We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay at the Carriage House”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“A wonderful stay at the Carriage House”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the Carriage House and loved my stay there. The room was beautiful and well-kept, the maid service was great, and amenities such as a heated bathroom floor only added to the experience. A continental breakfast was delivered to my door each morning and it was delicious. The complimentary passes to Historic Deerfield was an added bonus. I would highly recommend staying at the Carriage House if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for driving over to visit with us. Historic Deerfield is one of those hidden treasures that make one feel one has struck gold when one discovers it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we agree, a warm bathroom floor is fab. They are only in the first floor rooms at the moment, but we will add them to the rest bit by bit! Thanks again so much for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    119
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
238
413
40
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We spent two lovely nights in the recently restored Carriage House. The room was very nicely furnished, the linens and bedding were excellent, and the room was very clean. The staff was pleasant and helpful.The morning breakfast basket included a plentiful variety of tasty items. The complimentary passes to Historic Deerfield were a nice bonus and we always enjoy the quaint charm of Old Main Street. The Inn is conveniently located to explore a tremendous variety of experiences in Massachusets, New Hampshire, and Vermont. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
We love where we are located too - in this most rural part of Massachusetts, surrounded by forest, water, and field, but also so close to so many fun experiences such as music, theatre, art, and crafts. We are so pleased that you could spend a couple of nights with us, and we do hope you come back when the rest is revealed in 2013! With all good wishes, and with thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We all appreciated your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wye Mills, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We recently spent the night at the Deerfield Inn, and we definitely would rate it as one of the nicest inns we've been to - and we've been to many. Our lovely corner room in the Carriage House was full of light and decorated in a tasteful, traditional manner, with two cushy chairs for reading, side tables where you need them and a very comfortable bed. The linens and fabrics were all first quality, as were the appointments in the bathroom. In the absence of the Inn's restaurant while restoration from the flooding continues, we were provided a basketful of yummy breakfast treats, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Coffee was conveniently located and plentiful. The staff was very helpful in deciding on a restaurant for dinner, and the complimentary passes to Historic Deerfield and several discount coupons were the icing on the cake.

As lovers of old houses, Historic Deerfield is a joy to us, and the Deerfield Inn made our all too brief visit a complete delight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoricHomeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for writng a review, and we are so glad you had a lovely time here. I am especially pleased that you appreciated the thought I put into the rooms restoration - it makes me feel SO good when guests notice things and that those touched make guests feel good. It's a win win, so thanks for making my day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I just returned from 3 glorious nights at the Deerfield Inn. I traveled with my father back to Massachusetts to spend time on Cape Cod and to take him "home" for a few days as Greenfield, MA was his home for nearly 80 years. We have known about the Deerfield Inn forever, but were unaware of the flooding that had taken place last year. We were pleased to find that the Carriage House had recently re-opened and jumped at the chance to check it out. The rooms are wonderful--brand new and furnished exactly as you would expect at a distinctive lodging facility. The staff was extremely friendly and very apologetic that the tavern isn't open yet. Although I can't wait to see the tavern completed, just being at the inn was a happy experience. The beds are comfortable, the towels and linens are first rate, and the breakfast basket placed outside your door in the morning with fresh flowers is a wonderful way to start the day. It was great to have complimentary tickets to visit the Old Deerfield homes and museums. Having lived in the area for many years and having a brother who attended Deerfield Academy, I had seen some of them several times, but Dad and I took this opportunity to visit some of the ones we had never been to. We were sad to hear about the flood, but are happy to report that like the Phoenix, the Deerfield Inn is rising up once again and is sure to be better than ever!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfergals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
How terrific that you and your dad could take a memory lane trip and rekindle happy memories. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It is so helpful to us when other guests have a good idea of what to expect, and we thank you for that. We will look forward to seeing you back in Deerfield again! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My 10-year old twins and I stayed in the beautiful king suite. We felt like were staying in a dollhouse. The room was charming and yet had every modern convenience. The folks at the desk were very helpful throughout our stay. We loved being in the heart of this picturesque village and took advantage of the guest passes to Historic Deerfield. We hope to come back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redfoxtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
How lovely that you and the twins could come and stay, and we are glad you had a happy time together. Thank you for posting about your trip, and we hope you all come back when the rest of the inn is open! The twins might like popcorn, Shirley Temples, and a movie from our collection, and you can enjoy something else from the bar! All good wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmont NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

After suffering extensive flood damage from Irene the Deerfield Inn is back. Stayed in the restored Carriage House for a substantial discount with no amentities omitted. Beautiful room with a breakfast basket each morning. Plus free admission to Old Historic Deerfield. Well worth a visit. It will take you 2 days to see it all. Tour guides and special events. Beautiful country. Take a visit you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
What a great start to a new month to share your super review with everyone here. We are all always so thrilled when guests are so kind as to let us know we are doing well. Thank you, thank you, and do please come back to see the rest of it once we are fully up and running. We would appreciate your input to be sure we are on track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We spent two nights at the Deerfield Inn while visiting the historic houses in Deerfield. The entire experience was delightful. The room was very nicely decorated, neither spartan nor overdone, and immaculate. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Historic Deerfield itself was super. The guides were very knowledgeable, relaxed, and informative. The houses are beautiful and interesting. We ate at outstanding restaurants in nearby Greenfield (Hope and Olive) and Montague (Night Kitchen). This was a great spot for a weekend get-away and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
It is excellent that you were here long enough to really take advantage of all that Historic Deerfield offers. The museum feet at the end of the day are worth it! You chose two of our favorite spots to unwind and eat, and we are glad you had a good time here. Make sure you come back as new museum exhibitions open and so you can enjoy our Champney's Restaurant & Tavern! Thank you for being so kind as to send in a review. We all so appreciate the support of our guests. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
16.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
460 reviews
19.0 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
832 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Property: Deerfield Inn
Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. The Inn is located within walking distance of Deerfield Acadamy, Eaglebrook Scool and Bement school. It is close to the Amherst five college area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing