We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families with little ones!”

Demarest Lloyd State Park
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for families with little ones!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Very shallow water,great for the little one to explore. Rest rooms available. Plenty of parking and a shaded picnic area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SMS_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just like it was when I was a kid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We used to go to Barney's Joy for Fourth of July when I was a kid. It was an all day event, packing up a picnic, bringing the jars for firefly catching later in the even and polliwog catching in the stream. We loved low tide to walk out on the sandbar, walking along the beach. 40 yrs or so later and the place looks the same .. that's good with me. Lots of fun, just as I remembered. I brought my nieces and nephew and they too had a blast (I know they'll remember it when they grow up)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
650 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
“Great views of the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Coastal pleasure. All seasons. Surrounded by farm and sea.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Massachusetts Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

I think Demarest Lloyd Beach is absolutely Gorgeous. It has huge sandbars so it is perfect for little ones since the water in this area only gets between 2-3 feet (no waves) and the water is warmer. Terrific landscape and very serine. Great picnic areas too!

If your looking for t-shirt stands, arcades and gift shops this is certainly not the place.
If your looking a nice day to relax on the beach, then you found your place. Two thumbs way up!

Helpful?
8 Thank RandyWestMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
610 reviews
305 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 945 helpful votes
“Beach isn't best if walking/strolling on beach is main priority”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2008

We have been going to neighboring Horseneck Beach for years. As I was on the Horseneck Beach portion of the mass.gov website, I noticed a link for Demarest Lloyd State Park. It is a few miles away, so we decided to give it a try. We got there around noontime on Sunday. There were still quite a few parking spots in the lot.

The beach is very narrow, with most of the area rocky and piles of seaweed, so it really isn’t great for a long, leisurely stroll. There were several families enjoying the beach area as well as the picnic area. The water is much calmer in comparison to Horseneck.

The families that were there appeared to be having fun at the park, but our main reason for going to the beach is for walks, so this beach was not the right one for us.

Helpful?
4 Thank Nikko4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Demarest Lloyd State Park also viewed

 

Been to Demarest Lloyd State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing