We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dennis Seashores
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Dennis
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colony Beach Motel(Dennis Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gaslight(Dennis Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cutty Sark(Dennis Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doryman Motel(Dennis Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
27
6
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
6
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 38 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Our family stayed at this location from July 20, 2008 through July 27, 2008. This was our second trip to this location and we are going to do it again. Our group ranged from grandparents to grandkids and everyone enjoyed their visit.

The cottage had a panoramic view of the sound, was spacious and well maintained. The beach was just steps away from the cottage and it was not overcrowded in any manner. It was quiet at night and we were able to enjoy the sounds of the water crashing on the beach.

This is a true beach village community, you are not going to have all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. However, if you want to go to a place where you can casually enjoy your family, the views and just relax this place is worth it. If you walk on the beach you are going to track sand in the house, if you leave the windows open you will have moisture - these are the facts of life when you are only 100 yards from the water.

Management catered to every need or request we had and were satisfied with how we were treated.

Every member of our family had a great time and we are looking forward to next year.

I agree that the beds need to be upgraded immediately. I also suggest the addition of ceiling fans to increase the already abundant sea breeze - these minor upgrade would make a world of difference.

I have never understood why people complain about a broken TV, remote controls or missing cable when you are staying at the beach in the summer. There is so much to do that the time you spend indoors should be very limited.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HoboTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We have been renting the same house at Dennis Seashores for 27 years. When the property was sold to individual owners, we worried that things would change, and over time there have been some major changes. Some owners don't do much, things age in place, and people are disappointed.
We are lucky enough to have great owners who use the house themselves and constantly make improvements.
I have seen the office staff treated most rudely because the renters have not found things to their liking. Frankly, I don't know how they keep their cool when people treat them like servants and expect Ritz Hotel service at housekeeping cottages. We get a starter kit (including linens, towels and enough toilet paper, garbage pail liners, and soap to get started) when we arrive, and can get new towels daily. The rest is our responsibility. Some renters don't seem to get that, and want more more more. Perhaps this should be spelled out more clearly in the welcoming letter, so first timers aren't surprised.
These two women, Andrea and Louise, have never been anything but nice to us, making every effort to make our stay pleasant. When our coffee pot broke, it was replaced by the next morning. One year the dishwasher needed repair and they arranged for it speedily. On changeover days they work very hard to get everyone settled in.
Dennis seashores has LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. The beach is great and right there. It is a great place to spend some time. We love it.
.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank sweetelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Where to begin...? We arrived to check-in at the rigid (2-hour time frame), check-in time as designated in our confirmation letter, making special effort to do so, and the office was closed. No note, no nothing. After several telephone calls (thank goodness we had cell phones!), we reached management who told us we were informed of the incorrect arrival time and the office was closed and that was that. They said the key was in our unit which we had no idea how to find. The unit wasn't marked as they described, but eventually, with them on the phone with us, we found the right unit. Part of the confusion lay in the fact that our unit, Cottage 10 B-Wk, did not have two parking spaces as described in the lease; it shares parking with another cottage. We (four adults including two senior citizens) arrived with two trucks loaded with kayaks - as we discussed when we made the reservation. The management's attitude to all this was - "Whatev! We just book for the owners and the office is closed." Although “vehicles must be parked in assigned spaces”, we were told just to find a spot off the narrow drive to wedge one of the trucks into and the only reasonable space was in front of someone else’s cottage. That was stressful and embarrassing for us, but luckily, everyone seemed cool with our choice. After that, there are so many issues; I'll simply make a list:
1) The beds were the most awful and uncomfortable we have ever TRIED to sleep on. Needless to say, having poor rest for several nights ruins anyone's holiday. In addition, in the comment book in the cottage, guests had been noting that the beds needed replacing for years!
2) Only one burner on the stove functioned and another sparked dangerously. The stove was dented in a couple places.
3) The refrigerator was not turned up and ready to be used and it never reached a safe temperature for food storage.
4) The vacuum cleaner had a broken belt and was completely useless
5) The light over the kitchen sink was malfunctioning and that had been noted before in the cottage book as well.
6) The bathroom shower was so small it was practically unusable. The bathroom sink had hair in the drain. The toilet smelled foul. We used the outdoor shower that had not been cleaned at all and still held the former tenants' soap, wrappers, apparel, and tons of pine needles.
7) The water in the kitchen never got hot - certainly not hot enough to properly clean dishes. The water in the outdoor shower was a tiny bit better for some reason. (BTW, a note to owners: the water running from the outdoor shower onto the building's side and into the foundation will cause serious damage and mold problems if it hasn't already.)
8) The indoor wicker furniture had large blobs of food remains stuck on it.
9) Even the remote for the wee TV was broken - and taped!)
10) Clean towels were supposed to be “provided” each day as stated in our confirmation letter, but in order to get them we had to go to the office “during (limited) hours” to pick them up, they were not brought to our cottage and left for us.
All in all, what should have been a cute, cozy cottage-by-the-sea was in disrepair not clean, not comfortable, not what we were led to expect. Of course, the very bad management couldn't help with any of those issues, as they would have to forward our complaints to the owner at some point in the future, which wouldn't help us at all. It must be the owners who vote this place the "Best Cottage Colony in the Mid Cape in Cape Cod Magazine" as advertised by the property management.
It's a shame, because the location is nice and the beach across the street was also good.
In the end, the "management", unavailable at all times convenient to us (as we were out all day enjoying the oceanfront at least), had the nerve to aggressively post a big, abrupt, visible note on the exterior of our cottage door the day before we were to check-out stating that we had a balance due! We were ready to pay them the moment we arrived as agreed, but they were rude and completely unavailable until the next day during very limited hours. We weren't going to wait around for them or cut our vacation day plans short to rush back in to pay at their convenience! So we paid as we were checking-out and after all that, they not once offered any apologies. Our comment in the cottage guest book was that we would leave our full comments here on TripAdvisor. ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CCMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

According to the management office personnel, "This is not a 5-star place." After our stay there, I whole-heartedly agree!
We recently rented a 4-bedroom cottage for one week with very disappointing results. Although the location was beautiful, the cottage was poorly maintained and the management office personnel were either unwilling or unable to assist in resolving the multiple problems w/the cottage in a timely manner. The cottage was filthy when we arrived, and included a note to us to wash the dishes before use (which we had to do since they were dirty, including dried-on food on some of them). The bedspread and blankets were also filthy (one even included a partially eaten lollypop stuck in it) as if they had not been washed in years, and had to be laundered (by us). The fireplace and WiFi did not work, the cable connection was improperly installed (it was literally hanging on by a metal thread into the TV set), one of the VCR players was broken, lights in one of the guest baths didn't work, and water pressure in the other guest shower was very weak. The on-site management did very little to help w/these problems (BTW, the management office is only open 9am to 2pm, although there were multiple times when we walked over during their posted business hours and no one was there, nor did they return any time soon). It took visiting (or attempting to visit, if they were closed in the middle of the business hours) the management office every day to get some of the issues resolved, and we had to fix some of the issues ourselves (such as cleaning the cottage and trying to fix the cable). Some issues were either fixed the last two days of our stay (the fireplace), or simply not fixed at all (the WiFi, the lights, water pressure, etc). The woman in the management office was not helpful, and tried to defend the condition of the cottage and her not taking any action to resolve the issues, at one point stating "This is not a 5-star place," and tried to deny that someone from the family had been over there every day to speak w/the management office about the problems in the cottage. Despite one of my elderly parents (under whose name the cottage was rented) going over every day to try to resolve these problems, it wasn't until myself and another sibling went over to speak w/her that she did anything to help us, and that was when we had only 2 days remaining in our vacation (she called a repairman for the fire place). There were also problems with a rude neighbor over parking, despite our vehicles being parked where the management office instructed us to do so. Although we had rented cottages from this same location for the past 30 years, I do not plan on renting from them again, nor do I recommend it as a place to stay while visiting Cape Cod.

23  Thank EAC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews