We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Spot”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Spot”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The inn is beautiful, the restaurant excellent and the rooms super. A perfect place to have an event such as an anniversary.
It is a rare find.
The village of Old Deerfield has such history it is a must to stay to enjoy all that there is to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAILEY3106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for posting a review. We are glad we found each other and happy you enjoyed your visit here! All good wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    119
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
238
413
40
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The inn finally reopened after being closed for repairs from hurricane damage. It was so nice to return and find it better than ever! The new bar and restaurant had great food using local farmer produce and meat. Very farm to table. Our room ( the Horatio Alger) was spacious with a gorgeous double shower. Looking forward to many trips back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGolfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
How lovely to know that you hung in there with all we went through and came back to see us again at this happier time in the inn's life! We will be celebrating 130 years this July. What stories this old building could tell! Some changes, and much as it ever was - but not that shower. Glad you liked it, and thank you so much for taking the time to post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a Valentine's night to remember here. Karl and Jane, the Innkeepers, are always happy, friendly and pleased to see you. They ensure that every detail is taken care of and their well chosen friendly staff live up to the inn's high standards without exception. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable and breakfast was not only delicious but also complimentary with the stay. We had booked the Inn for a vow renewal ceremony and dinner and in all aspects the planning of the event and execution by the staff were great. Highly recommended for any and all functions anytime.
Try the Old Mile Ale brewed by Lefty's it is unique and delicious and only available here. And if you are in the area the Robbie Burns' night celebration here is very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellodog117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your life together and your love for each other here. It was a special time for all of us as well. It was a very dear and joyous night and we were so honored to be a part of it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crownsville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent a cold January night at the Deerfield Inn and enjoyed the hominess, friendly staff and especially the dining room a lot. Our room , a corner on the second floor was comfortable and cozy. the bathroom was pretty basic but the water was hot when we needed it. the public rooms are inviting, a good place to read by the fire and their afternoon tea and coookies hit the spot for us.
We really enjoyed the dining room. the menu is vartied with something just about everyone could enjoy. the wine list is excellent and our malbec warmed us on this cold night. We plan to return in eartly June if we miss the graduation from nearby Deerfield Academy.
Try this. You will like it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearner1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for posting - how good of you to take the time! Winters are good for the warmth and fireplaces inside, but summer is super for swimming in the gentle river and going to farm stands and country fairs. An inn for all seasons! Thanks for saying you will be back. (June 21 and 22 is the Old Deerfield Crafts Fair. That would be a fun weekend to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Honestly it was perfect, a bit expensive but you get what you pay for (and free breakfast!)

Staff was extremely polite and helpful, the room was beautiful, classic but modern amenities.


Highly Highly recommend, like i said, i will definitely be going back (I stayed here after we went to the wine tasting events at Chandler's restaurant in the Yankee Candle Factory, i recommend those monthly events as well)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
How lovely to hear you will be coming back! I wonder if you have the flexibility to come midweek - or even in mid-March when mud season brings everything WAY down! We like Yankee Candle too - how nice that they are just down the way from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Overall a nice stay. We had to change our original reservation and the inn was very accommodating. The rooms were recently updated. There was a power outage while we were staying at the inn and they handled it well.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Oh those Deerfield blackouts! Everybody was so kind and understanding. I liked how diners in Champney's booed when all the lights went on again! I suppose that candles and flashlights can be fun, right? Thank you so much for staying with us and come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This quaint inn set in Historic Deerfield is a must for both lodgings and meals. From the moment one enters a warmth is felt from the roaring fireplace and the engaging employees. The Innkeeper Jane greets everyone as if family. The food in Champney's is very well presented and cooked to perfection. A very varied menu is available to suit every taste. The restaurant manager, Emily, personifies the ideal hostess--she never meets a stranger.Every inn room is different, so that each visit can be a unique experience.

Room Tip: The front desk is always helpful to accomplish this. There really are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for posting such a lovely review. Your warm words have made our day. We hope that everybody who comes here will come as a friend and never be a stranger to our door. (We give the gold star Emily two thumbs way up as well!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
16.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
460 reviews
19.0 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
832 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Property: Deerfield Inn
Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. The Inn is located within walking distance of Deerfield Acadamy, Eaglebrook Scool and Bement school. It is close to the Amherst five college area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing