We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the (deep) rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A diamond in the (deep) rough”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice place, terrific staff. On the down side we had to call maintenance to get the bathroom faucet to go any strong than a trIckle. There were no baking sheets in our room, which rendered the oven almost moot (the crack staff was helpful in providing us with pans from their kitchen). Connecting to the slow-but-free Internet was easy but connecting to the faster, pay service was impossible. This seemed to be rampant among all guests at the hotel. Breakfast was nice and varied, so that should go up top with the rest of the positives. The lock to the laundry room door broke, rendering it inaccessible until mainenance returned in the morning (our laundry was safely locked inside). Highway 1 in Danvers is an ugly driving mess so building a hotel on it was not a good idea. VERY confusing roadway. Miss your turn and you're stuck in a nightmarish 5-10 minute loop-around just to get back. That situation is compounded by bad hotel signage. The hotel sign is on the street, below a TGI Fridays sign. Since the TGIF sign is at eye level, the hotel sign is at knee level.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timberella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for the great comments regarding our staff. I am working on additional signage to avoid the frustration you encountered. The hotel had an issue with the upgraded internet that is now resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    43
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
54
34
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We knew that we had to be careful approaching this property. Its entrance is on the near side of a TGIFridays that kind of hides the hotel's presence behind the restaurant. If you miss the entrance you have to go around and try again. Because we knew of the potential problem, we were able to find the hotel without any difficulty. The reception experience was excellent; the rooms were very clean and quite comfortable. The room contained all the amenities we expected from a member of the Residence Inn chain, but they were all seemed to be new or very well maintained. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quite dark with the lights out and the curtains drawn, making for a good night's sleep. The breakfast was above the normal standard for Residence Inns and the breakfast room was kept clean and well-stocked.
As hard as it was to access the hotel, it was that easy to get back on I95 in the morning; two right turns and we were right back on the interstate, well rested and fed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davetnr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your complimentary comments about your hotel experience. It is our goal to give each guest a memorable stay. We truly value and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here recently overnight after a wedding. Not your typical Residence Inn. This place is not really a hotel in the normal sense but it is a complex of townhouses. The rooms were nice, bathroom was a bit small from others i'd stayed at. Only thing about the room was that the a/c unit came off an on continuously all night. It was a bit annoying and made it hard to sleep. The breakfast in the morning was good.

One thing that should definitely get addressed is the entrance. You have to pull into either the Costco parking lot or the TGI Fridays parking lot to get to the complex. There is no sign at either entrance! By the time you are on top of the Residence Inn sign located on the property it is too late and you must go all the way back down Rte. 1 to turn around. They need a sign at one of these entrances.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zez25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The street between Costco and Friday's can be difficult to find and our sign is located right on the island of that street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and I just spent a week here and found the staff to be incredibly nice and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was new with granite counters and the bathroom set up was convenient with a private room for the tub and toilet. The breakfast, while not gourmet, did offer multiple options that changed daily. Convenient to Boston, Salem, Bearskin Neck, and Cranes Beach which was our agenda for the week. Pay attention to pull off at Fridays or Costco and you're all set!
I must emphasize that the staff were all so nice that it set the tone for the guests as well. Everyone was nice and friendly to each other. It really makes a difference!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenandMary222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I will share your great servce comments with our team. It is our goal to provide an outstanding guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel was difficult to find. We passed right by the hotel the first time and had to turn around and do a big loop before returning to the location. The hotel sign is small and hidden by the TGIF parking lot and restaurant. Our room was dark and somewhat gloomy. I agree with one of the other reviewers - it makes me skeptical of the cleanliness when it is dark and gloomy. The bathtub had a few moldy spots and the toilet is very low. If you are handicapped, it could be a problem. Although this is a minor issue, there was only one tiny waste basket in our room. If you're there for more than one day - you need several baskets; one in the bathroom, one in your bedroom and one in the living area. Housekeeping made our bed the second day, but did not take all the towels that were used and damp. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends - there are too many other options with newer rooms and better service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purpleurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel. Our hotel was renovated two years ago and it is tucked behind TGI Friday's restuarant as we share a street leading into the hotel. I appreciate the feedback as a way to improve our service as our goal is to meet and exceed every guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I couldn't find the place and I had to drive 3 times down Route 1 to Lynn to turn around. I finally asked someone and they told me to go around again and enter through the Friday's parking lot. The sign was almost impossible to see because of the foliage covering it. Plus it blended in to the Friday's sign because it was red. It was next to those giant power lines and a swamp. The buildings were nice (newly renovated). I was going to take my dog, but it was $100 extra. Also, pool is outdoors, so it wasn't open when I went. The service was great, the waffles were great. I had a studio suite and it was hard for my kid because she had to sleep on the sofa bed, (basically no bed, all metal). It was graduation weekend, so it was hard to find a room, but this place is good. I'm glad I stayed here. Not to mention, it had a kitchen (range, microwave, fridge, sink and glassware). Really nice place, just location wasn't very good, really nice service, very clean. Good price, I will stay here again, but just in the 2 bedroom suite.

Room Tip: If you have kids, go for the 2 bedroom, don't sleep on the sofa sleeper Studio has only 1 TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. I will have our landscaper address the shrubs around the sign. I am sorry for the time it took you to find us. I am sure it was frustrating. I appreciate your comments about the positive experience you had at our hotel. It is our goal to exceed our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
549 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The hotel is not a bad property at all but the location sucks. Its route 1 north and that means going south and namely to Logan Airport requires some manuvering. The location is just plain bad in my opinion.
Rooms were fine, comoputer area and breakfast included so it looked like a typical Residence Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRVEGAS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for the great service score. Our location can be challenging to find. I do value and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danvers
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers
0.8 mi away
North Shore Hotel
North Shore Hotel
#2 of 9 in Danvers
389 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
2.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers

Property: Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers
Address: 51 Newbury St, Danvers, MA 01923-1014
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Please note directions to the hotel when on Rte. 1 North (follow carefully as the hotel is behind TGIFriday's): After the COSTCO Warehouse entrance, TURN RIGHT BEFORE TGI Friday's. Bypass TGIFriday's driveway and at the STOP sign TURN LEFT and follow road into the hotel driveway. The hotel is located behind TGIFriday's. If you see the turn for Rte. 114, this means you have just missed the driveway. At that point, take Rte. 114 West, turn around and get onto Rte. 1 South and take the Lowell Street exit (about 2 miles down on right). Turn right off Lowell Street exit and go back up onto Rte. 1 North and follow the above directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers Hotel Danvers
Residence Inn Danvers
Danvers Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing