We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting movie night”
Review of Cape Cinema

Cape Cinema
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Dennis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Art Deco theater dates back to 1930.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
223 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Interesting movie night”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had heard about the Cape Cinema from Trip advisor when looking for things to do in the Brewster area. My fiancé and I are regular movie goers so we thought this would be a fun experience. While it was a unique experience I was not impressed with the historic theatre. While the movie was great, the so called comfortable arm chairs used for seating were ancient and far from comfortable. The chairs were draped with white sheeting which looked pretty tacky. I prefer more modern seating. If you are a popcorn fan, the large size was very modest and I didn't see any other snacks that appealed to me. There were cookies available for purchase but they didn't look too appealing. The cinema definitely draws the senior crowd who apparently talk a lot prior to the movie and intermittently during the movie which was annoying. The mural on the celling as described by others was very pretty and unique. Ladies room was located down steep stairs and not sure if it was handicap accessible. Overall it was an interesting night at the movies far from the typical Regal experience but If you are looking for a different type of movie experience, I preferred the Orpheum in Chatham. They had great seating and a unique cinema.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sealover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
253 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The movie theatre is part of 3 building campus, consisting of an art museum, playhouse, and movie theatre. It was constructed in the early 1900s and its art deco ceiling makes the visit well worthwhile. First quality movies are shown with comfortable arm chair seating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarryR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not your cookie cutter movie theater!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

THis is a special place, an old fashioned summer stock theater for movies. THere are real arm chair seats and a wonderful, fun, homey sort of feeling. They also feature quality movies, not the usual shlock. Makes for a great break at the end of a Cape Cod day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NFKBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An art cinema with super comfortable seating”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Cape Cinema is a delight. In addition to showing exceptional films, it screens National Theater Live productions and Live from the Met performances in a small, quiet venue with very comfortable seating and delicious refreshments, including old-fashioned, fresh-popped, buttered popcorn and home-baked cookies - at very reasonable prices. Tickets for some screenings are available online, but best to get on the Cinema's email list for notices of upcoming events so you'll know for sure. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodTravelWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Dennis, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Must see local landmark"”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is one of the most historic and fascinating theaters in the country. Make sure to get there early, so you can see the bathrooms and the decorations in the theater itself. The ceiling mural and stage curtains are true works of art. They used to have films to match, but whoever is running the programming now apparently has some kind of political agenda, and all they seem to show are fringey and depressing, and longer than misery. The staff is really rude this year, and unprofessional. If you hear them saying something objectionable, make sure to bring it up with the management.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Cape Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing