We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintesstial Tea in a sea of paintings”

Village Tea Room at Borsari Gallery
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Dennis
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: This is a new Tea Room that opened about a month ago. The Gallery part opened about a year ago. Phone # 508-385-3434. We loved it! an
Dennis, MA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quintesstial Tea in a sea of paintings”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is a must do in Dennis. The hosts are impeccable in their attention to detail from the fine china cups, delicious food and gallery full of paintings reprising all that is reminiscent of Cape Cod.
The renovated barn is perfect with its beautiful wood walls and floors. The tea service includes scones, clotted cream, jams, light sandwiches, and pastries, and if desired, soup.
We had our pre holiday family tea there and after many years at the Ritz Carlton in Boston and voted hands down to shift to Borsari's.
The price is moderate, service wonderful and the venue beyond compare. A great value.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trishgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
203 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A spectular gallery with a Tea Master who had worked for King Hussein!”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I went to the Cape for a reunion with airline friends.We wanted to go some place very special. We were taken to a beautifully renovated barn that was now a Tea Room and an Art Gallery.The Teamaster,George Davidson was from Edinburgh,Scotland.His resume was spectacular. He had been the menu planner and chef for King Husseinand Queen Noor of Jordan. In Jordan he served salmon to President Bush Sr.and Dover Sole to Margaret Thatcher.Here, at the Bousari Gallery, he was the very distinguished and affable Tea Master serving loose and bagged tea.The menu was exquisite offering soups, crab quiche, tea sandwiches on beautiful china.Our favorite part of the meal was the cranberry scones, served with Devon clotted cream and fresh rasberry preserves.Saturdays are designated for weddings and other private events.The gallery walls are filled with beautiful paintings by Andree Bordari. The food is delicious and the art work is incredibly beautiful.Don't miss this wonderful gllaery.it is located on 524 Route 6A in Dennis Village. It is recommended to make an appointment at 508-385-3434.it is open Monday through Friday 11;00 to 4:00 and Sunday, 12;00 to 4:00. bring your camera and good friends and family. Very nice service by Denise.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baklavaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ANOTHER wonderful outing to Borsari!"”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I adore this place! From the minute you step through the beautiful French doors, the hosts, Bob and Kathy Borsari, and manager George, all make you feel as though they've been waiting just for YOU! Went with a friend who had never been there and our lunch/tea was up to its usual excellent standard - crab quiche and salad, prefaced by corn chowder. All homemade and fab! The setting is fantastic - beyond compare, really, certainly on the Cape. Fall and winter months are some of the best times to visit this cozy, unique spot. You will love it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyannis
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great atmosphere, Host needs a lot of work.”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Great Food, Great atmosphere, Host needs a lot of work.

My wife and I planned our wedding reception at the Borsari Gallery in Dennis Ma, for July 9th 2011. We scheduled the event the prior September 2010.

Throughout the year dealing with the host Bob proved to be nothing but an extremely frustrating process. He never once got back to us with important details like table arraignment and costs. He had a contract that stated we had to pay the final bill 60 days prior to the event which meant the details of the wedding needed to be established prior to the 60 days
.
Whenever we would try to nail down these details we would always get, “Let me get back to you on that” “I will draw something up” But he NEVER did.

Even after repeatedly asking Bob to finalize these details we never got the actual details until we got extremely frustrated three days before the wedding and sent him an email. Still he did not give us definitive answers.

My wife had no way to plan center pieces and had to guess as to how many, and sizes to make.

We had no idea how much the bill would be, and when he finally gave us the bill on the night of the event it was almost $500 more than any of the verbal estimates he had given us prior; Which at that point we had no way to change or dispute.

We also had a special cake designed, as my wife has celiac disease and needs to remain gluten free. The cake eating ceremony was one of the only typical wedding traditions we wanted, and we couldn’t even do that properly.

Bob took on this task of handling our cake, and forgot to remove the gluten free cake from the freezer and we were served a frozen cake that could not be served. And did not give the instructions to the caterers on how to handle the anniversary layer, so that got served to our guest and all we got back was a half eaten anniversary layer.

After complaining in an email afterwards, we were told it was because having multiple cakes made it too confusing and it really wasn’t his responsibly anyway. But we never expected this from him, he offered.

There were also many other shortcoming on his part that I can’t explain in such a short review, like forgetting to put parking signs for our guests etc…
But the biggest downfall was his procrastination, disorganization and refusal to listen to our needs as clients.

When we did complain to him, we got a huge detailed explanation into his personal life of how he was having personal issue, and he honestly tried to make us feel guilty for even suggesting he do what his contract stated he would. It was really pathetic and if anyone is interested in reading our exchanges before you make your decision on this gallery to host your event, I will be glad to forward them to you. buncee@norfolkhardware.com

You really should read them if considering this event.

I suggest, unless you want to have to be a Bridezilla and be on the host like a hawk, look somewhere else.

Otherwise if you’re willing to put up with B.S. from the host. Great Food(Chapins did the catering and were top notch), great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ericbunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely British-style tea in a pretty setting”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I'm not going to say that the artwork in this gallery is anything write home about, let alone TAKE home, but the tea was impeccable and utterly delicious and the building (an old slaughterhouse!) has completely overcome its bloody history to become a real charmer. The gallery also hosts weddings and I think it would be a superb setting.

We ordered the full tea and I could easily imagine myself in Harrod's or Brown's Hotel in London (I've been to both). The server and the hosts were most gracious and quite apologetic that they had to replace the usual dessert pastries with a big wedge of raspberry-peach pie. Awwwww.

Before we left, we asked if they had wifi and they were more than kind in allowing us to bring in our laptop to check our business e-mail.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VermontRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Tea Room at Borsari Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Village Tea Room at Borsari Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing