We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay...with some small issues....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dedham
East Coast USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay...with some small issues....”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This was my second stay at this hotel and I can sum it up by saying that all in all it is a fine place to stay but it has some slight issues. During this stay, I booked two rooms as there were four of us. The overall place is very clean and the rooms are fine (in no way luxurious). Rooms have nice TV's and fridges but my room had a strange smell, and the second room I booked had a strong perfume like smell. The bathroom sink in my room didn't drain but was corrected by maintainence in swift order. My biggest 'complaints' are that my room had a really weird noise that was hard to identify. It was intermittant...like a vent system gone awry....but it was somewhat loud and strange. The other 'complaints' would be about the smell in the two rooms and I was sorry that the restaurant adjacent to the hotel was closed for good (I had enjoyed it on my last visit). The layout of the rooms is confusing, as noted in other reviews. It's definitely true that if you are sensitive to tempurature, don't sleep on the side of the bed closest to the heat/cold vent! Breakfast was fine. On the posititve side, the bed was really comfortable and aside from the very occasional door shutting in the hallway, it was very quiet. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if someone is not expecting a luxury Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klsummer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    73
    53
    38
    24
See reviews for
59
40
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Sometimes it is the accumulation of little things that can change a good stay to a less than favorable experience. Overall I'll certainly look in to the other hotels nearby first, before staying again - would only do so if the surrounding hotels are booked. The hotel is in a good location right off of 128/95S, is across from a new mall, but the property is a little tatty. Exterior key locks to enter the building failed to work, and door handles on interior doors were broken. The mini-fridge in my room did not work when I specifically requested a room with a fridge. The rooms were very clean - no issues there - however the walls are thin so if you are a light sleeper be sure your room is not near the pool or busier spots of the parking lots. My main gripe is with one of the desk staff -- there was one young woman who was quite abrupt and rude to me on the phone. I had called to inform the hotel that my arrival date would be changing, and to double-check that my specific room request would still be honored. She snapped back that there was no guarantee I'd be given the room, and that they aren't going to kick the person who is in it now out to accommodate me. HELLO! Uncalled for and rude! When I did check in she did not put in the system that I changed my arrival - perhaps spiteful, too -- and I had explain that I had called, etc. It was a pain. I'd only recommend staying here as a last choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RezConfirmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

If I had to use one word to describe this hotel stay "pathetic" would fall short. I'm a Long member of Marriott's rewards program and well accustomed to quality and always a clean room, I booked my wife to this hotel for a short trip to Boston, she was absolutely disgusted with the room cleanliness: AC Unit was clogged with dirt and rusted, a dirty sock was left by a previous guest I guess right under the bed, filthy tub, and the breakfast lacked basic options, on her last day as she walked out of her room a spider was crawling down the door frame, she showed me pictures and I was embarrassed I had picked this hotel for her, being accustomed to Marriott quality I just chose what was convenient, little did I know. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blastdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dedham hotels

Tucson Arizona
Level Contributor
599 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,049 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We just stayed for three days at this Fairfield Inn while we were visiting Boston. We arrived after a full day of scenic traveling (from Connecticut) and visiting friends along the way. So, we arrived tired. Checked in and were assigned room 320. We were told that it overlooked the pool, and since we like higher floors, we were delighted. Since we flew in for a two week trip to the New England area, we had lots of luggage. As we were waiting for the elevator (in a very cramped area) the door to the stairs was behind us. There was a glass panel to see out, but a hotel employee did not check and pushed the door open with such force that it whacked my husband on his elbow, which is still bruised. Of course, it was an accident, but such things do not happen when one is careful. We made it to our floor and open entering the room immediately saw that there was no pool, no greenery, no ground in sight through the one window. Room 320 overlooks the roof with all the equipment. We were just too exhausted to go downstairs and point out that the clerk had not been truthful, so we just decided to be good campers and stay. The room was very clean, nicely furnished and we slept well, however, when we are told that a room "overlooks the pool" that is what we expect. The hotel had enough empty rooms, so why give us this room which also had the stair door across from us. The elevator was not close, so people banged the stair door constantly. Another unpleasantness is that the hotel has four entrances all with a few steps. Everytime we came back to our entrance (B) there were people sitting, smoking and drinking and blocking the stairs. They seemed annoyed that they had to move to let us pass, and they definitely did not look like hotel guests. I have no idea who they were, but they were there most of the time. The good location part is that across the street is one of the nicest shopping centers we have ever been to. Lots of wonderful shops and restaurants and the most amazing movie theater. We spent every one of our three evenings there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NYU62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The service was excellent and the staff both helpful and professional. The rooms were clean and it had a microwave and refridgerator for those on a budget or traveling with children.
It is a distance from Boston but you can ride the commuter train into Boston. All and all it
was a pleasant stay. I recommend the hotel if you have time on your hands to sight see.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgrand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I used this hotel for a recent trip. I was in town for a major hockey tournament and it was on the list offering a deal for participants.

I read some of the reviews and wondered but having used Fairfield before decided to try it.

Service was great on arrival, I booked online and got a good rate. Room was waiting and was clean, bright and looked like it had just been redone. Bedding Linen was supper comfortable, bed was perfect.

New Flat screen TV's, free internet which was fast, plenty of parking and QUIET!.

Breakfast was include and they had Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, fresh fruit, milk, juices, cereals, assorted yogurts, pastries, muffins, bagels and more.

Restaurant attached was Vinny T's and is an area chain, a decent italian restaurant and there is a new mall across the street with everything from Whole Foods, Oakley, Aldo, LL Bean to Lulu Lemon and a MAC Computer Store.

Close to many good restaurants and shops and about 3 blocks from the main exit from I-95 which is handy for quick access but still quiet.

All in all a great value. I don't know why people whine so much, I am a regular business and holiday traveler and for my money I would use them again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friend69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Before getting there I called and talked to the general manager (Chantel) and she gave me a rate. I said okay and drove there. Of course she wasn't there when I arrive there. A young lady name cherly was at the front desk. She gave me a completley different rates than the one the manager quote me. Cherly start to scream at me front of other customers that were waiting. I told her call your manager for me. She did and starting telling her manager she doesn't want me here. I got on the phone with her manager and the manager first word was "I don't think this is the right hotel for you". I couldn't believe it. The manager hangs up the phone on my face. At this time I was speechless. I continue to check in with the higher rate. After everything was completley and I told cherly that the service was horrible and I will call the corporate. She says I will kick you out if you say one more word. I told her I am paying my money to stay here. And I walk away to go to the room. After being in the room for 10 mins, the police was knock the room. I was kick out with my 10 months old baby and my husband. She kicks us out because I told her I will call the corporate. This was the worst service I have ever received and I will call the attorney office tommorrow and better business beauteous. Don't ever go there.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Boston-Dedham Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Hilton Boston Dedham
Hilton Boston Dedham
#1 of 4 in Dedham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Dedham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston-Norwood
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Canton, MA
5.3 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham

Property: Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham
Address: 235 Elm St, Dedham, MA 02026-4528
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham Hotel Dedham
Fairfield Inn Dedham
Fairfield Dedham
Dedham Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing