use her personal one for the evening and even offered it to me later in the week when she was on duty. I felt that everyone honestly wanted to make your experience outstanding and did anything they could to accomplish this goal.
The location was perfect and had ample parking and even a lovely pool.
I know other guests have said that it was a big inconvenience to have to do a u-turn to get to the hotel but we felt it wasn't that big a deal considering the hospitality we were shown.
Great bedding, great service, and great location!!!!!

Room Tip: We didn't have to pick a good room since the entire hotel was remodeled last year. We were in th...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like the idea of saving energy and this hotel is trying very hard to be gentle to the environment.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbeckstrand766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We so very much appreciate you taking the tme review our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I be sure to pass your wonderful comments on to our teams they love to hear that our guests enjoyed the service they received. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick NJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Three of us stayed in a studio and it was perfect for our needs. Very clean. Although we only stayed 2 nights having fridge was great and there was plenty of room. We went to Salem, Marblehead and other sights while there--easy drives. The breakfast included everything we needed although food area needed more seating. Was a little difficult to see entrance due to foliage this time of year. Although near intersection of 2 major roads, it was very quiet. Everything from Costco and Walmart to shopping mall within less than 10 minute drive. Pool looked great but had too much to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plmBrickNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hope to see you again when you are visiting the Boston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The 2 bedroom + kitchen suite really met my requirements for a 5 day stay with my family. The kitchen enabled us to prep some meals saving on restaurant costs, and the bedrooms provided privacy for us and my teenage daughter. With sleeper-sofa, the room could accommodate 5, however only 3 chairs at the dinning table. All in all, a cost effective and comfortable alternative to renting two standard hotel rooms.

The property is kind of a cross between a a hotel and apartment complex: it is not a full service hotel. However, where it mattered for us: comfort, space and value, I could find anything better in the Danvers area. The Residence Inn nearby, although nice, was somewhat more expensive for 2 bedroom suites

We found the beds very comfortable. The breakfast was adequate, if not exceptional and had hot oatmeal (not instant), cold cereals, make-you-own waffles, bagels, etc. Breakfast space was small and a little cramped. Trays were provided to make it easier to take the food to ones room.

We stayed on the 3rd floor, and unlike other reviews we were not troubled by noise from above. However inter-floor sound proofing could better as we were awoken early the first morning by barking dogs from the room below. I do credit management with addressing the issue quickly.

The Danvers location was good for day trips to the local tourist spots Boston, Cambridge, Salem etc.

Traffic flow for entering the property from route 114 to Veronica Dr is poor and it helps to have a GPS to alert one is approaching Veronica Dr, otherwise it is easy to miss.

There is an outdoor heated pool, which my 10 year old enjoyed.

I would stay again.

Room Tip: Recommend higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishManInCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The pool weather is upon us I am glad you had the time to enjoy it. We are thrilled you had room to spread out in the two bedroom suite. It does work well for a family. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danvers
0.6 mi away
North Shore Hotel
North Shore Hotel
#2 of 9 in Danvers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
5.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers

Property: TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers
Address: 238 Andover St, Danvers, MA 01923-1348
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers Hotel Danvers
Towneplace Suites Danvers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing