We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Buffet..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mandarin Danvers

Mandarin Danvers
Ranked #15 of 111 Restaurants in Danvers
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Buffet..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We love the buffet, great selection, kept well stocked, but when its busy, you need to make a run for the sushi when they bring it out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JayB546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, MA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This restaurant is located in a low-rent strip mall, right next to the Chuck-E-Cheeses, but I've had some of the best luncheon specials here that I've ever had. I work in Boston's Chinatown, so this is high praise! They are more expensive - I spent $13.00 for Hot and Sour Soup (extra here) and
a substantial and freshly cooked entree. Most of its business is with the buffet, but the lunch was well worth the while and the atmosphere was more elegant than one would expect.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalSal_Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Under new managment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We used to go to the Mandarin when it was under the old management. I thought the food was pretty good for the north shore. Americanized but not a bad casual choice.
We stopped in again the other night to see how the "new" Mandarin was like. We tried the buffet and I have to say that it was a disappointing. The flavors of most items seemed off. Not spoiled off just strangely seasoned. If we give if we were to give it another try we will order off the menu but I don't think we will be back soon. There are other choices nearby that are better. I will at least give them some points for the Maki rolls at the buffet. They were good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tempest170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great takeout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

have not eaten at restaurant since their redo, but always go there for takeout. no other place in Salem or Danvers offers same quality & price

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tkristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
237 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi and great Chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Our favorite restaurant to sit at the sushi bar and enjoy the fresh creations of the sushi chef. Plus great Chinese food. Poo poo platter has plenty for two. Haven't eaten a bad meal there. Great place to eat just before taking in a movie. Great friendly service A real pleasant place to visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandarin Danvers also viewed

 

Been to Mandarin Danvers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing